OneRepublic Waking Up
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Writer
November 18th 2009



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah. I'm actually surprised that the critics didn't destroy this. So far it has gotten pretty good reviews.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2009



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Also it's a bit dated but I realised The Script's album is actually pretty good."

Stay tuned for a little bit more of The Script from me... Sort of...

I have just had a look at a few other reviews Writer. They seem to roughly agree with what I have had to say, which is always pleasing, if not necessary. I sometimes wonder if others expectations are low though & that's why they go with a 3 out of 5 rating. That's definitely not the case with me, yet I couldn't go any higher than a 3 here.

Writer
November 18th 2009



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess a three would have been my initial rating, but to my surprise, it actually grew on me despite the fact that many of the hooks to be found here come with just one listen.

Yeah, critical expectations (and particularily those from this site) are pretty low so they may be more hesistant about rating it higher. So far the lead single hasn't made much of a splash unfortunately; however, it does seem to be moving up the charts gradually with time.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 18th 2009



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, bit surprised that the lead single is struggling. It seems catchy enough to me. Maybe it's suffering by comparison to 'Apologize'.

Writer
November 19th 2009



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's definitely a factor. Its a good attempt though.

You mentioned that this band seems like it might release something really great in the future, and I get that vibe too. Ryan Tedder is an extremely versatile guy; if he keeps writing the hits for those other artists then I bet these guys are bound to get stronger with each release. I guess only time will tell.

I must say I really enjoy the first half of "Missing Persons 1 & 2". I wish the band had opted to leave the instrumental interlude out.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2009



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think they definitely have the ability to release something really great in the future. That doesn't mean they will, but the potential is there. Look at Coldplay. I personally loved 'A Rush of Blood...', but many just thought it ok & thought it was well & truly surpassed by their 4th LP 'Viva La Vida'. It may take OneRepublic 4 albums before they find their sweet spot too.

I still don't know what to make of 'Missing Persons 1 & 2'. It has some flashes of brilliance but I don't think it works as a whole... & not just because of the interlude (although it probably doesn't help).

Writer
November 19th 2009



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I see your point on the Coldplay thing. I enjoy parts of Viva La Vida, but I have to say that A Rush of Blood to the Head is better overall.

Back to the topic, I just think it would have made a great song if the band had played it out fully with another verse and chorus or two. I gave this another listen this morning, and I have to say that "Lullaby" has kinda grown on me. At first it sounded like filler, but there is more life there.

Knott-
Emeritus
November 19th 2009



10195 Comments


When AROBTTH came out, people paid attention. Clocks is one of the defining pop songs of the decade. The Scientist and In My Place were all over the radio.

Even if you take One Republic's debut, comparing them to Coldplay is silly. Coldplay are the world's biggest band, arguably behind U2, but I think we can all agree they're pretty irrelevant by now, lol.

I'll mail you a tenner if One Republic ever write a record that surpasses Viva La Vida, Davey. Never. Gonna. Happen.

Writer
November 19th 2009



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I guess we were drawing a correlation that might happen in the future rather than comparing the bands per se. Though I agree that any of Coldplay's releases will be hard to surpass.

Knott-
Emeritus
November 19th 2009



10195 Comments


But I just mean... Coldplay's progression as a band relies heavily on the effect that their second record had on their popularity. Lazy but still well-received 3rd record and a lot of self-reflection later they decide they can't keep making the same album and like Martin always said, they had 'gotten as big as [we] could, [we] had to start getting better.' It all stems from that initial boom that happened with Yellow and carried through into AROBTTH, and the world was watching. The world is not watching One Republic.

S'all I'm sayin'.

Writer
November 19th 2009



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That makes a lot of sense, and I definitely agree. If anything, the reaction to this album's lead single proves what you just said. Its a great song that should really be doing well, but no one seems to care.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2009



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I definitely agree with your logic there Adam & OneRep are definitely behind the 8 ball in comparison after 2 albums. But I doubt Coldplay would be considered by anyone to be the "Worlds biggest band" had VLV not been the icing on the cake.

My comparison was based more on the little hints here & there that OneRep want to make pop-rock music that is NOT straight-forward. Putting it all together is a totally different matter, so I'm not expecting that tenner. LOL. But I do think the potential is there.

Maybe the lead single of this LP not doing so well on the charts will be OneRep's 'X&Y' moment. I expect tedder to come out any day now & say "we have to start getting better".

Writer
November 19th 2009



136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I actually saw this week's new billboard charts, and apparently it moved up twenty places from like 70 something to around 50. Who knows? Maybe its just one of those slow risers.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2009



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I guess it depends on how much radio airplay its getting. I wouldn't know since the last time I listened to a radio was 1942. Had to make sure the planes over-head were friendly.

Fugue
November 19th 2009



7353 Comments



Stay tuned for a little bit more of The Script from me... Sort of...


Really? I thought they only had the one release...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2009



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They do, but...

... be patient for my next review.

Fugue
November 19th 2009



7353 Comments


Ughh okay, you always leave me hanging.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2009



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, but at least I only leave you hanging a few hours or a day. As opposed to...

Fugue
November 19th 2009



7353 Comments


Harsh man, harsh. Also I see you 5'd the new Emery, I'm guessing its your aoty (though you should listen to Mono).

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2009



20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry Rosco, I couldn't resist that one.

Yeah, I had Emery at a 4.5 for the majority of the year, with an intention to go back to it a few times at a later date. That was last week & I just couldn't stop listening to it. It was one of the reasons why I was a little quiet here last week.

I know, I know; Mono, Animal Collective, Raekwon, Short Stack... The list just won't end.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy