Dan Mangan Nice, Nice, Very Nice
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2012



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

just picked this up on vinyl after seeing his amazing set at Rifflandia in Victoria (BC)

what a fucking legend. this is one of my strongest 4.5s too, might 5.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 19th 2012



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i can't get enough of Basket right now. I've always loved it but I'm appreciating it like I've never appreciated any piece of music before now. it's strange how strongly I feel about the song. honestly these might be my favourite lyrics ever (and the way he sings them oh man):

we are old and our son
took the dog away and fair enough
i guess we're tired all the time...
all the time...
and you know dogs they need ample time outside
so i'll stay but i'm telling you i don't --
i don't want to stay
so i'll brace myself against the wall and hope to god that i don't fall
my bones are worn my hip won't hold
i used to be so young how did i get so old?
won't you take this cane and hold my hand
you're holding on to all i have:
just a basket full of memories and i am losing more each day it seems
but if i can make it to the street i'll steal a car, or a bike, whatever there is to steal
and it might get cold i just don't care, i'm going till i'm getting there
i'll ride my steed all through this town
till i have looked and i have found...your peaceful memory
won't you return to me?
won't you return to me.....




Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2012



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you guys are all idiots fuck why will no one bump this thread with me?

gon 5 i think

AtavanHalen
September 30th 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

our little secret aids

Gyromania
October 1st 2012



15480 Comments


basket is amazing. whole album is, in fact.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gyro yessssssssssssss

Gyromania
October 1st 2012



15480 Comments


seriously, this album is just what i need right now.

"my bones are worn, my hip won't hold;
i used to be so young, how did i get so old?
won't you take my cane and hold my hand?
you're holding on to all i have -
just a basket full of memories, and i am losing more each day it seems."

such heartfelt writing.



Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah those lyrics have been hitting me hard this past month.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

and The Indie Queens are Waiting is so witty:

"bus down to the local record store/buy something to make you like me more"

Gyromania
October 2nd 2012



15480 Comments


yeah, so many good lyrics here. shame this isn't talked about more on sputnik.

AtavanHalen
October 2nd 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

who cares

as long as we know this rules

Kiran
Emeritus
October 2nd 2012



6001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

get to see him play with an orchestra soon, so happy

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

Fleeba
October 4th 2012



43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Saw him at Ottawa Folkfest this year and I'm going to see him with Rural Alberta Advantage in Kingston, On later this month. Dan is a god.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah I'm probably catching him with the RAA too. sick lineup, really pumped to see both acts.

Kiran -- a full orchestra? holy shit that would be other-worldly. I saw him with his regular band (standard rock band + violin, cello, and trumpet) and it was magical. The climax to Starts With Them, Ends With Us holy fucking shit

Gyromania
October 4th 2012



15480 Comments


digging his other album almost as much as this one atm. this guy can do no wrong i tall ya!

edit: oh fortune, i mean. i haven't heard his first lp, but i'll get to it soon. adrian tells me it's
purdy good.

SeaAnemone
October 4th 2012



19979 Comments


there was like a month where I listened to this 2x more than all the other music I listened to put together
delectable

Digging: Natural Snow Buildings - The Night Country

SeaAnemone
October 4th 2012



19979 Comments


and oh fortune isn't very good

Gyromania
October 14th 2012



15480 Comments


blasphemy!

Waior
October 14th 2012



11451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh fortune is better than this but barely so keep that opinion, i do not like it

were do they go people want to know, some say heaveeeen some say meeeehiiiicooooo

oooooooooooooooohhhh

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012



23804 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i used to prefer Oh Fortune but this has beaten it out in the long run.

i seriously don't understand why people think Oh Fortune is significantly worse than this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy