The National Alligator
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theBoneyKing
September 13th 2017


11604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Where you see bad or cloying I see charming and naive.

Digging: The National - Sleep Well Beast

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2017


14909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Astronauts' I actually find difficult to listen to now, and it's track 4.



'Abel' as well seems very grabby. I don't see how it's much better that 'Turtleneck'...in fact it might be worse.



'Baby' and 'Friend' are sub par and back to back...imagine either on my beautiful 'Boxer'. Brings me close to tears the idea of tarnishing that album with such averageness.



Still, 'Soho' and 'VJ' are solid weepies, 'Secret-Karen-Lit Up' is a good opening trio of mid-pacers, and 'Geese' and 'Mr.N' arrive late to save the day.



Album is a solid point behind all that followed, no one will change my mind on that.

Digging: Micah P. Hinson - Micah P. Hinson Presents The Holy Strangers

Asdfp277
September 13th 2017


15102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this is better than boxer

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2017


14909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Boxer ranked/rated:



1. Slow Show [5]

2. Brainy [5]

3. Fake Empire [5]

4. Green Gloves [5]

5. Ada [5]

6. Mistaken for Strangers [4.5]

7. Start a War [4.5]

8. Apartment Story [4.5]

9. Squalor Victoria [4]

10. Racing Pro [4]

11. Gospel [4]

12. Guest Room [3.5]



Almost impossible to fault. It has five songs better than anything on 'Alligator' for a start :/

claygurnz
September 13th 2017


4374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If Boxer is so much better than this I'm in for a hell of a time

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2017


14909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They broke through to the next level on 'Boxer', 'Alligator' caused barely a ripple of interest in 2005 but the next album changed all that. This one was overlooked and underrated at the time so I'm glad 'Alligator' found its audience eventually though.



'Boxer' is one of the most consistent albums you could hope to find imo.

claygurnz
September 13th 2017


4374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, why the general dislike for Astronauts around here? Its a banger for me.

BigHans
September 13th 2017


28386 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Boxer has 3 songs I don't care for, this has 2. Boxer has more pantheon level songs than this, but not my much. The middle grade songs are equal. So I guess it comes down to whether I like All the Wine and Mr November more than Start a Warm, Slow Show, and APartment Story.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2017


14909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Clay, the dislike is probably just me. I'm stuck in a liking 50% of the song and strongly disliking 50% of the song. It's a thing that happens again and again on this album - I like 'parts of songs' not whole songs.



Never a problem much after this album.

FreddieDelaney31
September 13th 2017


3260 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Every song on Boxer and HV is a 5. Not quite for this and TWFM, but pretty close. It'll never happen with SWB because of Turtleneck

Digging: Rostam - Half-Light

BigHans
September 13th 2017


28386 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm not a fan of Sorrow, Little Faith, and especially Anyones Ghost, but the rest of High Violet is basically 10/5, especially England and Bloodbuzz

theBoneyKing
September 13th 2017


11604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Astronauts was the first song I loved off this, one of the first National songs I really fell for actually along with Anyone's Ghost.

trackbytrackreviews
September 13th 2017


3312 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fake Empire is the best song they've ever written agreed

BigHans
September 13th 2017


28386 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Id have to go All the Wine, Mr November, Apartment Story, England, and Slow Show at gunpoint.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2017


14909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'I'm not a fan of Sorrow'



Joint favourite National song right there : (

BigHans
September 13th 2017


28386 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Maybe I should listen to it like 35 times and I probably think its a 5

FreddieDelaney31
September 13th 2017


3260 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Damn Little Faith is my 2ND favorite off of HV

TheMrAlexK
September 13th 2017


8350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Bumped up my rating

ShadowRemains
September 13th 2017


24737 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'm like the guy who goes GEESE around here so GEESE

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2017


39141 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the lyrics on here are bad?? yeah you're right doof they're no "she's a griever/my believer/it's not a fever/it's a freezer" lmao how can Alligator Matt possibly compare

Digging: Soundtrack (Television) - BoJack Horseman



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy