The Knife Tomorrow, In a Year
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2010



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

chambered89's

Digging: Alvvays - Alvvays

Enotron
February 8th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'd like to listen to this record high, as a verification test.

kkluver
February 9th 2010



8 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I honestly feel like the second CD is decent (Colouring of Pigeons is REALLY good). The first one is... testing to listen to.

Waior
February 9th 2010



11450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

maybe

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 9th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

because most of this album is insanely boring.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2010



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah but once you get over that you realize it's not!

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 9th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

hahaha

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2010



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i can understand the 3s honestly. i was going to give this a middling score after i heard it for the first time but i couldnt quite put my finger on why. as i listened more to do the review thats where it started clicking

Enotron
February 9th 2010



7695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's aimless ambience at its most intense.

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 9th 2010



4459 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

to be fair I haven't given this all that much listening time, I've been too busy with other stuff and albums I like more.

SilverGunnarHansen
February 10th 2010



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I was convinced this was a 3 at first, and listened only to my favourite tracks on the second half (Height of Summer, Colouring Of Pigeons, title track, Annie's Box Alt Vocal), but having got to love them so much I went back to the whole album and am very into it now. It hurts my ears for the first hour, but there's more form to it than I first though, and it's great to wrestle with the whole concept and lyrics along with the music. God knows what The Knife's next album proper will be like.

robin
Emeritus
February 10th 2010



4248 Comments


i have decided i need this.

Waior
February 10th 2010



11450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

i am genuinely interested on your thoughts on this!

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2010



15728 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bumped the review up to a 4.5

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2010



6092 Comments


First listen was mind-blowing. I cannot wait to completely gorge on every second of this.

plane
Staff Reviewer
February 11th 2010



6092 Comments


the whole album totally makes the headspace an amphitheater. the music is so fully realized that it's so easy to conjure up images and react to the music. this is what the knife have been leading up to their whole career. their music got better once they embraced mood and texture over song and melody, and the best part of fever ray was always the music videos and how it deepened the music, not to mention their infamous live show. silent shout felt like it was meant to be scoring images and felt a bit lost because it wasn't made with that intent, if that makes sense. it couldn't fit anywhere because there was never another medium for it to really fit. so tackling an opera and the stage just completely breaks all barriers. i think it is a true follow up to their previous albums in that they collaborate with other audiences to fully bring out the vision they can't manipulate on their own. i mean, the knife soundtrack! it makes so much sense.

Waior
February 11th 2010



11450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Samskeyti717: oh man lewis believes in tomorrow in a year
calebmcalpine: of course he does
Samskeyti717: cause it's good
calebmcalpine: yes. good.
calebmcalpine: 3/5
Samskeyti717: fuck you

these are my closing words on this album. thank you for your attention.

3/5

joshuatree
Emeritus
February 14th 2010



3743 Comments


this is pretty insane

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2010



15003 Comments


the knife more like the fork

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 14th 2010



15003 Comments


oh, so it didnt rapidly decline in quality in the last like hour :P



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy