The National High Violet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Artuma
May 13th 2013


25571 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

slipped is kinda meh imo, fireproof could be great if the lyrics weren't so cheesy

Digging: Touche Amore - Stage Four

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
May 13th 2013


14654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

new album sucks im done trying

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2013


7479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.7

This pricey stuff makes me dizzy.

Albus
May 13th 2013


87 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Slipped has pretty cliched lyrics as well as this line from Heavenfaced which is so cheesy: "If you lose me, I’m gonna die." Why Matt, why? For me the new album is definitely inferior to High Violet or Boxer, and I put High Violet over Boxer any day. Alligator is still the best. But I've listened to the new album for 5 times, maybe I'll change my opinion.

ABjordanMM
May 13th 2013


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

idk i like it.

ti0n
May 14th 2013


1731 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slipped is probably the most boring song they've done ever!!!""! someone review it its streamed

YetAnotherBrick
May 14th 2013


6532 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

How is "if you lose me, I'm gonna die" cheesy? The cheesy way to say it would be "If I lose you, I'm gonna die." It's a classic Berninger colloquialism spin.

Digging: Chat Noir - Nine Thoughts for One Word

Artuma
May 14th 2013


25571 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the cheesiest line i've found is the chorus of Fireproof:



You’re fireproof

Nothing breaks your heart

You’re fireproof

It’s just the way you are



thank god they do great job with the lyrics on most of the album

YetAnotherBrick
May 14th 2013


6532 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

and even that's not that bad. it's a clever way to associate fire with all the things that commonly 'break hearts'





ABjordanMM
May 14th 2013


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i really think you're being to harsh. He's right in it being kinda clever

Artuma
May 14th 2013


25571 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

didn't find it clever at all, actually it almost ruined the song for me

ti0n
May 14th 2013


1731 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well i found the lyrics in fireproof good. and this line is kinda fitting in the context and what he said before



You keep a lot of secrets

And I keep none

Wish I could go back

And keep some



You’re fireproof

Nothing breaks your heart

You’re fireproof

It’s just the way you are



its just this monotonious rythm through the track and berningers whiney singing that makes me kinda skip it most of the time. still a great track but not for every time you need the mood for it!

ABjordanMM
May 14th 2013


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i like the song. reminds me of boxer

Artuma
May 14th 2013


25571 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the song itself is pretty great yeah, the album as a whole reminds me of Boxer quite a lot

ABjordanMM
May 14th 2013


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's like a mix of boxer and HV. Leaning more towards boxer

Artuma
May 14th 2013


25571 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

roughly yes

RadicalEd
May 14th 2013


7168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's very boxer

Digging: Amanda Bergman - Docks

ABjordanMM
May 14th 2013


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

still don't know what to rate it.

Artuma
May 14th 2013


25571 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

5 it as i did

ABjordanMM
May 14th 2013


1588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but do you really think it's a 5? doesnt sound like it :p



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy