Animal Collective Merriweather Post Pavilion
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
April 8th 2010


18002 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Fuck, great review.

Digging: The Speed of Sound in Seawater - Red Version

klap
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2010


10581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is easily your most accessible review (ironic), and i think your most well-written honestly as it makes some salient points. i just think it ends a bit abruptly after you make your point - i would've liked a bit more analysis about how this really illustrates the "death throes" of indie music and what not.

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

joshuatree
Emeritus
April 8th 2010


3742 Comments


review's unarguably well-written but you have some weird ideas (also dated) about electronic music; also faulting this album because it doesn't meet those prerequisites is kind of silly. also wish you would've expanded this review out further, it just kind of like ends right when it seems you have the opportunity to say a lot of interesting stuff and back up your claims

plus, if your posts in various threads are to be believed, you just heard this yesterday? i mean, c'mon man, you gotta give albums like these a bit more of a chance than you are

Ire
April 8th 2010


41829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well this isnt surprising or anything. I just tend to think that most people who don't like this album go in expecting something it's not trying to be, then fault MPP for not reaching that standard

To be fair, I had no expectations at all. Anyway, the review is well written and I agree with the rating.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2010


15080 Comments


he was like 'i might listen to this' and we were like 'review it!!!!' i mean it's not really his fault but w/e

PanasonicYouth
April 8th 2010


7412 Comments


holy shit its michael jackson

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2010


15080 Comments


whats with the influx of mediocre ratings for this album

seems like only recently people started giving this ratings in the 1, 2 range

BigHans
April 8th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Strong review, although I liked your CTTS one the best.

Inveigh
April 8th 2010


25198 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this album definitely doesn't deserve a 1 or 1.5, regardless of personal preference. I think even someone who doesn't like it can appreciate the quality of the music. I mean, I don't particularly like it nor do I listen to it very often (with the exception of like 2-3 songs), but even I can admit it's deserving of no less than a 2.5

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

eggsvonsatan
April 8th 2010


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I've hated this shit from Day 1, this is just the first I'm coming to bitch about it.

BigHans
April 8th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It would be a 1.5 or a 2 without My Girls.

Wizard
April 8th 2010


19641 Comments


Thank you for doing this review.

Digging: Ash Borer - Cold of Ages

Athom
Staff Reviewer
April 8th 2010


17230 Comments


but but but Summertime Clothes...

Inveigh
April 8th 2010


25198 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

My Girls and Summertime Clothes do save this from a 2-2.5 for me too. But, they're here, therefore it gets a 3.

bloc
April 8th 2010


35024 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Very nice MJ, finally a review that sees the light.

Willie
Moderator
April 8th 2010


16147 Comments


Dude, when I saw this in the approval queue and noticed your name attached to it, I literally said out loud - "Fuck. Again?" (quietly cause I'm at work). Nice review, though. It's easy for most readers to tell the difference between someone expressing their opinion and someone that seems more concerned with inflammatory statements and pissing everyone off.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

hotcheetofan
April 8th 2010


126 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i disagree with your overall position on the album, but i think your review is intelligent and well written.

Ponton
Emeritus
April 8th 2010


5819 Comments


Impressive. Not since thebhoy's 3-score rating for Sigur Ros' Untitled have I seen a controversial review as positively accepted (so far, anyway) as this.

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

WatchItExplode
April 8th 2010


3313 Comments


mj delivers...album does not

SrightryEpic
April 8th 2010


1197 Comments


just envisioned michael jordan delivering pizza this is the best vision ever



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy