The National High Violet
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
mryrtmrnfoxxxy
May 10th 2013


13453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hey so you guys over here tickling this collectives nuts, got some qs for you

where the drums at
why so many elementary rhymes
what specifically about ballads make your dick throb so hard

Gwyn.
May 10th 2013


15322 Comments


hmmm i think these guys are a lot better than I gave them credit for

New album is interesting... But I haven't finished listening

RadicalEd
May 10th 2013


2848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

where the drums at

graceless? Demons?

Digging: ODESZA - In Return

InfamousGrouse
May 10th 2013


3592 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i should live in salt for leaving you

behiiinndd, behiiinnnd

aaaaahhh

could be a 5.

benkim
May 10th 2013


2188 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I find it easier that when starting with this band, you start here then work your way backwards. I think this is their most accesible followed by Boxer fol...

Funeralopolis
May 10th 2013


11892 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

high violet is most accessible but alligator is best

Digging: Owen Pallett - In Conflict

Artuma
May 10th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i find Alligator to be their most accessible, the new one reminds me a lot of Boxer

Digging: Taake - Stridens hus

Funeralopolis
May 10th 2013


11892 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

maybe that's why the new one sucks

benkim
May 10th 2013


2188 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Aligator took me ages to get into, still am! This was an instant like.

Artuma
May 10th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this was the first i heard from them and damn it took time to grow on me, boxer and alligator were easier and the new one was an instant love probably because i had already got into this band

benkim
May 10th 2013


2188 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wow, that's like complete opposite with me! I listened to this one first and worked my way back. I haven't listened to the new one yet, not even a single song but I think it will quickly grow on me compared to the others.

NightProwler
May 11th 2013


6601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

alligator [23534634]

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah the new one is like idk. Missing all the moments I loved on here. Or rather they're there, but for some reason I'm not into them as much as I was on here.

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

Artuma
May 11th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the new one is more reminiscent to Boxer than this imo, less the atmospheric sound which made this so special to me but it is a masterpiece for other reasons

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 11th 2013


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ok well I had the same problem when I listened to Boxer

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

new album has already surpassed this and alligator for me. It might even pass Boxer as my favourite National album in time. Absolutely incredible album. How the hell do they keep doing this?

I probably love it so much because it is reminiscent of Boxer which is one of my favourite albums ever.

Artuma
May 11th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Boxer is indeed superb but i already prefer the new one to that

Motiv3
May 11th 2013


8944 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

is HV your favourite National album artuma?

Artuma
May 11th 2013


15993 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah. the new one is pretty much on par with that now

Keyblade
May 11th 2013


15420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

only heard it once, not sure what to think yet

Digging: Sofia Gubaidulina - Chamber Music With Double Bass



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy