Fear Factory Mechanize
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
machineflesh
January 31st 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy crap, I didn't see this coming. Whole album is exceptional.

The opening track, Mechanize, is phenomenal. One of the best industrial metal tracks I've ever heard. Fear Campaign - wow! Love the thrash metal riffage, and as for the vocals - holy fuck! The change up at the start of the 2nd verse kills it ("It is the most strategic tool...."). And then Final Exit, what a way to close the album.

Willie
Moderator
January 31st 2010


16054 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Archetype was very well done, more focus on atmosphere and less on the Dino impersonations, not to say they aren't there though. I fully agree with Transgression being a failure, a few good songs throughout the first half of the album I will admit.
Well, to be honest, that line about those two albums is half my opinion and half a generalization. It's my opinion that Archetype is simply decent, but on the other hand I don't see Transgression as a failure at all - I actually like it (except for the cover songs), but I know that I'm in the minority.
Paradise Lost? Really? I would never mention the two in the same sentence in a million years. Night and day I tell ya.
Ha ha, I could mention Delerium and Conjure One, as well. Those are both new age/Engima style bands with a bit more pop thrown in.
Funny how you said this is their best yet you have this rated the same as Obsolete?
Actually, I have this rated the same as Soul of a New Machine and Demanufacture. Obsolete is a 3.5 for me.

machineflesh
January 31st 2010


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yep, sad to say it but they lost my attention a while back. They got it now tho.

Wizard
January 31st 2010


19549 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, to be honest, that line about those two albums is half my opinion and half a generalization.

I hear you on that. With my reviews, I try to take my opinion and mix it with the general feel of what everyone else has to say about it. Makes it feel more credible.

Well that answers that Willie hahahaha. Great review once again and I can't fucking wait to hear this!

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Meatplow
January 31st 2010


5524 Comments


Checking this out later.

Jesuslaves
January 31st 2010


4658 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Christploitation and Final Exit are awesome.

BassDemon333
January 31st 2010


3412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Christploitation is incredible. One of my favorites on here.

Digging: Slipknot - .5: The Gray Chapter

a5thdiad
January 31st 2010


123 Comments


i got one of the dino-less albums a few years back, never could get into it...thank god i decided to give them a second try, this record is brutal! holgan rules.

jrowa001
February 1st 2010


8750 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

plan on listening to this soon. have always liked FF, but their last album was so bad.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
February 1st 2010


31398 Comments


Erase Transgression from your mind man, this is something else

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

Wish
February 1st 2010


262 Comments


This is seriously great. "Christploitation" is on another level.

asaf
February 1st 2010


888 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wait wait wait.... let me get this right. dino and burton are back without the other two guys? what a mess, they just keep hopping in and out of this band whenever it works for them?

Willie
Moderator
February 1st 2010


16054 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How do you figure? Dino was pretty much kicked out... from everything I've read he never really left on his own. On the other hand, Burton did leave and come back once. You can't count the second time because I wouldn't have wanted to sing on that Arkaea album either.

P.S. - This album works for them ;)

BassDemon333
February 1st 2010


3412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I hope this lineup stays the way it is for a while, I really could care less about Christian and Raymond at this point, this version of Fear Factory is incredible.

Dino said in an interview I read today that they arent going to be playing songs off of Archetype and Transgression at live shows because so many of those songs on those albums just contain recycled riffs that Dino wrote while he was in the band that Christian just stole and played in his own "style". Doesnt suprise me.

fromtheinside
February 1st 2010


18818 Comments


MECHANIZZZZZZZE

Digging: Psicosis - The Crippled Machine That Moves the World

BassDemon333
February 1st 2010


3412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The chorus on Industrial Discipline is fucking awesome

"Whatever soul was left has been erased...."

fromtheinside
February 1st 2010


18818 Comments


chorus for Designing the Enemy is better IMO, and that bridge is epic.

BassDemon333
February 1st 2010


3412 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah, Burton's vocals in that bridge are crushing

KILL
February 2nd 2010


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dino should play songs off archetype the fat bastard

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

Zion
February 2nd 2010


812 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is such a damn relief. I had almost given up on FF... this may not be anything monumental, but it's just plain kick ass.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy