Coheed and Cambria Year of the Black Rainbow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Zip
April 3rd 2010


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True, that chorus is just too fucking awesome

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I thought there was enough diversity on the album for most of the songs to stick out in their own way idk. When Skeletons Live is somewhat lackluster (but good) and This Shattered Symphony is too disjointed but other than that it's pretty consistent.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - Stranger Heads Prevail

ianjulian
April 3rd 2010


642 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great album

labria86
April 3rd 2010


150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So... For someone who is a big enough fan to think that GA1 was a Godsend and GA2 was a Soild awesome album and that the first two albums are aamzing works of art that will never get old and that the band was worth flying from Louisiana to New York to witness the awesomeness that was Neverender, but still has refused to listen to this until the album drops and is in my hands... Should I be excited?

Acre
April 3rd 2010


847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with Hanson in this case: I originally though the title track was a letdown, but it just works so well as a segue into Second Stage. Really, When Skeletons Live is the only track I don't totally love, and even it's OK in a filler-y way.

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah really.



And that's a long-ass sentence.

labria86
April 3rd 2010


150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hahaha Sorry about my sentence it was intentional. Ill change it once i hear the album as im sure it

wont stay a 5. Unless it breaks a rule or something out of 150 rathings dont think mine is going to

change anything. Anyways... So is that a yes or...

Acre
April 3rd 2010


847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Truth.

labria86
April 3rd 2010


150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha. Thanks guys. This is the best and most well written YOTBR review i've yet seen. You've already

got a thread about it started over at Cobalt and Calcium, Iluvatar. Good work.



Side note, I dont really understand all the hate for justice in murder. There are way worse coheed

songs. Road and the Damned for one.



Anyways, GOOD JOB!

Transient
April 3rd 2010


1461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yo Hanson, I think this is a good review but, while it's forced and artificial to forbid writing in the first person, the entire first paragraph -- where you go over the "process" by which you wrote the review -- is (to use one of your most abused criticisms) totally useless. You kick it off by recalling how you tried four times to write an introduction, and this recollection then itself serves as the introduction. By assuming this trivially ironic stance toward your own writing, you're able to let the reader in on it and "speak at their level." Phrases like "something epic enough" and "incredibly badass" enter in alongside other vulgarisms like "mind-blowing picture."



You may say this is a good thing, that it's good to adopt a relaxed, conversational tone in writing a review. And indeed it isn't always appropriate to write in high-flown language, certainly. But your whole first paragraph is exactly symptomatic of the personalism I describe in my Jane Doe review.



It's the same thing that has appeared on the 24-hour news stations in the last couple decades. The shows will report the news, sure, but a lot of time is spent letting the audience "get to know" the personalities of the news anchors or pundits so that people can "relate" to them better. This manifests itself in their offhand remarks to on-the-scene reporters to "pick up a cheesesteak for me at Freddy's as long as you're in Philly," or in anecdotes about how their dad used to take them to see Joe Dimaggio or Mickey Mantle play on afternoon games at Yankee stadium. All this is broadcast so as to put a "human face" on the reporter. So rather than just report the news in a detached, cold, and clinical fashion, they add in all these quaint colloquialisms and personal recollections as a cheap rhetorical trick.



This can just as well be said for this review. Rather than just give a direct analysis of the album in terms of its content or underlying concepts you just talk about how difficult it was to come up with an introduction in the first place. It just becomes this utterly puerile metacommentary on your thought process in response to way the album made you feel as you prepared to write a review of it.



Also, you'll never see a paragraph like that in a review written for Pitchfork or any of the more serious reviewing sites. And that's precisely what keeps Sputnik reviews, and a Sputnik Staff review in this case, from being considered truly professional to chillin' maxin' relaxin' all cool, shooting some bball outside of the school, etc.

Tw1ster
April 3rd 2010


123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

In The Flame of Error is my favorite song on this album. The whole thing is amazing and really, I can't find a real weakness.

Transient
April 3rd 2010


1461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the broken deserves a 4 by itself

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18938 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

More like 7th best.

Transient
April 3rd 2010


1461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'll listen to this once i can force myself to stop watching that hot chip video okay, it's 5:30am and i've been watching it for over an hour and a half now

mynameischan
Emeritus
April 3rd 2010


17960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you shoulda seen the review before i edited it

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


29568 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

PRAY FOR THE BROKEN NO1 CAN FIX US

RebelWithoutApplause
April 3rd 2010


220 Comments


I don't like the overall sound of this album. Very good review though.

LegendofPittman
April 3rd 2010


2960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album made me realize I how much I love Coheed. NWFT just made me lose hope, but this brought back my passion.

As far as placement, I say it is better than NWFT, but not better than any of the other albums. Close tie to GA I.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


29568 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

stop begging for your mercy

Tw1ster
April 3rd 2010


123 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I watched the neverender documentary the other night which really opened my eyes in terms of how special this band is



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy