modernsextrash penumbra
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
sexpoi
April 2nd 2010



599 Comments


im actually pretty interested... i wasn't fully turned off by the name cuz it sorta made me want to click on the review. but it is a pretty typical industrial name...either way, i'm totally gonna check this. Great review btw, short but sweet

bloc
April 2nd 2010



34649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I love when the actual artist posts here.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Willie
Moderator
April 2nd 2010



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's cool that they care enough to see what people think. Have you listened to this yet?

Digging: Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse - 20th Year Anniversary

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2010



8317 Comments


great review as always Trey. I don't know if I can get to this one though - I already have the new Deftones, La Raza, Arsis, and your reccomendation to check out so I'm pretty busy at the moment. Not sure I can give this a go, especially because my daily schedule is pretty full as of lately. Maybe in the more distant future, if I remember to

Willie
Moderator
April 2nd 2010



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh, don't worry about that… I'll remind you every day ;)

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2010



8317 Comments


an everyday shoutbox post? ;)

bloc
April 2nd 2010



34649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm about to, I have to convert these damn m4a's to mp3's.

Willie
Moderator
April 2nd 2010



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ Metalstyles: Damn right. Those things are hard to ignore. Actually, though, I'm not sure if this is your thing. It really is alt. rock with electronics… I wouldn't call it industrial.

@bloc: Your mp3 player can't play that file type?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2010



8317 Comments


well I loved S.C.I.E.N.C.E., so there is hope haha

bloc
April 2nd 2010



34649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Me? Hell, I love rock with electronics. It's just that I'm very picky with it.

Edit: Oh you're not talking to me..... : (

No, I'm listening on WMP on my computer. I tend to do that first, filter out the bad songs, and then load the good stuff on my ipod.

Willie
Moderator
April 2nd 2010



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd say that this is more along the lines of A Crow Left of the Murder (or whatever it's called), than S.C.I.E.N.C.E.

No, Bloc, I think you'd probably like this. What you're doing makes sense. The Mac has a preview option where you can just play the song without opening any programs, that's how I check out stuff before I add it to my itunes.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2010



8317 Comments


I'll leave this to the background atm. If there occurs a sudden drought of new releases I'll come back to this (if I remember to, obvs)

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2010



30859 Comments


I'm still undecided about this tbh. I do like it and I think after a few more listens it'll sink in more. But for now, i'll just say it's.....interesting.
The artwork for Placebo is a win though

Digging: Calyx and Teebee - FabricLive.76

Willie
Moderator
April 2nd 2010



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, the art for that song is definitely worth holding on to. I think I said this earlier but, this may take a bit to grow because of the vocal style -- there's no immediate hooks.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2010



30859 Comments


It isn't so much the vocals, more just no hooks in general

pizzamachine
April 2nd 2010



12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This isn't bad at all!

bloc
April 2nd 2010



34649 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Holy ass, this is pretty dang good. I love how sleazy it sounds and how there's the perfect equilibrium between rock and electronics.

Willie
Moderator
April 2nd 2010



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

ha ha, well I'm glad you didn't waste your time with the audio conversion.

SoakingRoyalRed
April 4th 2010



21 Comments


This is actually a pretty cool and original listen. Thought i dont get the comparisons to Incubus at ALL. Sounds nothing like incubus.........

Thanks for bringing this band to my attention WillieFisterBut, always nice to listen to something new and unexpected.

Willie
Moderator
April 4th 2010



15875 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

First of all, nice avatar and profile pic. Now that we got that out of the way, my comparison to Incubus is solely due to the style of riffs present on this and on Incubus -- mainly Crow Left of the Murder -- and the way the rhythm section works within those riffs.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy