Fractal Gates Altered State Of Consciousness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
January 10th 2010



19335 Comments


released on June 12, 2009,

This is redundant and I would remove it.


Glad to have you back dude, haven't seen you around here for a while. Another quality review and I'm adding this band to my list. Unfortunately, I just went into the big city and picked up $200 worth of albums (including most of Godflesh's discography which you should be checking out since you love industrial hahahaha). This sounds good though.


Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

LG
January 10th 2010



3049 Comments


Well I'll take a look just because I fell in love with Dark Age. But I swear If it sucks, I'll neg you...wait can you neg after you've already pos'd?

lobby
January 10th 2010



1251 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i like this album, good review as well!!

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 11th 2010



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This is redundant and I would remove it.
agreed, reading it now, I haven't got the slightest idea why I added that in the first place. Like I said in my first post, I may be a bit rusty atm, although the general consensus seems to be telling another story haha.

Also thanks wiz-man. Yeah I was taking a small break plus I had a research going on that took most of my free time. I'm prolly back now as the new year is grinding into gear, and I want to keep tabs on new releases. Also, thanks for the rec, I haven't been in an industrial mood for a while (if to exclude Crossbreed, of course hahahahaha), but when I'm feeling like industrial, I'll be sure to check out Godflesh.

thank you lobby, and Lisbon, it is nothing like Dark Age. It's a bit catchy, but other than that, there are no big resemblances. Dark Age was straight up catchy melodeath with hooks and ephasis on "melodic". This on the other hand is, while also rather melodic, much more chaotic and spacey sounding. Also this is much deeper.

MFurey
January 13th 2010



2 Comments


What does it mean to execute a riff with skill?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 13th 2010



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

that the guitarist is good at performing a riff. If that was a serious question

LG
January 13th 2010



3049 Comments


It was definitely a serious question. So what will you do? hmmmm

MFurey
January 13th 2010



2 Comments


It was a serious question. Its something that a lot of reviewers write, but that doesn't say very much. A lot of guitarists can play a riff skillfully, and I don't recall somebody every saying 'the riff was played poorly' or anything reaching that. My question is do you mean that its a fairly complex riff and thus requires a lot of skill to play?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2010



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

In the context I have it in this review, with that line, I more of tried to state that the riffs are well-played out, that they sound good, but just are a bit repetitive.

On most occasions though, and you hit the nail on the head, it's meant to describe how a guitarist plays at least a semi-difficult riff very accurately and well; with skill.
Some reviewers just use that expression to say that the guitars are well played, too.

ShadowRemains
April 6th 2010



20534 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

...

Digging: Banks - Goddess

bloc
April 6th 2010



34774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No he doesn't!

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

bloc
April 6th 2010



34774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A couple of pirates on this site stole my original avatar....grrrr...

jingledeath
April 7th 2010



7104 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No he doesn't!

yes he does

Gmork89
September 21st 2010



5510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album might not break any new ground, but it's awesome.

bloc
September 21st 2010



34774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

As a whole it kinda gets boring after a while

Gmork89
September 21st 2010



5510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't listened through it very many times yet, I just like the atmoshphere and concept a lot.

Keyblade
September 26th 2012



14704 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool album m/

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

Apollo
January 14th 2013



10290 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't wait for the new one m/

tacos N stuff
January 14th 2013



352 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album wasnt bad by any means
just gets a little boring

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
January 15th 2013



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Agreed, Apollo, really want the new one to come out already.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy