Deftones Diamond Eyes
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
himynameisaaron
March 30th 2010


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still think "Saturday Night Wrist" is better (for now) and "Deftones" doesn't get the respect it deserves either. You didn't mention "Royal" though, which is one of their best songs to date. Album is amazing don't get me wrong.

Inveigh
March 30th 2010


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

""Deftones" doesn't get the respect it deserves either"

this.

""Royal" though, which is one of their best songs to date"

and this.

StrizzMatik
March 30th 2010


3188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah the outro of Royal is pretty cumworthy, but the chorus of Risk is where it's at.

himynameisaaron
March 30th 2010


45 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's just that "Royal" changes gears so many times. It's awesome. I'm still on the fence about
Butcher, Evil and "This Place is Death".

Apollo
March 30th 2010


10305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

this album is not better than White Pony. White Pony is a 5, this is a 4.5 at most. The songs are too repitive and the bass is seriously lacking variety. Deftones have always been and still are my favourite band but I think SNW was the peak for them.

StrizzMatik
March 30th 2010


3188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I would agree in that this isn't as good as White Pony, but it's the next best along with Saturday Night Wrist IMO

Apollo
March 30th 2010


10305 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That being said this album still rules and will probably be album of the year for me. Sextape kicks so much ass.

Slipping Away
March 30th 2010


1261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a Damn good review

Ghostechoes
March 30th 2010


1353 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gold Cobra will kill this.

Killtacular
March 30th 2010


1314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is good shit, but not quite a five.

BigHans
March 30th 2010


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The title track slays.

asaf
March 30th 2010


885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I agree that this is an exceptional release, but I never personally looked at the band to be split in two halves. I always thought when someone said "Oh, that new poison the well sounds like Deftones," I would correct them and say "No, this sounds like what deftones can often sound like." It's one band that certainly does know how to mold and has been able to successfully throughout the past twenty years and still retain the authenticity of their sound.

favorite track - This Place Is Death

HighandDriving
March 30th 2010


3288 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SNW is their Magnus Opus but this is pretty darn good, will prob bump to a 4.

SNW>White Pony>Diamond Eyes>Deftones>Around The Fur>Adrenaline.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2010


15981 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I have a hard time seeing this as better than White Pony, but it is certainly close

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

ianjulian
March 30th 2010


630 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love white pony

dcha
March 30th 2010


990 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

CMND/CTRL is a fvcking banger. Prince, 976-EVIL, and Beauty School are favorites. Though I feel as every song could be a favorite.

Inveigh
March 30th 2010


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah, pretty much every song on this owns, but Diamond Eyes, Royalty, Beauty School, I've Seen The Butcher and Sextape are my favorites right now. Yeah, I know, I just named like half the album.

Xenophanes
Emeritus
March 30th 2010


10594 Comments


Okay, I'll give it another listen...

Maes
March 30th 2010


78 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is best

deadinholywood
March 30th 2010


240 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love White Pony, since its release it has been in my top 5 favourite albums but I can see Diamond Eyes topping it. It's just such a complete album and it has a feel to it which I can't compare with anything else. Simply Stunning.

Awesome review btw!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy