Coheed and Cambria Year of the Black Rainbow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
bloc
April 3rd 2010


35004 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't get me wrong, Error and Skeletons are still decent. But the worst song is easily the last one.

Digging: The Birthday Massacre - Superstition

Circa4life
April 3rd 2010


289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was just hoping the last one would be... well.. more epic!

pennyroyal22
April 3rd 2010


50 Comments


Why the hate for the album title?

Album's my favorite of theirs by far.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why would it be epic, again?

WatchItExplode
April 3rd 2010


3299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In the Flame of Error is my least favorite song on the album, and there is no way in hell this is better tha GA 1...it's like we're listening to different bands bodom, but at least we can agree they rule

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I think the title track ends the album perfectly with all honesty. It's more of a dreamy denouement than a bombastic finale but it sets the mood perfectly, and it manages to be emotionally draining without sounding cheesy at all.

Digging: Kenn Nardi - Dancing With the Past

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

And that just shows that Coheed have something for everyone, WatchItExplode

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SSTB>GA 1>IKSSE:3 =/= this > nwft.

that =/= means better but only ever so slightly.

WatchItExplode
April 3rd 2010


3299 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

exactly bodom...title track is remarkably unremarkable. After Pearl of the Stars I kind of go into a coma until The Broken starts again

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I listen to that and then realize that it's meant to go into Time Consumer, and man does that transition work surprisingly well.

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm about to segue YOTBR into SSTB in that case, don't know why I haven't tried that yet.

Zip
April 3rd 2010


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

None of the songs stick out.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i definitely think Here We Are Juggernaut does.

Zip
April 3rd 2010


5312 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

True, that chorus is just too fucking awesome

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I thought there was enough diversity on the album for most of the songs to stick out in their own way idk. When Skeletons Live is somewhat lackluster (but good) and This Shattered Symphony is too disjointed but other than that it's pretty consistent.

ianjulian
April 3rd 2010


637 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

great album

Digging: Job for a Cowboy - Sun Eater

labria86
April 3rd 2010


137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So... For someone who is a big enough fan to think that GA1 was a Godsend and GA2 was a Soild awesome album and that the first two albums are aamzing works of art that will never get old and that the band was worth flying from Louisiana to New York to witness the awesomeness that was Neverender, but still has refused to listen to this until the album drops and is in my hands... Should I be excited?

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

user should not have already rated the album is my opinion ha

Acre
April 3rd 2010


847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree with Hanson in this case: I originally though the title track was a letdown, but it just works so well as a segue into Second Stage. Really, When Skeletons Live is the only track I don't totally love, and even it's OK in a filler-y way.

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18851 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah really.

And that's a long-ass sentence.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy