In Mourning Monolith
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ponton
Emeritus
January 11th 2010


5803 Comments


the problem is IM came out with this stellar prog-death album that rivaled the overrated titans of the genre (even though opeth aren't prog death just sayin'). TSD showcased a ton of talent and promise of a band that could be amazing, and this album feels like they got stuck up with that spirit and didn't feel like taking it anywhere, just recycling the last album's ideas


This one sounds different to me though. In general, it's faster, the vocals are better, and the guitars players are much better. That's just what I'm hearing; it doesn't feel recycled to me.


Ulsufyring
January 11th 2010


1724 Comments


are much better player.

nice

the ideas from the last album are all there, they've just got some spit and shine on them

vocals are really a mixed bag, some of them are better, but a lot of them aren't

Ponton
Emeritus
January 11th 2010


5803 Comments


Ah, sorry about the typo. Fixed.

Nice to see some user ratings in, fair enough. Thanks for everyone's opinions guys; I can understand your points.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
January 11th 2010


7357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review, i gave this a 3.5 on first listen

Ponton
Emeritus
January 11th 2010


5803 Comments


Thank you.

Do you plan to give it any more listens?

JizzInMyPants
January 11th 2010


2371 Comments


god dam man the poet and the painter of souls :X

cvlts
January 11th 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Jared Ponton?

Ponton
Emeritus
January 11th 2010


5803 Comments


Yeah man, sorry to confuse. I changed it a few weeks back, but it's my real name. Gregory was just something I made up.

cvlts
January 11th 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol god i love the anonimity that pen names bring

oh yeah, good review as always. i dont think i'll like this though

cirq
January 11th 2010


9264 Comments


In Evening>In Mourning

Wizard
January 11th 2010


19493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It seems we may have a contender for 2010's metal album of the year.

Like I said in Crimson's review of Shrouded Divine, a little premature for this.

Really good review though. Not to sound like a penis or anything, but how long have you had this album? I've heard a song off this and it was kind of weak, indicating that this album does not sound like a 4.5. We will have to see when I give this a go tonight.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

HenchmanOfSanta
January 11th 2010


1878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Everything about this band screams gothic or death/doom, from the name to the album title to the Opeth comparisons (I know Opeth are straight prog metal but you get the idea). I'm listening to this stream and it's basically advanced Gothenburg that overstays its welcome sometimes.

Will probably be a 3.5.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

cvlts
January 11th 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh yeah, good review as always. i dont think i'll like this though


I retract that last statement, I'm sorry...

Ponton
Emeritus
January 11th 2010


5803 Comments


Oh It's alright man, did you listen to it or something and like it?

Not to sound like a penis or anything, but how long have you had this album?


That's certainly a fair question. I started listening to it when the band posted it very early this morning (Eastern, US). I gave it 5-6 listens and started typing while playing it again as I went along. I've been playing it off and on today, and my opinion sticks.

Also, I changed the summary since I think you are correct as the rest of the "big" albums haven't been released yet; it is a bit too soon for me to make a statement like that.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2010


16433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Decided on 3, a huge disappointment and we aren't even two weeks into 2010 yet =/

Digging: Swallowed - Lunarterial

Ponton
Emeritus
January 11th 2010


5803 Comments


Yeah, I changed the summary to something more rational. I'm sorry you were disappointed though man. I actually didn't think it would be as good as I find it to be.

cvlts
January 11th 2010


8967 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh It's alright man, did you listen to it or something and like it?


Yeah dude, I'm diggin it massive.
Reminds me of Children of Bodom with some Martriden, love it.

nychicano
January 11th 2010


310 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh man the first song is sick. G2g fap now.

Wizard
January 11th 2010


19493 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough Observer. You didn't have to change the summary, it was your call hahahaha. Really liking this alot. Sounds like a natural extension of Shrouded Divine.

HenchmanOfSanta
January 11th 2010


1878 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I cannot for the life of me fathom listening to even the greatest of albums 5-6 times in one day.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy