Radiohead OK Computer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
March 17th 2010



15461 Comments


While one person may wholeheartedly adore a band such as The Beatles there will be always be a handful who feel that they were a popular band because of their radio friendly hits and that their simplicity places them in the ranks of present day popular bands such as Nickleback who also enjoy mass popularity due to the fact that their music is simple and requires little thought.

Their simplicity isn't comparable to that of Nickelback's. They weren't appealing to a demographic of idiotic teens. Although that is a strong point- people will always disagree.

Now however I would like you to keep in mind that music is subjective

Music is more like a science to me, it can be analyzed and assessed and certain things are clearly made for mass production and commercialization... this is not one of those things.

basic guitar playing

And you then go on to say how much more interesting Coheed and Cambria are... a progressive rock band that recycles the same ideas, all the time.

It's a pretty good review, and I liked your concluding paragraph, however, I think you should give this more of a chance; I myself used to have this sitting at a 3. Also, do you like Bohemian Rhapsody?

thebhoy
Emeritus
March 17th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Just a few things:

"Choppy intertwining" is kind of a contradiction, and a rather vague statement. And Airbag isn't really power chords

Gyromania
March 17th 2010



15461 Comments


I think people are more inclined to dislike something if there's a lot of hype surrounding it; it makes the general consensus all the more difficult to understand

Kiran
Emeritus
March 17th 2010



6001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

same reason why there's hardly ever a middle ground as well. i've noticed that when people don't get what the big deal is, they tend to sensationalize an opinion that goes against the current because if it isn't brilliant it becomes swiftly underwhelmed into being awful.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

alachlahol
March 17th 2010



7477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this review makes me very mad

HighandDriving
March 17th 2010



3276 Comments


Opps I negged when I meant to pos, sory.

DeleriumTrigger
March 17th 2010



416 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol that's okay just go push pos

Gyromania
March 17th 2010



15461 Comments


And this most certainly isn't awful, or even average (although an average scoring would fit the context of this review a lot better). I don't like the vague descriptions of the songs, and things like The sluggish power chords present nothing special nor exciting, which are just bs

alachlahol
March 17th 2010



7477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

now that i think about it, i'm not convinced you actually dislike this. i require a more thorough and introspective dissertation when you get the chance

what you wrote seemed to be 90% mumbling

Gyromania
March 17th 2010



15461 Comments


haha^ ironic

heavykevlarsuit
March 17th 2010



151 Comments


didn't hyperboleking write a negative review of this shortly before he was banned the first time?

DeleriumTrigger
March 17th 2010



416 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

alright.

Serpento
March 17th 2010



2351 Comments


the magic of negative reviews is that you can say virtually nothing and still wreck an album, i love it

Lunarfall
March 17th 2010



3179 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not a 1.5, but this is still the most overrated album ever by far.

hulksmashedface
March 17th 2010



60 Comments


edgy

DeleriumTrigger
March 17th 2010



416 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I feel so cheesy when you say that lol.

NeutralThunder12
March 17th 2010



8742 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I myself am not a Radiohead fan, but understand their importance, and understand that they are still a fantastic band, just not my thing. Your argument was solid, the intro paragraph was intersting, comparing The Beatles to Nickelback, though the Beatles are definitely not as simple minded as people think (and I’m not a fan of them either), they are the most important band in history and their music is still relevant. But good arguments, and though I;m not a Radiohead fan, I still disagree. Won’t pos or neg.

DeleriumTrigger
March 17th 2010



416 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thank you. I tried to make my argument as interesting as possible while sticking with what I actually felt and I'm very happy with my review.

heavykevlarsuit
March 17th 2010



151 Comments


Posting negative reviews of highly-regarded albums? Check.

Posting positive reviews of lowly-regarded albums? Check.

Constant comments to own reviews? Check.

A general projection of delight at a nonexistent "edgyness"? Check.


I'm telling you. DeleriumTrigger is hyperboleking.



NOTINTHEFACE
March 17th 2010



1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To me your biggest problem seems to be that you are incapable of enjoying subtlety. Based on your ratings, it seems you get your kicks out of grand, spastic, high-energy music of the prog flavor. I'm in the same boat, but let me remind you that most people enjoy radiohead for their subtlety and nuances, not that killer riff or awesome chord change you'll find in CTTS or Coheed. There's more to music than sounding big, and most of your negative comments in the review seemed to amount to "not big=boring".

That said, this is actually a pretty good review, even though I disagree. Have you listened to Kid A? I didn't know what all the fuss about Radiohead was either until I did so myself. It's worth a shot because it's completely different.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy