Coheed and Cambria Year of the Black Rainbow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
StrizzMatik
April 3rd 2010


3229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Oh hai John Hansen review

Album is good but grew off me really quick, Deftones and TDEP have been pretty much owning my iPod at the moment.

MichaelJordan, get a fucking life. Pitchfork reviews are practically DEFINED by their ridiculous tangents (anyone wanna count how many times you'll read a review and not hear one mention of the music until the final paragraph or two?) and not everything has to be coldly analyzed in order to be considered a "serious" review. And last I checked, isn't music a typically passionate artistic statement? Why and how would your emotions not come into play when listening to it? It's not a fucking science experiment. The mark of a really good reviewer IMO is one that satisfies the technical side of things while using an inclusive writing style to break it down for the average layperson, something Hanson does pretty well.

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2010


16147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the first Coheed album I've ever listened to. It's not bad. I'll probably have to give a few more listens in order to get used to the vocals, though.

MichaelJordon is another alt for NeonSynchronicity (or whatever it was). His whole reason for being here is to bitch and complain.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

greg84
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


7464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This isn't really a good point to start in my opinion. They're capable of much more. Check out Good Apollo I'm Burning Star Vol.1

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2010


16147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll do that and then come back to this.

Motiv3
April 3rd 2010


8944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah good apollo is better than this. Great album, great review too.

IronyIsALivingScene
April 3rd 2010


129 Comments


Actually check out their two best albums Second Stage Turbine Blade and In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3. Those are better starting points man.

paxman
April 3rd 2010


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best, up there with IKSOSE3. I'm so glad that Claudio lets the music breathe a little. Listen to either Good Apollos (more specifically, The Suffering or Feathers) and you'll know what I mean when I say that he drowns the music in his vocals. This album is fantastic.

Dylan620
April 3rd 2010


1053 Comments


Can't wait for this to come out.

Digging: Death - Human

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


16917 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

this is a pretty good album.

Digging: Low Roar - 0

shade
April 3rd 2010


1198 Comments


"flair to the whole affair"


win

jimmyarmpit
April 3rd 2010


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

to be honest, i dont understand why NWFT gets shit on so much....i think its amazing, although it took me a year and a half to get used to it, and i think it may be the same story for this record.
ive got some quick favorites on the album, and i dont think some of it has grown on me yet.
although its (possibly) my favorite song on the album, im actully dissapointed 'world of lines' doesnt have that NWFT style rippin ass style.
not as good as IKSOSE3 or good apollo 1, but i dont think theyll ever top those anyway

Yazz_Flute
April 3rd 2010


18875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

IKSOSE3 > SSTB > YOTBR > GA1 > NWFT

Digging: DIR EN GREY - Arche

jimmyarmpit
April 3rd 2010


21 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

bodominflames
my opinion on th greater than list..........

GA1 > IKSOSE3 > NWFT > SSTB > YOTBR

i know i should get some hell for putting nwft ahead of sstb, but i really like that record, im gonna stick up for it.

BigTuna
April 3rd 2010


5161 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is good but I think both apollos are better.

Digging: Hans Zimmer - Interstellar

IronyIsALivingScene
April 3rd 2010


129 Comments


Dude you are so fucking gay, seriously.

Brylawski
April 3rd 2010


709 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This band is fucking lol worthy. You people need to start listening to decent music

VicariousIntent
April 3rd 2010


1599 Comments


But Brylawski, my favorite band is I Have No Ratings So No One Can Judge My Tastes Or Make Fun Of Me. I Am Jesus.

I must say though, I thought the latest IHNRSNOCJMToMFoMIAJ record exposed the band for the dickholes they really were, and I realized they're not nearly as cool as I may have thought when I was in 7th grade.

StrizzMatik
April 3rd 2010


3229 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, the whole "Nazis who may have been zombies" with the machine-gun guitar bit could have been written by a 12-year-old.

So where's your review at? That's what I thought. Shut the fuck up.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
April 3rd 2010


2041 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Second Stage is the absolute best Coheed album.

GA1, 2, and IKSSE3 I have to be in a mood to want to listen to.

This album brings back some of that consistent energy that was in SSTB, which is what makes it great to me. Right now I'd probably peg it just under SSTB and a wee bit above IKSSE3, but I need to listen to it and see how it holds up over time to give it a fair ranking.

Digging: Damascus - When Last We Met

Xenophanes
Emeritus
April 3rd 2010


10663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I suppose this is growing on me

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III - Saturnian Poetry



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy