Green Day Insomniac
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Med57
Moderator
September 22nd 2005


1001 Comments


Just in case anyone's wondering where some comments went, I deleted most of page 2, as they were talking about comments which had previously been deleted, as they'd been posted by accounts that had been hacked in some way. This album is OK...it was always going to be a comedown after Dookie, but I think they could have made it better really.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2005


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ok good best to just get rid of the whole thing

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2005


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review. This is my favorite album by Green Day as it's songs are alot angrier and sound more like punk then their other stuff.




^Thank you. And the mods are just doing their job. If you're doing a green day review and people start talking about Slipknot in it, then it should probably be deleted.

jazzparamore
February 15th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

panic song rules

jazzparamore
February 15th 2006


16 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

1st best song ever. panic song
2nd best song ever. no pride
3rd best song ever. geek stink breath
4th best song ever mariaThis Message Edited On 02.15.06

fisky009
February 15th 2006


813 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album, great review.

I listen to this every now and again and my favourite has to be 86.This Message Edited On 02.15.06

Storm In A Teacup
February 28th 2006


13167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not even taking into account that this was right after Dookie, it still is average.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2006


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review I wrote so long ago... September, for cryin out loud. Now hands down it is better than Nimrod.

Storm In A Teacup
March 4th 2006


13167 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I realized last night that Green Day songs are all pretty much lazy. I then wrote 7 songs on guitar that sounded like something off of this, and added a couple bass parts.

TurnTheOtherWay
March 22nd 2006


459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I used to love this album, but I stopped listening to it a while back. I recently picked it back up, and damn. Does Billie Joe play anything other than power chords on here? Don't get me wrong, I'm not some elitist that declares anything without a crazy, technical solo crap, but this is just mind-numbingly simple. Maybe it's because when I first got into Insomniac, power chords were about the extent I could play on guitar and didn't know any better.
I agree with Kripes. The guitar on this album could probably have been written in about 2 hours or something. That's just lazy.

thatguy84
March 22nd 2006


214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think 86 is about them getting kicked out of a bar in their hometown or something after Dookie, cause their old fans were pissed off at them

i heard that somewhere, i didnt know if its right or not, but it makes sense with the lyrics

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2006


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i disagree with the lazy statement flying around here. Regardless of the fact there's nothin but power chords on this, it's a catchy as hell album. If you want real lazyness, 1039 is the same song 19 times.

TurnTheOtherWay
March 23rd 2006


459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I actually like 1039. The songs varied a little bit more IMO. Billie Joe showed us he could shred, but for some reason never really did on their later albums. Well, I guess it's a matter of taste, because if I didn't already know the singles from Insomniac before purchasing, it would sound like the same song 14 times to me.
But yeah, this is really catchy, so I'll raise my rating a tad bit. Even though I feel this was rushed due to Dookie's success.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2006


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree it was, but it's my favorite Green Day album because it's the most punk.

TheAdventure
March 23rd 2006


6 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This cd along with all Greenday is shit!!

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2006


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love it when intellectuals come to sputnik.

ImTheFloor
March 23rd 2006


59 Comments


I used to own this album, although I don't know why.
It wasn't that great, technically and lyrically (but hey, I'm a Dylan fan), but it really wasn't that bad. Catchy songs on it. I liked Brain Stew/Jaded.

So sue me, I don't think Green Day are the scum of the music world. I can still admit that Billie Joe can play guitar technically well worth a damn, but he can still write a good pop song.

thelikelylad
April 2nd 2006


3 Comments


i dont know why people dont like this album, it's a bit like dookie, and everyone loved dookie.

dooboo
April 6th 2006


7 Comments


Amazing cd love the trcks like brat and No Pride and of course the instrumental The Panic Song.
Do buy

nag*with*a*gun
April 23rd 2006


420 Comments


brain stew is not a bad song at all, no,no,nooooooo

the live version is really good, from BIAB



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy