The National Alligator
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Artuma
April 29th 2013


16034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah sure this is a The National album but they are at their best when they are at their most original imo. i have to disagree with you that i actually like HV more, i think it is more consistent and balanced than Boxer

Digging: Taake - Stridens hus

NightProwler
April 29th 2013


6608 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Tracks like "Looking for Atronauts", "Daughters of the Soho Riot" and "Val Jester" has the afforementioned atmosphere, whereas "Abel" and "Mr. November" has a post-punk feel to them. And also, the lyrics found on tracks such as "Karen" and "All the Wine" just rocks. And I haven't even mentioned my fav which is "Secret Meeting", where the shouting vocals at the end just harmonizes so well with Matt's voice

Digging: The Hotelier - It Never Goes Out

NightProwler
April 29th 2013


6608 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

But each to his own

Artuma
April 29th 2013


16034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my favorite song from this album is daughters of the soho riots by far, for the reason you mentioned and i think it balances it the best of the songs on this album, one of my all-time favorite songs by this band

Artuma
April 29th 2013


16034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but yup, opinions are opinions

NightProwler
April 29th 2013


6608 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think that's where we have our disagreement; I like the rocking parts more (still loving the other parts - I think both HV and Boxer are amazing albums). But I could see their new album combining this perfectly!

Artuma
April 29th 2013


16034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, i think we can both agree that the new album is gonna rule hard :D

NightProwler
April 29th 2013


6608 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Definitely!

ABjordanMM
April 29th 2013


1453 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is their best album.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
April 29th 2013


20158 Comments


guess i should listen to this band eh?

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

ABjordanMM
April 29th 2013


1453 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of my favorties dude. But keep in mind, their albums are growers more than anything.

ABjordanMM
April 30th 2013


1453 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

give em a chance?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2013


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What are their bonus tracks like? They have quite a few

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2013


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah

And you didn't answer

So I posted it again

NightProwler
April 30th 2013


6608 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

No.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 30th 2013


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cool

ABjordanMM
April 30th 2013


1453 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah those two he mentioned are good, but I'm glad they didn't put them on the album.

barcafan21
April 30th 2013


1925 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

team alligator congregation woohoo

KeithStone582
April 30th 2013


1481 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

good.....good....

barcafan21
April 30th 2013


1925 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i've had boxer 5'd for a while

i think runaway keeps hv from being a 5, that and tracks 4-6 arent spectacular either, like they're great and all but meh idk the last three tracks are consistently mindblowing though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy