Airbourne No Guts. No Glory. (Special Edition)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

There you are Pedro. Was waiting for you to enter the fray & tell me I'm being way too harsh on this album.

Tbh, it's not so much the fact that it's the same song over & over that bothers me most, it's just that not very much stands out. Like I said earlier, I could enjoy half of the tracks off of 'Runnin Wild'. That is NOT the case here.

And don't forget that I have reviewed the Special Edition & marked that down half a point. There still has been no review of the Standard Edition. All yours mate.

ReturnToRock
April 15th 2010



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nah, I have the same edition as you, I downloaded the full monty!

So far I have (really) liked Steel Town and Raise The Flag. The others are okay-ish.

Keep in mind I didn't like Runnin' Wild at first (I have low tolerance for AC/DC impersonators) but then it grew on me, just like with you. I have their debut at a 3, and RW probably at a 3.5/4. This one is currently at around the same rating, but we'll see.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I really didn't like their debut at all, while I agree that Runnin Wild grew on me.

A few people are liking 'Steel Town', but I find it soooo cliched. It has a similar theme, but doesn't compare, to Jimmy Barnes' 'Working Class Man' from about 25 years ago.

ReturnToRock
April 15th 2010



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, the best I can say for this band is: they're better than Rhino Bucket and WAY better than Krokus. That's not saying much, but still...

Phantom
April 15th 2010



8930 Comments


yuck yuck yuck yuck


(band not review)

ReturnToRock
April 15th 2010



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

incidentally, Davey, as a fellow Billy Talent fan, I'm curious as to what you think of "Watoosh!" I recently reviewed it, and was a little disappointed.

Nagrarok
April 15th 2010



8184 Comments


For those unaware of Airbourne’s musical prowess, it can be described with four letters and a slash; AC/DC


I loved that line. Review is excellent as per usual. Teensy question though: why not just review the normal edition? I'd have this one deleted in any case; it seems pointless having the two of them in the database.

Runnin' Wild had some fun generic songs, some generic songs, and some boring generic songs. This seems what I would expect: a logical follow-up, basically agree with everything you said. Will avoid or listen to see HOW bad it is, art looks hilariously bad as well.

LepreCon
April 15th 2010



3884 Comments


I actually think this is pretty okay but w/e

Digging: Overkill - White Devil Armory

LG
April 15th 2010



3049 Comments


I HATE AC/DC

Dylan620
April 15th 2010



1015 Comments


The fact that 1) they ripped their logo off of Metallica, 2) they ripped their whole sound off of AC/DC, and 3) the album cover is ridiculous probably means I can't possibly take this band seriously.

McAlmonds
April 15th 2010



81 Comments


I can't stand that they literally sound EXACTLY THE SAME as AC/DC.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

"Well, the best I can say for this band is: they're better than Rhino Bucket and WAY better than Krokus. That's not saying much, but still..." I've heard of, but not heard, both of those bands. Sounds like I'm not missing much at all.

"incidentally, Davey, as a fellow Billy Talent fan, I'm curious as to what you think of "Watoosh!" I recently reviewed it, and was a little disappointed." Heard it once, was turned off by the vocals & have lazily never gone back to it. The thing is Pedro, I initially didn't even like BT's debut because of Ben's voice. Then, one day, it just clicked & I now love it. Why I've never gone back to Watoosh is beyond me. I think they'll be touring Oz later this year, so will do before then at the very least.

"I loved that line. Review is excellent as per usual. Teensy question though: why not just review the normal edition? I'd have this one deleted in any case; it seems pointless having the two of them in the database" Thanks Nagrarok. I did mull it over as to which I was gonna review, but felt that 5 extra tracks (& a bottle opener) was significant enough. Not only that, I felt that the utter ridiculousness of those bonus tracks were more than worth mentioning.

"I actually think this is pretty okay but w/e" To each their own Conor.

"The fact that 1) they ripped their logo off of Metallica, 2) they ripped their whole sound off of AC/DC, and 3) the album cover is ridiculous probably means I can't possibly take this band seriously." Should have called themselves 'The Rippers'.

maidenpmcc
April 15th 2010



1424 Comments


These guys are just AC/DC clones, they should bugger off and do everyone a favour.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Initially I was gonna try & get through the whole review without mentioning AC/DC.

Then, I was gonna have the summary say something like: "These guys sound familiar, but I can't quite place them".

Then I was gonna kick off with the definition of AC/DC (the electrical one).

Then I just said fuhgeddaboutit since many will mention the likeness in the comments.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010



31085 Comments


Then I was gonna kick off with the definition of AC/DC (the electrical one).

That would've been interesting

Digging: Banks - Goddess

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

haha. I was gonna have the summary listed above, then kick off with the definition & follow it up with something like "Nothing to do with this review, but I thought you should all get something educational out of reading something to do with Airbourne".

Maybe if I wasn't Staff.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010



31085 Comments


I'd cry if people didn't know what AC/DC stood for

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 15th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Well, there is the other meaning. Which reminds me, where is Atavanhalen?

;-)

AtavanHalen
April 16th 2010



17927 Comments


How the fuck does Men at Work get sued for ONE SONG and yet the Young brothers haven't fucking touched Airbourne? Bullshit.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 16th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha. You love it DavID...

Maybe Airbourne played for free when they supported them a couple of years back.

By the way, did you get your bonus bottle opener?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy