Barren Earth Curse of the Red River
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
bloc
April 10th 2010


34848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gonna check this out too, I liked what I heard off Myspace.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Willie
Moderator
April 11th 2010


15975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Btw, who's the Kreator member putting the "super" in this supergroup?


Sami Yli-Sirniö (Kreator, 2001 - Present)

Digging: Necropoli - I

HenchmanOfSanta
April 11th 2010


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Can we stop making Opeth comparisons in every review of something that's vaguely prog deathy? Especially since Opeth isn't death metal?

Willie
Moderator
April 11th 2010


15975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah, a genre nazi has found their way into the review. When the fucking thing sounds like Opeth then it's going to be mentioned. Especially, when the previous album didn't sound like Opeth (and thus didn't have the band's name dropped in the review). Opeth isn't death metal? You must be the one that keeps trying to change their genre every day….

HenchmanOfSanta
April 11th 2010


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've never tried to change their genre, they just really obviously play straight-up progressive metal. You must be one of those people who claim everything with harsh vocals is death metal. Maybe this album sounds like Opeth, but my comment is in regards to every review on the site seeming to have Opeth comparisons (In Mourning? Really?). Can you name one element of Opeth's music that is an important part of being a death metal band besides growling 50% of the time?

Hawks
April 11th 2010


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well you're retarded if you can't see that Opeth is, and always has been, progressive death metal. Anyways, this album looks pretty awesome and I'll check it out eventually.

Digging: Engraved - Before The Tales

Willie
Moderator
April 11th 2010


15975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fair enough. Someone tries to change their genre almost daily.

Anyway, those growled vocals are a big part of the death metal sound, so when bands use them (even without any other death metal elements) they're still incorporating a death metal influence. Harsh vocals don't equal death metal, though -- things like Killswitch or Still Remains aren't death metal or death metal influenced, but things with that deep growl are obviously death metal influenced.

I haven't heard In Mourning enough to remember their music so I'm not really sure about their Opeth influence. There's not more than one element other than the growled vocals, but it's a big element and that's why they will retain the death metal part of their classification.

bloc
April 11th 2010


34848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

DA-A-A-A-MN 2 songs in and I am just loving this!

HenchmanOfSanta
April 11th 2010


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's not more than one element other than the growled vocals, but it's a big element and that's why they will retain the death metal part of their classification.
Okay then, that makes maudlin of the Well and Orphaned Land death metal too. It's like saying that distortion makes you automatically metal because it's "a big element."

Willie
Moderator
April 11th 2010


15975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay then, that makes maudlin of the Well and Orphaned Land death metal too. It's like saying that distortion makes you automatically metal because it's "a big element."
No, it makes death metal one of their influences -- just like these guys and Opeth.

Hawks
April 11th 2010


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Henchman might be retarded guys go easy on him.

HenchmanOfSanta
April 11th 2010


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No, it makes death metal one of their influences -- just like these guys and Opeth.
Okay, so they're *influenced* by death metal, but that doesn't mean that they fit the classification of death metal. Mastodon are influenced by Slayer and Metallica. Does that make them thrash metal? No, that's just what inspired them to play their style of music. Nothing about Opeth's music outside of vocals really fits under any death metal subgenre.

Death metal is a diverse enough genre to fit artists as different as Immolation, Atheist, Augury, Gorguts and Cynic (who are pretty debatable themselves), but Opeth doesn't really seem to fit in with any of their groups at all. They fit much more comfortably under the pure progressive metal umbrella.

It's also nice to see that you are actually capable of arguing rather than claiming that I'm retarded and not backing up any of your points.

Hawks
April 11th 2010


35824 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Opeth is much more of a death metal band than Cynic is.

Willie
Moderator
April 11th 2010


15975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Okay, so they're *influenced* by death metal, but that doesn't mean that they fit the classification of death metal. Mastodon are influenced by Slayer and Metallica. Does that make them thrash metal? No, that's just what inspired them to play their style of music. Nothing about Opeth's music outside of vocals really fits under any death metal subgenre.
I agree and disagree ;) You're right that just because a band is influenced by a genre or other artist doesn't necessarily make them fit that genre or other artist's genre. You mentioned a perfect example of that with Mastodon. I can think of other examples right off the top of my head. But, the opposite also holds true (and with new bands it's usually this way that it occurs). Basically, if a band is influenced by a genre/artist and just emulate that sound then they are going to fit the same classification as their influence. Opeth fits that mold with the death metal vocals. If you could go back and read old interviews I'm sure he's mentioned time and time again that they wanted to take the death metal and mix it with the prog bands that he's so sprung on -- and that's what they did. Obviously, Damnation doesn't fit the death metal genre, nor do the occasional other tracks, but a majority of them definitely have an obvious death metal influence (more than Cynic and Atheist).

Death metal is a diverse enough genre to fit artists as different as Immolation, Atheist, Augury, Gorguts and Cynic (who are pretty debatable themselves), but Opeth doesn't really seem to fit in with any of their groups at all. They fit much more comfortably under the pure progressive metal umbrella.
I agree with the first part about death metal being diverse, but I can't see how you could include bands such as Atheist and Cynic and not include Opeth.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
April 11th 2010


16389 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with the first part about death metal being diverse, but I can't see how you could include bands such as Atheist and Cynic and not include Opeth.

This. If you include a band which is as progressive as Cynic is and label them death metal, then it confuses me as to why you wouldn't include Opeth.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

myhigherpie
April 11th 2010


3027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this be awesome.

HenchmanOfSanta
April 11th 2010


1866 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's why I said Cynic was debatable, and I really only mean on Focus. Traced in Air has zero elements of any extreme subgenre. While I think Opeth set out to combine death metal with the prog rock bands Mikael loves, the prog far outweighs any death elements in their music.

Willie
Moderator
April 11th 2010


15975 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It might outweigh it but it doesn't overwhelm it… it's definitely still there in abundance.

Emim
April 12th 2010


26621 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oy... this obvious debate is making my head hurt...



I really want to get this.

Baphomet
April 12th 2010


7364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

shiiiiiiiit... I forgot to get this yesterday! I srsly wished Sputnik had a wishlist...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy