Alkaline Trio This Addiction
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Fugue
February 19th 2010



7352 Comments


Whereas you're more of a singles man eh?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

In general; Yes. I believe that sometimes people dislike singles just because they are singles. Or at least rate them harder anyway.

However, I will admit that Alkaline Trio has more hidden gems than most other bands. I mean, how some of those songs from their 2 compilation LPs didn't make their proper albums is rather amazing. In most cases, it wasn't song quality, but the fact that they would have been totally out of place with the themes of the albums.

Fugue
February 19th 2010



7352 Comments


I understand that, but by the same token a single shouldn't be given a nicer rating just because it was a single. Personally I usually love singles and find myself drawn to them more initially as they are usually the catchiest tracks. Look over any of my premature reviews and the recommended tracks will probably be all singles.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I definitely wasn't accusing you one way or the other Rosco. "people" does not equal you... Since we all know that you are not human. ;-)

In theory, it's only logical that singles should be the best tracks off of an album. I mean, why wouldn't a band/record label want to showcase the better songs? At times, they can be the most accessible or catchy, but they're also "usually" the best. Of course, there can always be genuine exceptions for one reason or another. One off the top of my head is Anberlin's '*Fin' (probably due to its length).

Fugue
February 19th 2010



7352 Comments


True, true. And we all know I'm too lazy to really be human. I've been sitting on a review for the past three days as I don't think its good enough, but at the same time I'm not sure I can improve it without rewriting whole paragraphs =/

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nah, if you're lazy, that means you are human!

Don't you just hate it when you may have to rewrite whole paragraphs! I actually thought I had to do it with this Alk3 review. Something was wrong with the review, but I initially couldn't put my finger on it. Eventually, I did. You see my final paragraph. 90% of that was initially the 2nd paragraph of this review!

Fugue
February 19th 2010



7352 Comments


Woah, yeah looking back on that it could definitely still be a second paragraph if you wanted it to be, still I think you made the right decision.

Blehh do you know when the new Enter Shikari is out by any chance?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There is a new Enter Shikari album? Wasn't 'Common Dreads' only released early last year? Or is it because I only just listened to it for the 1st time last month!

TheWayfarerElectric
February 19th 2010



154 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is the only Alkaline Trio album that I have, and I'm not excited to buy any others, despite listening to Warhead a couple of times.

AtavanHalen
February 19th 2010



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

HERE TONIGHT A CLOCK O'THOUSAND HEADS
So keen for Thursday!

londoncalling457
February 20th 2010



2594 Comments


I was gonna get this but now idk. I thought going to back to their Goddammit roots would turn out amazing but I guess not.

londoncalling457
February 20th 2010



2594 Comments


@wayfarer: get their debut "goddammit", it's amazing. maybe i'll catch fire has a few great tracks, from here to infirmary is great. all of their other releases are worth checking out too except for agony and irony which i really didn't like.

Jom
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2010



2634 Comments


This is the only Alkaline Trio album that I have, and I'm not excited to buy any others, despite listening to Warhead a couple of times.


You picked a bad album to get started on. It's obviously not your fault, but if you want to try to see if your opinion changes at all, go earlier in their discography. I personally prefer From Here to Infirmary but I think most people will pick Goddammit or Good Mourning.

londoncalling457
February 20th 2010



2594 Comments


yeah it's really not a good idea to start with this or their last release. crimson is a pretty solid record, but it's probably best to start with their first 4 albums. regardless, these guys are always solid live and hopefully i'll be able to see them next month.

Kiran
Emeritus
February 20th 2010



6000 Comments


I personally prefer From Here to Infirmary but I think most people will pick Goddammit or Good Mourning.

i never understood that. from here to infirmary is basically the culmination of their early greatness and, at least for me, far and away their best.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

TheWayfarerElectric, this would NOT be the place to start with Alkaline Trio.

DavID, I presume you will be seeing FNMOre at the festival then.

londoncalling, it's still worth a listen, if only for your curiosity. Unsure you will like it though.

Haha, put 10 people in a room, ask them what their favorite Alk3 album is & you'll get at least 5 different answers!

Fugue
February 20th 2010



7352 Comments


There is a new Enter Shikari album? Wasn't 'Common Dreads' only released early last year? Or is it because I only just listened to it for the 1st time last month!


It's a couple of new singles and then a whole load of B-sides and Common Dreads remix's. I can pretty much guarantee it will be awful, but hey I'd still like to review it. Can't find any leaks though so I'll have to wait till release date.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shhh, you're interrupting me from the Arsenal vs Sunderland game & I'm on a high after Everton 3 - Man Utd 1

Fugue
February 20th 2010



7352 Comments


Haha, will finish 2 - 1 to Arsenal. Will be excellent if Wolves keep Chelsea at bay too ;-)

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bennnnnnnnndtner!

The wannabee Crouchy scores!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy