Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
brutebeard
October 15th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

pseudo-intellectual?!

You [i]would[i/] like that book merriweather. Is it even worth reading? I know part of it at least is based in my city - Pittsburgh.

brutebeard
October 15th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

would*

merriweather
October 15th 2010


619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, I've never met anyone who didn't like the book!

brutebeard
October 15th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Well consider me your first

WhiteWallStargazers
October 15th 2010


2647 Comments


My Girls is what gets it the rating, rest just doesn't stick . . how do I get it to stick?

brutebeard
October 15th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't expect them all to be hits; just slow down and take them in

foreverendeared
October 15th 2010


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lol at Dostoevsky being "pseudo-intellectual"

i read Perks Of Being A Wallflower. it's okay, nothing special.

brutebeard
October 15th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that's what i thought @endeared

should I read The Idiot first out of his novels?

foreverendeared
October 15th 2010


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Honestly, I would start with Crime and Punishment. It will serve as the best introduction to his works. I've only read 5 of them so far though, so I'm no expert

brutebeard
October 16th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha you sound like you could be, thanks though

ShadowRemains
October 16th 2010


21042 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

ugh

Digging: Execration (NOR) - Morbid Dimensions

brutebeard
October 16th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hug

AtavanHalen
October 16th 2010


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

YEAH!

brutebeard
October 16th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

wat

foreverendeared
October 16th 2010


14678 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

HUH! YEAH!

what is it good for

abso-lutely nuthin

Emim
October 16th 2010


26646 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Like this album?

brutebeard
October 17th 2010


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Emim- you are a sucker for that

Zyb
November 13th 2010


40 Comments


"I don't mean that Merriweather Post Pavilion marks the decline as in it's inferior to earlier indie pop"

But that's exactly what a decline is, and you said that the album IS the decline, not that it "marks" it. It's not as if this is their debut record; shouldn't one of their prior albums have "marked the decline"? And since you say it's not actually a criticism, why use it as the summary?

As others have said, faulting someone for innovating with the tools is absurd at best. Doesn't matter if they're stringed or electronic, they're all just waveform generators.

Polyethylene
September 14th 2012


3157 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The mistake you made with this review is the mistake Pitchfork has continually made for over a decade, leading many to see their reviews as unreliable. Instead of discussing the album as a standalone work, or even within the context of their discography, you chose to analyse it as a segment in some superficial chain, branding it with the vague label of "indie pop" and deciding it represented the decline of this superficial genre.
That label really does not apply to this album, the fact this album exists so independently of other music being made right now (including that labeled as "indie pop") is why it is the breath of fresh air it is. This album is such a departure from a lot of alternative music being made at the moment, to anchor it to a contrived genre that was in decline long before this album materialised ignores the many merits it has.
And the few criticisms you made of it as an actual album (rather than a signal fire of indie pop's demise) are weak and hugely subjective. Of course all music is subjective, but these felt much more along the lines of "personal gripes" than "glaring flaws." Like them juxtaposing elements of electronic music with music generally considered more "organic" is not a glaring flaw, it is an attempt to mine from both sides of the fence, an attempt the majority of people view as highly successful.
As coherently written as this review was, it sounds like you simply don't like the album and are having a hard time justifying that, or going against the general consensus is something you enjoy doing.

Digging: Lucinda Williams - Car Wheels On A Gravel Road

TheFonz123
January 9th 2013


2795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still, I wish more reviews were written like this, even if it means making them trite.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy