Coheed and Cambria Year of the Black Rainbow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
porch
April 3rd 2010



8390 Comments


funny avatar dischord

IronyIsALivingScene
April 3rd 2010



129 Comments


Yeah totez cool.

Brylawski
April 3rd 2010



709 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

whos that kid in the picture?

StrizzMatik
April 3rd 2010



3158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

StrizzMatik: I normally would not whore out the reviews I've written, but since you ask, I have three reviews. The reason it appears that I have none is that I have been banned from the accounts under which they are listed. The review of Jane Doe giving it a 1 and one of the two reviews of Dead Can Dance's Within the Realm of a Dying Sun giving it a 5 both appear in the list of the last 200 reviews as written by "ImpOfThePerverse." That's me. Either one of them is fucking excellent.

I read them. You are officially so far up your own ass you think daylight is a myth. I can definitely tell you sniff the asses of Shitfork with all of your three-dollar words that you most likely never use in any sort of normal conversation to make yourself appear well-read and intelligent, but you use it to troll, and badly at that.

LeotardMessiah2
April 3rd 2010



311 Comments


Strizz is so mad



Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

h8torade

Digging: Anekdoten - Vemod

Poet
April 3rd 2010



5910 Comments


Never listened to a full Coheed album but I'll prolly listen to this.



Maes
April 3rd 2010



78 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've only listened to this and turbine blade, and i still prefer turbine blade farrrrrrrrr more. This is still a pretty good listen.

StrizzMatik
April 3rd 2010



3158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm not even mad, but it's ridiculous how this kid calls out people for having poor reviews (when they're not poor at all) then smugly acts like he's more enlightened than the rest of us because OMG I READ PITCHFORK THAT GIVES ME CRED when his own reviews are nothing but hyperboleking trolling with a few English 101 classes. He needs to go back to PF and fap to foreign indie records

LeotardMessiah2
April 3rd 2010



311 Comments


Not mad. Furious

Maes
April 3rd 2010



78 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why does it matter? It's a better read.

StrizzMatik
April 3rd 2010



3158 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Again I don't see how the first paragraph ruined anything. Sputnik's Staff members have especially unique writing styles that stood out in some way or another from the thousands of other members. That is why they are Staff. Do some write iffy reviews? Sure, so do most of all mainstream reviewers, at a far worse rate. I don't read Hanson's reviews for technical minutiae. Of all the Staff members, Nick Greer is the guy who's usually analytical/clinical in his approach to reviews, which is completely different but equally effective way to review. I find that John's style is more humorous and personable with an attention to the overall feel of the record in an emotional / stream-of-consciousness "this is what this makes me feel like right now" way. Most of the guys who analyze every sound on a record are typically musicians (being guilty of this myself), who naturally pay more attention to the techniques, tones, and have a completely different criteria to judge a record's merits.

The reason sputnik is awesome is because of the incredible variety of music and information present. From every nook and cranny, every band of every style of music (especially lesser-known independent artists) is explored or pretty much covered in some way, by anyone who wants to write about said artists. I can't even count the number of amazing bands I've gotten into since joining mxTabs back in '99, and seeing ultimately what it has become since. Some of the best reviewers on this site aren't even Staff. There's tons of crappy reviews but the best thing about it is that anyone can contribute to making it and them better, and it's constantly moderated for B.S. The site has grown and evolved so much since it was just a forum of warring metalheads and punks and has definitely earned their credibility, especially as of late. Pitchfork is influential without a doubt, but saying they're a more respected site is like saying just because Rolling Stone is the biggest name in the music reviews business, it must be the best, right?

Zizzer
April 3rd 2010



915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah it doesn't come off as professional to outsiders and is obviously directed more toward people who frequent the site often, but it's definitely not a bad review. It covers the album well, and I found it thoroughly enjoyable.

I have only listened to a couple bits and pieces of the album so far, but it sounds pretty promising. I bet reading the book makes the album even better.

WatchItExplode
April 3rd 2010



3068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

blah, blah blah...this album goes to hell after Pearl of the Stars...pretty sure it's my least favorite CoCa offering

Knott-
Emeritus
April 3rd 2010



10193 Comments


i would review this if i had a clue about this band or their discography

it's a damn good record

Circa4life
April 3rd 2010



289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

God I love this albums, I dont think it goes to shit after Pearl of the Stars but its definitely not as amazing as the previous songs.

bloc
April 3rd 2010



34489 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, I was just thinking the same thing about how the last three songs aren't as good as the rest.

Digging: Gamma Ray - Empire of the Undead

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010



16071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

guys just so everyone knows, the review originally started off with "Okay all you pieces of shit". So be happy this is as informal as it ended up being.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010



18735 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

In the Flame of Error is the best song here though. And I love the title track, it's powerful.

Acre
April 3rd 2010



847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^^^You talkin' crazy son. In The Flame of Error is awesome.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy