Immolation Majesty and Decay
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
March 19th 2013


40572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Here he is again

McOshea
March 19th 2013


139 Comments


Never left dude

TheSpirit
March 19th 2013


18214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

New one will be 2.5 - 3 range YOU HEARD IT HERE FIRST

Digging: Beach Pneumatic - Beach Pneumatic

YUJOS
March 20th 2013


972 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why man?????????????????

Digging: Arcturus - Arcturian

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds nice and heavy.

Digging: Gay Kiss - Preservation Measures

evilford
March 20th 2013


25193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what I heard sounded way overproduced. but then again this is too, and it still rules

Digging: Znowhite - Act Of God

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013


19587 Comments


typical nuclear blast pro tools sound

yeah it probably wont be good

Digging: Mother Mallard's Portable Masterpiece Co. - Like a Duck to Water

Tyrael
March 20th 2013


20988 Comments


Hyp is probably the harshest metal critic ever

Hawks
March 20th 2013


36773 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It'll rule Hype come on.

Digging: An Autumn For Crippled Children - The Long Goodbye

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Immolation are so good production is probably the only thing Hype can fault them on. I'll admit the drums sounded a tad too loud but if it riffs (which it will) well... m/

KjSwantko
March 20th 2013


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nothing wrong with loud drums IMO. Manly.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013


19587 Comments


i mean i didnt dig providence at all but im hoping they prove me wrong and it turns out good

but when i listen to metal nowadays unless the album is just like 100% 5/5 riffs classic the production tends to make a big difference on whether i like an album or not

BigPleb
March 20th 2013


40572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New album is a 5 regardless

evilford
March 20th 2013


25193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there's a difference between powerful and loud tho. powerful drums rule and don't have to be loud, i.e. pete on Altars. that's how some immo mixing was in their early days. and loud is fine I think, but once it gets to a point, it just doesn't sound right.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Especially if they're Immolation drums, which are best drums.

KjSwantko
March 20th 2013


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

True, Ford. Personally I'm all about deep, cavernous-sounding drums.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"when i listen to metal nowadays unless the album is just like 100% 5/5 riffs classic the production tends to make a big difference on whether i like an album or not"



You're being too picky, tonnes of classic DM has poor production, it's the quality of the music that counts.

KjSwantko
March 20th 2013


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The quality on classic DM is awful but the mixing is far better than most of the metal today; nowadays its often too clean and compressed.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16328 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The thing about compression I agree with in the case of some bands. But I don't get the "too clean" thing. Unless it's a band like Portal or Krypts then DM bands sounding clear can only be a good thing in my books.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013


19587 Comments


its all about sounding organic. older dm bands might not sound good but at least it sounds organic, like it's actual musicians playing the instruments. this new modern pro tools sheen that coats most of the better known metal bands really does just ruin it for me

for comparison this is my favorite production on a DM album: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDkj8X_Npj0



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy