Rainbow
Difficult to Cure


2.5
average

Review

by Matthijs van der Lee USER (219 Reviews)
December 22nd, 2009 | 28 replies | 10,211 views


Release Date: 1980 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I SURRENDER! I SURRENDER! (TO THE 80's)

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

Blackmore’s increasingly poppy direction with Rainbow did have its effects on the band’s most loyal and valuable members. After Dio left following the announcement that Blackmore was going to go for a commercial take on the music, it was now power drummer Cozy Powell who was fed up with things. Taking his leave, he has since provided percussion for a great many famous names, such as Michael Schenker (Scorpions, UFO), Whitesnake and Black Sabbath, until his death in 1998. But Blackmore kept true to his habits, and yet another member was fired. Because of his heroin addiction and drunken performances, Bonnet was a goner. The drummer and vocalist were replaced by Americans Joe Lynn Turner (later to sing for Yngwie Malmsteen and Deep Purple) and Bobby Rondinelli (who later continued in Blue Öyster Cult, Quiet Riot and Black Sabbath), respectively. What followed over a year later was Rainbow’s first release in the 80’s, Difficult to Cure. Ironically, now four out of the five musicians (all but Rondinelli) on the album would have played for Deep Purple at some point in their careers.

Compared to Bonnet’s cocky performance, Turner’s differs greatly. He is more restrained, but has a rather generic voice, meaning many other 80’s rock vocalists could have filled his shoes on Rainbow’s fifth without making much of a difference. That said, his effectively dramatic performances on I Surrender (a quite recognizable tune, especially the chorus) and Spotlight Kid carry the songs forward nicely, as do Blackmore’s skills on the guitar, which had far from waned in ’81. He even does a satisfying enough 3-minute instrumental in the exact middle of the album, the German-titled Vielleicht das Nachste Mal (which means Maybe Next Time, for the language noobs among us).

However, as nice as some fine tunes on Difficult to Cure may be, it suffers greatly from a common 80’s disease: the cheese. Where Down to Earth was so damn ‘I wanna make luuuuv to you’ cheesy it became funny, it’s follow-up takes things too seriously. With songs like No Release and Magic (‘cos it’s magic!/ can’t you see that it’s that you’ll find/ you know it’s magic!/I know who you are ‘cos there’s magic in you!’), it becomes rather hard not to wonder where on earth Blackmore & the boys are going.

The remainder of the album finds itself scrambled in another few generic-but-decent hard rock tracks (Can’t Happen Here, Freedom Fighter, Midtown Tunnel Vision) and a rather odd cover of Beethoven’s Ninth (well, part of it) in the closing title track, which just doesn’t make any sense, and is more a blasphemy on the composer’s final symphony than anything else. It leaves the listener of the album in a confused state. Difficult to Cure is simply too messed up to work, and while it may have some catchy and even convincing tunes, the virtuoso couldn’t save his next album from being average another time.

Difficult to Cure’s Rainbow was:
- Richard Hugh Blackmore ~ Lead Guitar
- Joseph Arthur Mark ‘Joe Lynn Turner’ Linquito ~ Vocals
- Roger David Glover ~ Bass Guitar
- Bobby Rondinelli ~ Drums
- Donald Airey ~ Keyboards


Essential listening:

I Surrender
Spotlight Kid




Recent reviews by this author
Genesis Calling All StationsGenesis We Can't Dance
Genesis Invisible TouchGenesis Genesis
Genesis AbacabGenesis Duke
user ratings (105)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
December 22nd 2009



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Here beginneth Rainbow's downfall.

LepreCon
December 22nd 2009



3562 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Review is dead-on accurate
You even chose my recommended tracks

Nagrarok
December 22nd 2009



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Why, thank you indeed.

MetalMassacreAttack
December 22nd 2009



424 Comments


I love you =)

BigHans
December 22nd 2009



26455 Comments


Wheres the awesome summary youve been using? haha. I've never heard of this album. That album cover screams "cheesy 80's."

Nagrarok
December 22nd 2009



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I originally planned for using only recognizable choruses for summaries for this discog, but I couldn't find one good enough for this album. Worry not, number six will be at it again. And yeah, the cover is very, very 80's.

Nagrarok
December 22nd 2009



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Ok, let's keep that tradition going. Summary changed.

EVedder27
December 22nd 2009



6088 Comments


Great work Nag, and I guess the 80's destroyed these guys too.

Nagrarok
December 22nd 2009



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Have yet to hear their last two albums, but their final album in the 90's promises to be better news.

You know I'm slowly beginning to take over the lyric-quoting habit of yours? Subconsciously, I guess.

EVedder27
December 22nd 2009



6088 Comments


haha it's not necessarily a bad thing. I think it helps explain what the song is about.

BigHans
December 22nd 2009



26455 Comments


Whenever you get to the album with Street of Dreams, I dont know which one it is, that should be your summary. Do You Rememmmmmmmmmber Meeeeeeeeee, on the street of Dreams. Classic cheesy metal.

Nagrarok
December 22nd 2009



8169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That's Bent Out of Shape. Actually finishing reviewing that right now, good suggestion for the summary considering the rating I'll give it.

Ire
December 23rd 2009



41746 Comments


Thanks for reviewing this.

Jarvig
September 27th 2011



168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

2.5 for album overall without Vielleicht Das Naechste Zeit.

But Vielleicht Das Naechste Zeit alone makes this a 3 rated album.

13themount
January 17th 2012



173 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

loathe JLT so not for me; he makes even the good songs annoying

MNb
March 2nd 2013



9 Comments


Just like 13themount I dislike JLT. What's worse, from this album on Blackmore adopts the cheesy production values so typical of the 80's. So from 1980 on I strongly recommend to avoid everything Blackmore did in the studio, including the reformed DP stuff.
Blackmore live is different though, but JLT doesn't satisfy on stage either. I have heard a bootleg from Cardiff 1983 or 1984 show; it's pathetic how he can't sing Stargazer and Long live Rock'n'roll. His voice would improve though. On a bootleg from Rotterdam 1991 (given or taken a year) he sounds decent. Still, if we compare with Rockpalast 1995, where Doogie White sings a couple of JLT songs it becomes clear again how underwhelming the latter is.
No vote as I don't want to sit through the entire album. If you think this adaptation of Beethoven's 9th worth a listening just compare with Still I'm Sad, version Munich 1977 and/or Difficult to Cure from DP's Live at Knebworth 1985.

deslad
October 27th 2013



327 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Quite mediocre album.

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

manosg
October 27th 2013



5666 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agreed, even though the lineup looked fairly promising.

Digging: Donovan - Sunshine Superman

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2013



15694 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

maybe next time is a pretty damn fine instrumental tho

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

manosg
October 27th 2013



5666 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh definitely. As is Weiss Heim that was wrongly left out from the previous album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy