Circa Survive Blue Sky Noise
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
betray
November 24th 2014


7059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah that one and spirit of the stairwell hit home for me

Digging: The Amity Affliction - This Could Be Heartbreak

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
November 24th 2014


17739 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea man frozen creek and get out. That soloy riff in get out slays.

rufinthefury
December 2nd 2014


2318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dyed In the Wool (acoustic) is just fucking incredible.

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

No one is bothered that this type of music is all you hear in movies, tv shows, commercials, radio, etc? How

can you like something that you are already bombarded with by the media? I mean honestly, this is the most

generic music I have heard besides maybe Nickelback. It is so damn predictable. Same structure/pace every

radio rock band uses, same artsy generic vocals you hear in every form of media, same casual guitar work.

The only thing it has going for it is that for radio rock, it is a bit above the average sound, but that

doesn't mean it is far from the same bullshit you usually hear.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2014


35565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Settle down

Digging: Frank Ocean - Blonde

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I know I went all out but it really does confuse me. You can't deny that this is basically an advanced form of the rock your hear in media/radio 24/7. How are you not tired of that sound?

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2014


35565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well I can deny that. Here I go: it's not. Hey, I did it!

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I could easily imagine hearing any song on this album on "x" pop/rock radio station or in a movie. Maybe it isn't inherently bad, but it is way over done and everywhere. It has gotten very annoying.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2014


35565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Comparing this to Nickelback makes me think you listened to about 20 seconds of it

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I'm actually half way through the album.



And I didn't compare it to Nickelback. It sounds nothing like Nickelback, however, what I meant was

Nickelback is even more generic sounding than this.



If one other particular genre that I enjoy, like later wave metalcore, were the overplayed genre, then I'd

say the same thing about metalcore. This album isn't inherently bad, it just is based on a core sound that

is over done through radio and media. It is the process of hearing the same thing every day over and over

that causes me to get bored/irritated by whatever it is that is being fed to me constantly.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2014


35565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nickelback is also more generic sounding than probably 99% of bands on the planet

I'm sure you can see the fault in logic here

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

There isn't a fault in logic, because this is still a pretty damn generic album.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2014


35565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You've got me beat there guess I better lower my rating now!

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

No, the thing is I'm still the loser since you get to enjoy it and I don't. I'd actually rather be in a

position to like it for obvious reasons. It just confuses me how it doesn't bother you (music that would fit

so well with what is so over played in media, for the past few years at least). I guess some people just

aren't bothered by it, but rather are empowered by it.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2014


35565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean, I just don't get what your point is. You're berating this album for having the same basic formula as generic radio rock yet you yourself have admitted it's far more advanced than Nickelback and the like. So should I be bothered by the fact that it uses a formula which has been used by inferior bands to make worse music? That's basically like saying that you should hate Pink Floyd because they sound like late-era Dream Theater

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I never said far more advanced, I said advanced form, and that statement wasn't in reference to Nickelback

but to general radio rock. Like, it is a bit more creative than what you hear on the radio, but the same

core formula and sound. Hell, the more I listen to this album, the more I realize that maybe it isn't even

that creative. It honestly sounds as basic as anything I would expect from the radio. Not that there

aren't "basic" things I enjoy, but when it is overplayed in all media to the point of annoyance, nah.





And look at the damn band page. First LP in 2005. This style of music has oversaturated media at least

since

then. Pink Floyd is much older than "later-era Dream Theater."

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2014


35565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So what? Dating has nothing to do with quality of music. And again, you didn't respond to my point, in fact you just reiterated it further. So again: why hate on a band for using a formula misused by other bands, when the band in question does it much better?

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Ok...I get your argument. It's like hating on Seinfeld because nearly every following sitcom copied the

same formula for over a decade.



Well, that is the thing. Doesn't matter who did it first, or best. It is annoying because its over done and

overplayed, and for years and years, everywhere, from commercials to radio to movies.



So I now understand. You're just a fan of a band associated with a genre that I guess unfortunately got

picked as the english speaking nation's unofficial genre of choice for all media. You still like it despite

hearing similar acts all the time.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
December 7th 2014


35565 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess so. But having said that, I still don't see why you think Circa are that similar to radio rock, as you call it. Songs like Get Out and Glass Arrows are a lot heavier than you'd hear typically on the radio, Compendium/Dyed in the Wool have prog influences, Through the Desert Alone breaks the verse-chorus structure, and so on. Not to mention that on a purely technical level the drumming and guitar are pretty impressive. There are plenty of things that set this far above radio cock rock

TrantaLocked
December 7th 2014


1675 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Heavier doesn't mean too much in this context. A huge part of what I dislike about this is the vocals. They

just seem misdirected and uncreative. Prog influence doesn't make those songs much better. The

instrumentation isn't bad and can be technical at times, but that doesn't really sway my overall opinion.



Edit: Second listen, holy shit this album makes me want to kill myself. I was actually getting a stomach

ache from cringing at this generic garbage.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy