Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
WatchItExplode
April 8th 2010



3072 Comments


"Here's your pie - what's your opinion on Animal Collective?"

Ire
April 8th 2010



41454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

best 1000th comment ever

iarescientists
April 8th 2010



5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

review doesn't really seem that negative

just like yr jane doe review you don't really criticize the music but the idea behind the music and the scene it's a part of. you say this album signals the end of indie, like that's a bad thing

Thor
April 8th 2010



10158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3 strikes and you're out. Choosing As the Roots Undo, Jane Doe, and now this album proves that you just have a fake agenda against popular "sputnik" albums. This is a fucking joke and you're nothing more than a troll to me, regardless of what I really think about this album.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2010



14884 Comments


fake agenda

Waior
April 8th 2010



11421 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha thor are you serious

supertouchox2
April 8th 2010



1062 Comments


I don't think you do enough in this to justify your rating, that said, very well written review and I would like to see you do some more obscure or less obvious albums.

Personally I have never got round to listening to this, I've heard "my girls" and fucking hated it, but I do need to give it a chance sometime.

bloc
April 8th 2010



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Fake agenda

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

porch
April 8th 2010



8390 Comments


Good review

paxman
April 8th 2010



4083 Comments


"But yeah I really stopped listening to new music circa 2004 so I feel pretty vague on where the "scene" is presently at"

...Yet you justify your rating by claiming that MPP is the death of indie-pop. How can you do this when you don't even know where the scene is presently at?

I've never heard the album, been wanting to lately.

G3N3R1C
April 8th 2010



1945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Honestly, i could never get into this album either. I don't HATE it though; it was made very clearly on my first listen that the band spent god-knows how much time meticulously crafting every little detail of it. It's well-made music.... it's just not very GOOD music, in my opinion. It's rare that i say that about an album. I can usually appreciate something like this, but..... it just drones on and on and on, and isn't very exciting or interesting..... Although, so this doesn't sound like a generalization, i really do like My Girls. I don't think it's deserving of all the praise it's gotten, but needless to say, it IS a good track.

MentalityOfA
April 8th 2010



1213 Comments


Nice review.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

kitsch
April 8th 2010



5105 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

dude the music > the scene



Knott-
Emeritus
April 8th 2010



10194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I can honestly see this album becoming a 1.5 or 1 for me eventually. Much as I still think Summertime Clothes is as good as it always was, the rest of the album grates so damn much and the hype is slaughtering it in my head. I know objectively it's not a 1 and I'd never review it as such but it's highly likely that in 6 months time I won't be able to listen to this record at all.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2010



14884 Comments


wtf

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2010



14884 Comments


you guys are killin me here

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2010



17117 Comments


Alongside the concurrent emo/screamo/hardcore scene (which had its own roots in punk, metal, and pop punk), the new indie scene flourished in the first half of the decade and steadily gained steam going into the second. Hipster subculture – which had survived only in small urban pockets through the 1990s – expanded rapidly, developing its own distinct fashion and ethos. White suburbanites sported big glasses, v-neck shirts, flannels, and carefully mismatched clothes; the men grew beards and mustaches. In those years, when resistance to "corporate greed" and the Bush administration was in vogue, they cultivated an interest in bike culture, veganism, and a generally pseudo-bohemian lifestyle in housing co-ops or some shithole flat in Brooklyn.

ftw

Digging: Sad Lovers and Giants - Feeding the Flame

joshuatree
Emeritus
April 8th 2010



3743 Comments


I can honestly see this album becoming a 1.5 or 1 for me eventually. Much as I still think Summertime Clothes is as good as it always was, the rest of the album grates so damn much and the hype is slaughtering it in my head. I know objectively it's not a 1 and I'd never review it as such but it's highly likely that in 6 months time I won't be able to listen to this record at all.


csb

ninjuice
April 8th 2010



6758 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hey this review('s rating) is actually correct!

robin
Emeritus
April 8th 2010



4222 Comments


merriweathered by critisism



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy