Mumford and Sons Sigh No More
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

By the way, if anyone is wondering why I'm reviewing this months after its release, it is because it is going to be released in the U.S mid-February. It will be interesting to see how it goes over there in the good ol' U.S of A.

Douglas
January 29th 2010



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great review and all but your rating is definitely wayyyyyyyyyyyy to low

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


Ummm, I guess I glossed over the weaknesses a little too quickly.

It's all good, the writing is excellent as per usual and I'm glad to see that you enjoyed it. I'm just a bit more high on this than you, and it's for reasons I can't exactly explain because to be truthful I can easily see why people might not enjoy this or think it's somewhat mundane. I guess some albums just click with me more than others.

I look forward to reading your take on it, Michael.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Interesting analogy Croc. This isn't as good as 'Whatever People...' though. LOL at down-tuned banjos.

Agreed that their next album will be important Michael. Is there only 2 ways to go though? More poppier or more folkier?

Waior
January 29th 2010



11425 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha. I promise I had no-one in mind when I said that.


ouch my heart

Eclectic
January 29th 2010



3302 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh, they could do more, but those are the main doors.
If they find another one then my respect for them will increase exponentially.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Great review and all but your rating is definitely wayyyyyyyyyyyy to low" What would you know, you're probably on drugs & pi$$ed off because the dentist stole your money.

Fair call gyro. Sometimes it's difficult to explain why you like a certain album. I definitely don't think ths is mundane. If anything, I can see people disliking it because it strays too much for poppy accessibility.


Douglas
January 29th 2010



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

More poppier or more folkier?


Considering Little Lion Man is the only piece on the album with that sort of upbeat, poppy style, I reckon they can expand really far.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

LOL Caleb. You've settled down on that front thankfully.

"If they find another one then my respect for them will increase exponentially." I guess they could go The Decemberists route & record a concept album!

"Considering Little Lion Man is the only piece on the album with that sort of upbeat, poppy style" Actually, that's a fair comeback. While many of the other songs are extremely accessible, they are not exactly poppy. Hmmm, those drugs are doing you some good Douglas.

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


Crap, I can't find this online anymore : (

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really... That surprises me. And I say that honestly as that is NOT how I obtained the album myself. It's been out for a few months down under.

Douglas
January 29th 2010



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Gyro go to http://heyopenyourmouth.blogspot.com/
I posted it on there.

Haha, unfortunately for me drugs weren't used Davey, but my health cover let me not pay a dime. : )
I actually can't wait to see what these guys do next.

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


Thanks a lot Dougie. I too am excited to see what they come out with next; this is one of the strongest debuts I've ever heard.

Douglas
January 29th 2010



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Apparently they are playing new stuff live, which I am psyched about since I am seeing them tomorrow at laneway fest, as of ten minutes ago I got a ticked PUMPED. The xx are there also whoop.

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


Are The XX any good? A few friends told me to check them out, but I think their taste in music is awful, so I never looked into them. Also: These guys are fantastic live, enjoy the show bud.

Douglas
January 29th 2010



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah they are alright, though not amazing, but definitely solid. Yeah I have head live clips of Mumford and they sound awesome, can't wait.

Douglas
January 29th 2010



9061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is the lineup pretty swell: http://melbourne.lanewayfestival.com.au/artists/

Gyromania
January 29th 2010



15200 Comments


Good lineup; I really like Florence and the Machine.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 29th 2010



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"this is one of the strongest debuts I've ever heard." Huge comment right there. I mean, what about Craig David's 'Born To Do It'. LOL.

Douglas is dipping into his bag of contacts again to get a ticket to a sold out festival. And how can you mention laneway without saying the name Florence. Tisk tisk.

Kiran
Emeritus
January 29th 2010



6000 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

little lion man is one hell of a tune but i can't quite enjoy the rest of this as much

still good though

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy