OneRepublic Waking Up
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MrGlass
December 12th 2009


326 Comments


enjoying this album for what it is... some calm feel-good music. probably 3-worthy

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"enjoying this album for what it is... " Good way of going about things.

"some calm feel-good music" OneRepublic probably wouldn't want people to think that though... I think their aspirations are higher than that.

Tiberone
December 24th 2009


34 Comments


Nice review, I liked the intro.

Going all the way back to the beginning, I would have to say I think The Fray are discernibly better than this band, but that's just based on their debut albums. I don't know what it is about 'Dreaming Out Loud,' but for some reason it just never really caught on with me, despite the fact that I enjoyed pretty much every song (and absolutely loved the closer). I thought 'How To Save A Life,' on the other hand, had some really, really great stuff on it- "Vienna" and "Heaven Forbid" are excellent, and even just the intro to "Hundred" is wonderful. Again I haven't heard either band's second album, though, so if OneRepublic has really made some progress and The Fray just kind of spat out the same thing again, I could see leaning towards this one.

On the other hand, their styles aren't even really that similar; I feel like The Fray is more focused and toned down, whereas OneRepublic kind of branches out and broadens their sound. Again, though, that's all based on the first CDs only, I'll have to check out the new ones eventually.

Anyway, cheers!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks tflynn... OneRepublic & The Fray are inevitably going to be compared due to basically being in the same genre, but as you concluded & I agree with, The Fray tend to play it a lot more safer, where-as OneRep tend to explore a few different sounds.

Lakes.
December 29th 2009


27760 Comments


Hate to say it Davey but it seems like you do rate everything a 3 or 3.5
Nice review anyway, never liked these guys

Digging: Arthur Russell - World of Echo

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Nice review..." Thanks

"Hate to say it Davey but it seems like you do rate everything a 3 or 3.5" I'll take that... Because it's true. Well, not everything, but I know what you mean. When you think about it, shouldn't they be the 2 most popular ratings. I mean, I'd almost say that in theory, every album should earn a pass mark if it's going to be recorded & released. On the other end of the spectrum, only a handful of albums released each year are likely to be really really excellent.

caprio4us
November 30th 2010


182 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've been listening to "Good life" all day non-stop

random
June 19th 2011


2262 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

All of their songs sound the same.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
June 19th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But some are fast & some are slow.

Fortheloveofmusic
August 13th 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is honestly one of my favorite pop albums

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Care to elaborate...

Fortheloveofmusic
August 13th 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There are parts where it seems forced, like Fear, where it seems like they just used strings for the sake of trying to sound epic. And parts are boring, especially the closer, Lullaby. But some of the songs like Marchin On, All the Right Moves, and the title track are just pop perfection in my opinion. They utilize catchy beats and sing-along choruses, but they actually have meaning and don't sound manufactured like so much other modern pop. And besides Fear and Lullaby, I don't think there are any filler-tracks on here, which is really hard to find on pop albums. And I don't even necessarilly think Lullaby and Fear are filler, because at certain times, they can become my some of my favorite songs on here. And finally, it seems like they're progressing, because there are large differences between their debut and this.

Does that make any sense?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah... & I know where you're coming from, especially in terms of progression... Hence why I still rated it a 3. But I just think they do sound a little too manufactured on too many occasions. The title track is a good example... I like it, but man does it sound like they had a read of U2's playbook before recording it.

Lakes.
August 14th 2011


27760 Comments


I can't get into U2

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 15th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All eras?

Fortheloveofmusic
August 21st 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Davey, I get what you mean about the whole U2. And I love U2, so that might be part of the reason =P I'm also dig alot of Adult Contemporary music, and I'm not exactly sure why, so that probably factors into why I like this so much

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, that's all a fair call. I'm actually listening to The Cab's new album right now & I think you'll like that. It's probably not as mature as this, but I might just like it a little better. Although, that album does not sound like U2... More like Maroon 5, if you don't mind them.

Fortheloveofmusic
August 28th 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup, I love Maroon 5, all part of my Adult Contemporary love. Are you planning on reviewing The Cab's new album?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep, I'm writing it as I type this... Although I probably won't post it until I sleep on it & give it another few listens... So stay tuned.

Fortheloveofmusic
August 28th 2011


491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

OK, I'll definitley check for it. I might give it a spin if it sounds like something I'd like



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy