Airbourne No Guts. No Glory. (Special Edition)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
April 16th 2010


17927 Comments


Why do you hate me so?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I don't hate you... You're an affable larrikin.

AtavanHalen
April 16th 2010


17927 Comments


Fight me.

Waior
April 16th 2010


11461 Comments


I would read the review but you tarnished the holy name of Guinness. Affable larrikan is an awesome little term you have there though, I approve.

pos anyway if i could

WhiteNoise
April 16th 2010


3254 Comments


I sure do love my cock rock (I own a gibson flying V for christs sake!) but your right, these guys just cross the line! Can't stand em'!

although, I love the fact they have a song called 'My Dynamite Will Blow You Sky High (And Get Ya Moanin' After Midnight); LOL


ReturnToRock
April 16th 2010


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Davey, I have a friend who agrees with you - he says he likes rock with the roll in it, but for him this is not rock.

Either way, the album falters quite a bit in its second half - guess there was no way to top "Steel Town". Most of the songs become repetitive and throwaway, as well. But unlike you, I like "Kickin' It Old Skool". I thought it was going to sound like the Jamie Kennedy movie, but it's actually kinda rollicking and funky.

Review should be up today or tomorrow. Going to listen to this during my driving lesson in a few minutes

machineflesh
April 16th 2010


37 Comments


Great review and an enjoyable read. Will be steering well clear of this.

I found the use of exclamation marks to emphasize the sarcastic comments in the latter paragraphs unusual. Not a criticism, just observation.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"Affable larrikan is an awesome little term" There are so many around here on Sputnik Caleb. We should change our name to www.AffableLarrikins.com.

"I sure do love my cock rock (I own a gibson flying V for christs sake!)" You probably could have automatically walked into this band WhiteNoise.

"Most of the songs become repetitive and throwaway, as well." That's an understatement Pedro.

"But unlike you, I like "Kickin' It Old Skool". I thought it was going to sound like the Jamie Kennedy movie, but it's actually kinda rollicking and funky." Noooooooooooo. It's shocking.

"Going to listen to this during my driving lesson in a few minutes." F**K. Call an ambulance now. LOL. ;-)

"Great review and an enjoyable read. I found the use of exclamation marks to emphasize the sarcastic comments in the latter paragraphs unusual." Thanks machineflesh. I can tend to go a little exclamation point happy at times without even knowing it!!!

ReturnToRock
April 16th 2010


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review should be up later today. This was gunning for a 4.0, then it decreased to a 3.5, right now it's bordering on a 3.0. Damn second half! There are, however, four very strong songs and a couple fun ones. So it's either a 3 or a 3.5, but not higher (or lower).

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Give it some more time if you're unsure on the rating Pedro. Maybe listen to it in a different setting and/or ona different player.

ReturnToRock
April 16th 2010


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Davey, I listened to it on four different players and five different occasions: headphones on the street, mp3 player plugged to USB radio in bed at night, same while shaving this morning, then CD player in the car, then CD player at home.

With each listen it decreased a little. For a while it hung at around a 3.5, but that second half just kills it. The review is up now, and I'm waiting for your comment.

And for the record, you *were* too hard on the album. But that doesn't mean it's good.

Waior
April 16th 2010


11461 Comments


Maybe your taste just sucks

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I just hope you didn't cut yourself shaving thinking you had a Gibson in your hand Pedro! ;-)

ReturnToRock
April 17th 2010


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No I didn't. Although Angus' sunburst SG is my dream guitar.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Hehe. Good to hear because this is not shaving music. You need something much calmer while shaving. Some Jack Johnson or something like that!

ReturnToRock
April 17th 2010


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Jack Johnson *throws up*

Ever got dressed/shaved/primped up while headbanging to Death or Slayer? You should try it sometime, it really gets you pumped up for the day ahead!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

More like pumps the blood out of you! LOL.

And Jack Johnson could also be dangerous I guess... He could put you to sleep.

ReturnToRock
April 17th 2010


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

As a Scrubs fan, if I want to listen to that type of music, I'll have to go with Lazlo Bane.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2010


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I only watch Scrubs intermittently, so that reference has gone way over my head.

ReturnToRock
April 17th 2010


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's the guy who does all their songs. He's also lead singer for Men At Work, who do that funky song about your homeland, Dave-o



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy