Coheed and Cambria Year of the Black Rainbow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
PanasonicYouth
April 3rd 2010


7413 Comments


^^^ LOL JOKES

album is sick as fuck

VicariousIntent
April 3rd 2010


1626 Comments


Great review. I absolutely love this album. I also prefer newer Coheed to old though. I know a lot of people who are going to be disappointed/pissed off by this album. I think the sound here fits them perfectly though...and Pennie is still a monster behind the kit.

Circa4life
April 3rd 2010


289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Pearl of Stars and World of Lines are amazing

Knott-
Emeritus
April 3rd 2010


10198 Comments


album is greaaaaaat probably a 4 for me

i have this and SSTB what next

EverythingEvil2113
April 3rd 2010


1319 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

...I liked the album title



Anyways...I love the progression they made with this album. I was a little afraid they were going to fall into a rut and make albums similar to NWFT but this proved to me that they are still progressing as a band.

ninjuice
April 3rd 2010


6760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i have this and SSTB what next


Just get everything but get No World For Tomorrow last.

Ire
April 3rd 2010


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Niggah u trippin'

greg84
Emeritus
April 3rd 2010


7549 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know but this album seems a bit forced to me. The problem is that it doesn't really surprise with anything except the light use of electronics and the last dreamy track which is the best here in my opinion. Other than that, Here We Are Juggernaut and Far are the highlights.

Digging: Hammers Of Misfortune - Dead Revolution

Knott-
Emeritus
April 3rd 2010


10198 Comments


yeah Far is a definite highlight, i think this is actually a very consistent record, very few peaks or troughs at all to be honest

Gee
April 3rd 2010


228 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

First time i heared this i was slightly dissappointed, now that ive heared it 30 or so times, i think its incredible, and reminds me why coheed is easily my favourite band. cant wait to get my hands on the delux edition.

TMobotron
April 3rd 2010


7224 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"yeah Far is a definite highlight, i think this is actually a very consistent record, very few peaks or troughs at all to be honest"



Definitely really consistent.



I feel like on NWFT they were trying to make too many of their songs "epic" in the vein of Welcome Home, IKSSE, Everything Evil, and a lot of the time just failed completely.



Here it seems like they didn't ever try to make a song sound epic or make anything that would blow the audience away, but just stuck to writing awesome songs within the range that they knew they could be in while still creating great songs. And the result was just a really consistent and really good album.



Anyone with me? I definitely like this more than NWFT. It'll take more listens for me to decide where it ranks among the rest, but I think at the bottom (which isn't saying anything bad).

InFiction
April 3rd 2010


3827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am very much looking forward to this.

LepreCon
April 3rd 2010


5133 Comments


A good friend of mine posted this in my mail box at around three o clock yesterday morning. I wish I knew who he was, I could kiss him

StrizzMatik
April 3rd 2010


3519 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Oh hai John Hansen review



Album is good but grew off me really quick, Deftones and TDEP have been pretty much owning my iPod at the moment.



MichaelJordan, get a fucking life. Pitchfork reviews are practically DEFINED by their ridiculous tangents (anyone wanna count how many times you'll read a review and not hear one mention of the music until the final paragraph or two?) and not everything has to be coldly analyzed in order to be considered a "serious" review. And last I checked, isn't music a typically passionate artistic statement? Why and how would your emotions not come into play when listening to it? It's not a fucking science experiment. The mark of a really good reviewer IMO is one that satisfies the technical side of things while using an inclusive writing style to break it down for the average layperson, something Hanson does pretty well.

Digging: Thank You Scientist - The Perils of Time Travel

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2010


16888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is the first Coheed album I've ever listened to. It's not bad. I'll probably have to give a few more listens in order to get used to the vocals, though.



MichaelJordon is another alt for NeonSynchronicity (or whatever it was). His whole reason for being here is to bitch and complain.

greg84
Emeritus
April 3rd 2010


7549 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This isn't really a good point to start in my opinion. They're capable of much more. Check out Good Apollo I'm Burning Star Vol.1

Willie
Moderator
April 3rd 2010


16888 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll do that and then come back to this.

Motiv3
April 3rd 2010


8978 Comments


yeah good apollo is better than this. Great album, great review too.

IronyIsALivingScene
April 3rd 2010


129 Comments


Actually check out their two best albums Second Stage Turbine Blade and In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3. Those are better starting points man.

paxman
April 3rd 2010


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Best, up there with IKSOSE3. I'm so glad that Claudio lets the music breathe a little. Listen to either Good Apollos (more specifically, The Suffering or Feathers) and you'll know what I mean when I say that he drowns the music in his vocals. This album is fantastic.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy