Secret And Whisper Teenage Fantasy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PinkBlackberry
April 7th 2010



2346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome awesome awesome review. Agree almost to a tee, In comparison GWW and this are a dead even tie to me, may throw a extra point towards TF because it's (in my mind), just another step further, like a continuation from GWW, mind you. they Improved on little things here and there making it sound much cleaner.

and I'll put in my vote for Of Machines, great band

AmericnZero02
April 7th 2010



3337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love this album. Great review as ever.

I'll take the assist on that ; )

Great review Davey. I never really thought about their hook deficiency issue; you definitely hit that one dead on.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
April 7th 2010



7322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. I quite enjoyed this but wasn't a fan of the vocals. I might still check out their first though

Emim
April 7th 2010



26581 Comments


@Dougie:

I'd say Jom or Greer puts out the longest *wink wink, nudge nudge*

dcha
April 7th 2010



990 Comments


Saosin got a new singer?

iamSeraph
April 7th 2010



860 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lawl I heard this for two times now and this is never in life a 5, even if I liked "great white whale" damn much...it's better, more technical, but definitely lacks hits and overall catchiness. too much filler tracks for me.
will have to let it grow... :C

ps: RLY nice review. like your taste and like the summary.
ps2: of machines easily fail at beating S&W. they are much more bland and boring.

AmericnZero02
April 7th 2010



3337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright everybody, the whole confusing S&W for saosin joke has officially been beat to death.

The singer from Of Machines can fluctuate his pitch really well but Furney shows a lot more variation, as does S&W over OM.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Great review, Davey. Didn't expect this to be a 4, but from what I've heard it's pretty good." Thanks Jared. It will be interesting to see the lasting value of this album. But, since I compare it to Thursday's 'Common Existence, (which grew on me big time) then it should be fine.

"you had a bit more length" I prefer not to brag Dougie.

"i love this album. which stutterfly album would be the better one to check out?" I'll have to refer that question to someone else Justin, as I've only heard bits & pieces. The vocals are definitely different though, while the musicianship has clearly improved.

"Great review. I do like this album a good amount more than the first one though. Simply because the whole album flows through better. " Thanks Alex. While I still think this LP is cohesive, I preferred the way 'GWWhale' ebbed & flowed. The flow of this album is more down to the reduced variety... But I am nit-picking.

"All this is is guitar licks drowned in delay and reverb with some cat sreeching randomly." Exhibit 1 for Furney being an acquired taste. And I don't care what the guitar licks have been drowned in, they sound phenomenal.

"i saw these guys with emery awhile back. i like their sound but there's not much variety in it" I actually wondered how they would be live & if it could get a little too samey. They can escape that on record due to effects & the like, but it's trickier live.

"Love this album. Great review as ever." Thanks Steven.

"When I first listened to this, I thought, "ugh same as before, but the songs are worse". I had it at a 2. Second listen... I love it just as much as the first album at a 4. Wtf that was weird. Oh well." Interesting thought process. I don't think I could have felt that way, simply due to what I described in the introductory paragraph with the opening 2 songs. Elsewhere, I can sort of see what you mean though. As I said at the end of the review, this is not as immediate as their debut.

"Seriously albums meh...to much high pitched singing and not enough STUTTERFLY!" You just like saying Stutterfly LG. Seriously, give the album more of a chance... It could be a grower.

"Furney's vocals are pretty whiney too but he's MUCH more controlling with it to how the music pushes and pulls-and quite frankly on this album it fits and he does a hell of job at it." Very well said Alex. That's what I was trying to get at with that 'uncanny ability to know where the line is' sentence in my review.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Awesome awesome awesome review. Agree almost to a tee, In comparison GWW and this are a dead even tie to me, may throw a extra point towards TF because it's (in my mind), just another step further, like a continuation from GWW, mind you. they Improved on little things here and there making it sound much cleaner." Thanks PinkBlackberry. I agree on the attention to detail here... I guess I'm just a sucker for a killer vocal hook & with the accessibility slightly down on this album, I marginally favor their debut. Much of a muchness though.

"Great review Davey. I never really thought about their hook deficiency issue; you definitely hit that one dead on." Thanks Zero. The thing is, I think they can pull off such vocal hooks... So it's either that they are intentionally trying to steer away from any kind of mainstream OR Furney's writing of lyrics needs to improve (since he writes all of their lyrics). I'm 50-50 on which it is.

"Good review. I quite enjoyed this but wasn't a fan of the vocals. I might still check out their first though." Thanks Ali. I'd recommend you do check out 'GWWhale'. I think you would like that more than this.

"but anyhoo, really good review. i like an album with bitchin' riffage" Ta. 'Bitchin Riffage' would make for a great album title!

"it's better, more technical, but definitely lacks hits and overall catchiness. too much filler tracks for me. will have to let it grow... RLY nice review. like your taste and like the summary." Thanks man. You actually summed up the comparisons between album really well concerning technicality vs hits/catchiness... Except I don't believe there are too many filler tracks here. If anything, 'Blush' may be the closest & that predominantly suffers due to its place in the track-ordering.

You're such a stirrer DavID.

Douglas
April 7th 2010



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Don't start me on length... ; )

Digging: James Vincent McMorrow - Post Tropical

AtavanHalen
April 7th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I'm such a stirrer, oh no

WEEEOOOWWWWWWW

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

F**k, I just wrote another review up there.... Even if you take away the copy & pastes.

Emim
April 7th 2010



26581 Comments


Don't start me on length... ; )


Made all the more euphemistic due to the fact you three are from down under.

ba-dum chish!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 7th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Careful Emim, you'll get sued for using the words "down under".

Douglas
April 7th 2010



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sitting in an old gumtree?

Emim
April 7th 2010



26581 Comments


With an adorable koala, right?

Douglas
April 7th 2010



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Uhh maybe you haven't paid attention to recent aussie legal battles? haha

Emim
April 7th 2010



26581 Comments


We're screwed up enough over here. I don't need to be depressed with international lawsuits.


I am going to be VERY disappointed if y'all aren't wrestling crocodiles daily, though...

Douglas
April 7th 2010



9093 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Here:http://www.examiner.com/x-28732-Generation-X-Examiner~y2010m2d4-Jude-rules-Men-At-Work-stole-
Down-Under
I am don't worry, and riding my kangaroo to work

Emim
April 7th 2010



26581 Comments


YES.

Kangaroos are awesome.


That news article "is being published, it will be available to view in 5 minutes".



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy