Dan Mangan Nice, Nice, Very Nice
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

just picked this up on vinyl after seeing his amazing set at Rifflandia in Victoria (BC)

what a fucking legend. this is one of my strongest 4.5s too, might 5.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 19th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i can't get enough of Basket right now. I've always loved it but I'm appreciating it like I've never appreciated any piece of music before now. it's strange how strongly I feel about the song. honestly these might be my favourite lyrics ever (and the way he sings them oh man):

we are old and our son
took the dog away and fair enough
i guess we're tired all the time...
all the time...
and you know dogs they need ample time outside
so i'll stay but i'm telling you i don't --
i don't want to stay
so i'll brace myself against the wall and hope to god that i don't fall
my bones are worn my hip won't hold
i used to be so young how did i get so old?
won't you take this cane and hold my hand
you're holding on to all i have:
just a basket full of memories and i am losing more each day it seems
but if i can make it to the street i'll steal a car, or a bike, whatever there is to steal
and it might get cold i just don't care, i'm going till i'm getting there
i'll ride my steed all through this town
till i have looked and i have found...your peaceful memory
won't you return to me?
won't you return to me.....




Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you guys are all idiots fuck why will no one bump this thread with me?

gon 5 i think

AtavanHalen
September 30th 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

our little secret aids

Gyromania
October 1st 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

basket is amazing. whole album is, in fact.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gyro yessssssssssssss

Gyromania
October 1st 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

seriously, this album is just what i need right now.

"my bones are worn, my hip won't hold;
i used to be so young, how did i get so old?
won't you take my cane and hold my hand?
you're holding on to all i have -
just a basket full of memories, and i am losing more each day it seems."

such heartfelt writing.



Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah those lyrics have been hitting me hard this past month.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

and The Indie Queens are Waiting is so witty:

"bus down to the local record store/buy something to make you like me more"

Gyromania
October 2nd 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, so many good lyrics here. shame this isn't talked about more on sputnik.

AtavanHalen
October 2nd 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

who cares

as long as we know this rules

Kiran
Emeritus
October 2nd 2012



5992 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

get to see him play with an orchestra soon, so happy

Fleeba
October 4th 2012



36 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Saw him at Ottawa Folkfest this year and I'm going to see him with Rural Alberta Advantage in Kingston, On later this month. Dan is a god.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah I'm probably catching him with the RAA too. sick lineup, really pumped to see both acts.

Kiran -- a full orchestra? holy shit that would be other-worldly. I saw him with his regular band (standard rock band + violin, cello, and trumpet) and it was magical. The climax to Starts With Them, Ends With Us holy fucking shit

Gyromania
October 4th 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

digging his other album almost as much as this one atm. this guy can do no wrong i tall ya!

edit: oh fortune, i mean. i haven't heard his first lp, but i'll get to it soon. adrian tells me it's
purdy good.

SeaAnemone
October 4th 2012



18763 Comments


there was like a month where I listened to this 2x more than all the other music I listened to put together
delectable

SeaAnemone
October 4th 2012



18763 Comments


and oh fortune isn't very good

Gyromania
October 14th 2012



14647 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

blasphemy!

Waior
October 14th 2012



11420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh fortune is better than this but barely so keep that opinion, i do not like it

were do they go people want to know, some say heaveeeen some say meeeehiiiicooooo

oooooooooooooooohhhh

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012



23625 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i used to prefer Oh Fortune but this has beaten it out in the long run.

i seriously don't understand why people think Oh Fortune is significantly worse than this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy