The National High Violet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Artuma
May 11th 2013


15469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

have listened to it for like 8 times now lol, amazing album and definitely a serious AOTY contender

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well Boxer took me like 10 listens to get, HV only took 2 or 3. New one took about 5. I 4.5'd the new
one for now but it's kinda useless because I know I'm 5'ing it soon.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

having listened to it in bits about 4-6 times it's a 3

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

Artuma
May 11th 2013


15469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

haha, i 5'd it already on my second listen because i knew too that i would 5 it anyway. HV was the first The National album that i heard so it took quite a while to get into it

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2013 is now a literal toss up between Laura Stevenson and The National for AOTY in the long run at the
moment for me.

Artuma
May 11th 2013


15469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i 5'd both of them but i would say TWFM is a "better 5" if that is correct to say

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I listened to Wheel once and it was really boring

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

we're never gonna agree on an album are we fish? Haha. Well except HV.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

let's see

ok well we both have bon iver's s/t s/t, godspeed's slow riot & lysf 4.5d. All you need to do is 5 tdag and f#a# and that's another two.

also keep in mind I've only given two 4s this year so it's not like I've been tripping over that many albums anyway

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah fair enough dude.

InfamousGrouse
May 11th 2013


3569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

3 4.5s and 3 4.0s, still got a lot to check though I don't have much time at the moment. Will probably 5 either Trouble Will Find Me or 20/20.

Artuma
May 11th 2013


15469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

2 5's and 4 4.5's this year so far, 2013 rocks

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

2 5's (im 5'ing trouble will find me after this listen prolly) and 2 4.5's for me.

InfamousGrouse
May 11th 2013


3569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i only gave one 4.5 in 2012 so yeah i guess this year is rockin' hard



fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I never 5 less than about 10 months after I first hear an album

Artuma
May 11th 2013


15469 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

for me it's not about the time but the listens

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its about how hard it hits me to be honest. That's it. I've never believed in the whole after a certain amount of time thing but hey, people rate things differently.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not a rule per se, it's just I see 5s not only as something which hits hard but as something which I stay with for a long time and holds greater significance in my whole life. Often there's nostalgia involved. And you can't really assess that with new albums.

ti0n
May 11th 2013


1569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah that's it i guess. that's why i cant 5 any National album only max 4.5 them. Well every National Album from alligator onwards was a 4.5 but to 5 it there is still something missing.

Neutral Milk Hotel and modest mouse still hits me harder but im listening to them for much longer tho and sure there is nostalgia involved. Maybe it will happen to The National for me too one day.

Trouble will find me maybe is this album cause im loving it after over 10 listenings still and im not annoyed even once.

Digging: The Twilight Sad - Nobody Wants To Be Here And Nobody Wants To Leave

benkim
May 11th 2013


2167 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I can't believe that I still haven't listened to a single 2013 album! I am still catching up with 2011 and 2012 releases. I digest music extremely slowly!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy