Immolation Majesty and Decay
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
March 19th 2013


18478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

New one will be 2.5 - 3 range YOU HEARD IT HERE FIRST

Digging: Fields of Mildew - Fields of Mildew

YUJOS
March 20th 2013


972 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Why man?????????????????

Digging: Halford - Crucible

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds nice and heavy.

evilford
March 20th 2013


26030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

what I heard sounded way overproduced. but then again this is too, and it still rules

Digging: Death - Symbolic

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013


19648 Comments


typical nuclear blast pro tools sound

yeah it probably wont be good

Digging: Robert Hood - Wire To Wire

Tyrael
March 20th 2013


20989 Comments


Hyp is probably the harshest metal critic ever

Hawks
March 20th 2013


37382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It'll rule Hype come on.

Digging: Cult of Luna - Somewhere Along the Highway

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Immolation are so good production is probably the only thing Hype can fault them on. I'll admit the drums sounded a tad too loud but if it riffs (which it will) well... m/

KjSwantko
March 20th 2013


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nothing wrong with loud drums IMO. Manly.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013


19648 Comments


i mean i didnt dig providence at all but im hoping they prove me wrong and it turns out good

but when i listen to metal nowadays unless the album is just like 100% 5/5 riffs classic the production tends to make a big difference on whether i like an album or not

BigPleb
March 20th 2013


41179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New album is a 5 regardless

evilford
March 20th 2013


26030 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

there's a difference between powerful and loud tho. powerful drums rule and don't have to be loud, i.e. pete on Altars. that's how some immo mixing was in their early days. and loud is fine I think, but once it gets to a point, it just doesn't sound right.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Especially if they're Immolation drums, which are best drums.

KjSwantko
March 20th 2013


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

True, Ford. Personally I'm all about deep, cavernous-sounding drums.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"when i listen to metal nowadays unless the album is just like 100% 5/5 riffs classic the production tends to make a big difference on whether i like an album or not"



You're being too picky, tonnes of classic DM has poor production, it's the quality of the music that counts.

KjSwantko
March 20th 2013


9449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The quality on classic DM is awful but the mixing is far better than most of the metal today; nowadays its often too clean and compressed.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16657 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The thing about compression I agree with in the case of some bands. But I don't get the "too clean" thing. Unless it's a band like Portal or Krypts then DM bands sounding clear can only be a good thing in my books.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013


19648 Comments


its all about sounding organic. older dm bands might not sound good but at least it sounds organic, like it's actual musicians playing the instruments. this new modern pro tools sheen that coats most of the better known metal bands really does just ruin it for me

for comparison this is my favorite production on a DM album: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDkj8X_Npj0

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
March 20th 2013


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mo' murky, mo' betta.

SpiritCrusher2
March 20th 2013


3820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the clear sound is ok until some point, especially for some technical dm bands, but most of the time the album doesn't sound as heavy and powerful as it could sound because of the too clear and polished sound. Suffocation is a good example: Effigy had really, really heavy and dense sound, on Pierced From Within they've found a perfect mix I'd say (pretty clear, yet brutal and heavy), while their new one sounds weak because it's overproduced.



I hope the new Immolation won't sound like that too, because I've heard it's going to be mastered by the same guy who's done the mastering on Pinnacle of Bedlam



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy