My Dying Bride Bring Me Victory
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
CrazyFool84
November 14th 2009



1080 Comments


Willie officially has the sweetest avatar on sputnik. Nice review, this generally sums up the feelings I've had for this band since I discovered them. Definitely some good stuff along the road, but far too inconsistent

chaos17
November 14th 2009



296 Comments


I enjoyed the EP personally (although I am/was a bit of a fan boy). I think Scarbrough Fair is actually a pretty good cover, but "Failure" sounds way to awkward to work. That saddened me as Swans is one of my favorite bands, and seeing my other favorite band not do them justice was abit disheartning.

Wizard
November 15th 2009



19343 Comments


I never see you dish out low ratings Willie hahaha. Nice review but I can see you probably spent under a 1/2 hour writing this up hahahaha and why should you spend more time when the album isn't worth discussing much anyways ; ). This band is a consistent bore in my life. I don't understand how Turn Loose The Swans is considered a classic.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Willie
Moderator
November 15th 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I enjoyed the EP personally (although I am/was a bit of a fan boy). I think Scarbrough Fair is actually a pretty good cover, but "Failure" sounds way to awkward to work.
If you've heard the other (better) versions of that song than you'd probably think that this version is a let down... and, yeah, The Swans cover is bad.
I never see you dish out low ratings Willie hahaha. Nice review but I can see you probably spent under a 1/2 hour writing this up hahahaha and why should you spend more time when the album isn't worth discussing much anyways ; ). This band is a consistent bore in my life. I don't understand how Turn Loose The Swans is considered a classic.
Ha ha, I give low ratings but I generally only review bands I really like, so the ratings for reviews are generally high, but if a band I like does something bad I'm not afraid to say so.

I spent 15 minutes on it ;) It's a bad EP, there's only four songs and it wasn't going to be featured so why spend a ton of time on it? (Not that I'm complaining. I wouldn't want this featured).

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

Wizard
November 15th 2009



19343 Comments


15 minutes? hahahaha

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2009



16315 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This band is going downhill fast.

Wizard
November 15th 2009



19343 Comments


They weren't at the bottom already?

Willie
Moderator
November 16th 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Ha ha, no they weren't at the bottom, but if a full album came out that was as bad as this EP I'd say they hit bottom. Besides, they hit bottom once before (33.whatever% Complete) and they bounced back.

devouredbymetal
November 24th 2009



516 Comments


is this that bad ?? ... i really liked their Light at the End of the World . cant say i liked all of their previous . but they have some amazing tracks .

XulOnerom
November 24th 2009



1818 Comments


(33.whatever% Complete)


I like that one! "Heroin Chick" is a very awkward song, but "The Stance Of Evander Sinque" and "Dar Uberlende" are fantastic

Set
November 24th 2009



19 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you guys are exaggerating.

oalston
November 27th 2009



91 Comments


I haven't heard this but Bring Me Victory is an excellent song and it's my favourite off For Lies I Sire.

silkforcalde
December 11th 2009



404 Comments


For Lies I Sire was absolutely 100% incredible. Haven't heard this EP but I'll definitely give it a shot. For what it's worth, MDB hasn't had a bad album since The Light at the End of the World in '99.

Edit: Turn Loose the Swans isn't just a classic, it's one of the 10 best metal albums of all time. It's goddamned perfect and is the album that made me realize that metal isn't all idiot redneck crap like Pantera and Metallica.

Edit x2: 34.788% Complete is one of their best albums, it's impeccable. Absolutely flawless.

Willie
Moderator
December 11th 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I haven't heard this but Bring Me Victory is an excellent song and it's my favourite off For Lies I Sire.
It's probably my least favorite song on the album.
For what it's worth, MDB hasn't had a bad album since The Light at the End of the World in '99.
"The Light at the End of the World" is an awesome album. It was their return to form.
Turn Loose the Swans isn't just a classic, it's one of the 10 best metal albums of all time.
I don't know about that, but it's definitely up there.
34.788% Complete is one of their best albums, it's impeccable. Absolutely flawless.
It's an embarassment to the discography.


Crysis
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2009



16315 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah 34.788% is an abysmal album.

owsla
December 13th 2009



1 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I enjoyed their last album, but this EP was pretty lackluster for me.

thugangel123
December 15th 2009



37 Comments


why so much hate for mdb? here? The genre clearly isn't for everyone, though I do agree this EP was mediocre at best but for lies I sire got mostly negative reviews even though it was a solid album.

Willie
Moderator
December 15th 2009



15914 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

There's so much hate because For Lies I Sire was such a step down from the last few releases... with the addition of a violinist it should have been a huge step up.

hybridstigmata
December 17th 2009



169 Comments


The last full length cd was very boring and uninspired. I really hope they get their shit together cause everything before for lies i sire is great.

thugangel123
December 26th 2009



37 Comments


I am a die hard mdb fan and I enjyoed for lies I sire and a line of deahtless king(which was a bit better though). Maybe people are expecting too much of a funeral/doom metal band :s.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy