Alkaline Trio This Addiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

When you say "sick" TTTTT, is that a positive or a negative? Should they go to the doctor?

Well, I can't say I've been to Fratton Park. But I know getting a new stadium wasn't exactly a total positive for Southampton!

TimeToTurnTheTide
February 23rd 2010



208 Comments


sick good not sick bad!

I dont think it's groundbreaking or anything close but it's pretty enjoyable; I know I've been listening to it non-stop for the last few days. I think it's better than A&I and Crimson but not as good as FHTI or GM. But for me, as they are not one of my favourite bands I'm pretty please with it.

Yeah I'm a Hampshire native so I know all about the travails of the Saints. They're gonna be better off in a few years. Southampton just built their stadium at the wrong time, they were threating to go into decline for years

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I'd say the album is enjoyable... But I don't rate it up against their back catalogue.

I guess the thing that frustrates me about the saints is that they have made some great sales over the last 5 or so years, so the money "should" be there. I mean, not many English teams in even the Premier League have been able to make sales like the Walcott & Bale ones (let alone others like Kenwyne Jones, Crouchy, Delap, Beattie, Baird, etc, etc, etc...)

JimmyPopAli
February 25th 2010



144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm glad I downloaded this a month ago and let it grow on me, I appreciate it a lot more now than I did then.

Better than Agony and Irony.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 28th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Trust me Jimmy, I've also given it every chance to grow... & it did to some extent. But now that I've moved on, it does NOT demand me coming back to it. 'Agony & Irony' demands me more than this due to its highlight tracks at the beginning.

IsItLuck?
Emeritus
March 3rd 2010



4927 Comments


Album cover is ripping of Jacob Bannon's Give Up The Ghost cover:
http://www.jacobbannon.com/

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, it's hard to discount the striking similarities, but it's refreshing to hear the response that was given. Moving on is the way to go.

JimmyPopAli
March 22nd 2010



144 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Andriano makes this album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A strong argument can be made that Andriano has been Alk3's MVP from near the very beginning.

AtavanHalen
March 22nd 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Grah this is bad

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 22nd 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

2.5 suggests average. That's a fairer rating/comment considering there is some good on it.

Boogeyman
March 23rd 2010



22 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sad to have to give this group such a low score on any album. But even though this album had some staying songs ("This Addiction," "Lead Poisoning," "Dine, Dine My Darling"-- notice, they're the first three songs... I think) it got even less replay from me than "Agony & Irony."

I miss the good ole' days. I'm not one to down on progression, but this is just getting stagnant.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All fair comments boogeyman. "Stagnant" is a good word to use. As I mention in the review, you can tell what they were trying to do, but it didn't fully come off.

STDandALK3
March 24th 2010



15 Comments


I dont think this album is that bad. Then again alk3 could never put out a bad album.

Matt just went through a divorce so when putting that into play it kind of makes the album better. This is for sure a cd you have to listen to a few times before really feeling it.

I've been saying for a while now that Dan is the better vocalist and its real evident when listening to this cd. Yes, he has less songs, but every song he has is gold. Granted his songs are more happy now since he's happily married but they still just have that feeling and his vocals really help with that effect. No singer can sound like Dan and I think that's really the strong appeal in his portion of the songs.

Overall, this album does show some old school Trio sound. Is it God dammit? No. But for as long as these guys have been in the game this album has been one of their better ones in years.

Great songs: Dead On The Floor, Piss and Vinegar, The American Scream and every Dan song!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
March 24th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Definitely not a bad album (hence my summary comment & rating of 3=good) & definitely one you should let grow... But I still prefer their last few releases over this.

wah
April 19th 2010



2 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Gotta agree with some other people, its a grower. I was pretty disappointed when i first heard it, but after a while its not as bad as a 1 or 2. The problem is every previous album had catchy songs, which is what i like about them.

Davebou, your right, stagnant is the perfect word for them right now

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The tough thing for Alk3 is that they have amassed such an excellent back-catalog that most are gonna compare any new album to their favorite couple from the past.

AtavanHalen
April 19th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Or they could just die

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
April 19th 2010



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Or they could just keep touring & not release a new album until they have 11 quality tracks.

AtavanHalen
April 19th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Or everyone could come over to mine for a Hannah Montana marathon.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy