Between the Buried and Me The Great Misdirect
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
maqwep
October 26th 2009


1046 Comments


Yeah there are some parts where I go "wow this could be really cool if they hadn't ruined it by doing ___," the ___ being any number of possibilities.

Bfhurricane
October 26th 2009


6197 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great review. I completely agree with your argument that this album involves less awkward transitions, that was what I noticed to be the defining aspect of this album compared to their previous releases.

Thor
October 26th 2009


10201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Gonna have to say that Alaska is their worst album overall, though it still has some of the band's absolute best songs.

Motiv3
October 26th 2009


8939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

great review cocaine.

johnnyblaze
October 26th 2009


2615 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I basically agree with everything. Nice review.
Swim to the moon needs a hell of a shave.

HenchmanOfSanta
October 26th 2009


1884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Alaska is their best album, imo. And I hate most -core.

This is the angriest-sounding 4.0 review I've ever read. How many "fucking stupid"s or "fucking sucks" do you need?

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

Thor
October 26th 2009


10201 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

If it lost that five or so minutes of mindless jamming it would probably be a great song.

maqwep
October 26th 2009


1046 Comments


Silent Circus>S/t>i dont care

Gnominator
October 26th 2009


41 Comments


The Great Miss

Wizard
October 26th 2009


19550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Problem is, Colors was actually kind of a mess. Most of the songs were too long, they featured awkward, sloppy (or sometimes nonexistent) transitions.

Boom!

Really well done review, even though it reads like 3-3.5. Looking forward to getting this tomorrow.

Digging: Nero Di Marte - Derivae

CrimsonChin
October 26th 2009


116 Comments


what are your dislikes with Alaska?

endlessartix
October 26th 2009


275 Comments


I only heard one song off of Colors ("Prequel to the Sequel") and it was kinda boring tbh. Not checking this out most likely.

Tyler
Emeritus
October 26th 2009


7926 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alaska is not good as an album from front to back. Even many of its songs suck as a whole.

And its weird that you guys think this reads angrily or like a 3-3.5...I thought it read actually higher than what I rated it. I don't know why it has so many f-bombs just like I dont know why its so long.

Shit just happens that way sometimes. Most of this was written pretty stream of consciousness style.

fireaboveicebelow
October 26th 2009


6837 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

crotchduster is better at melding genres than btbam, except btbam try

Wizard
October 26th 2009


19550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'Fuck' is perfectly acceptable when its describing metal hahaha. And my reasoning for this sounding like a 3-3.5 is because of the big paragraph describing the 18 minute song that should have been 10 minutes shorter.

Si1v3RfaNg
October 26th 2009


817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Excellent review Tyler... really explained the album well. And while I don't agree with you on SttM... it was still a good argument. I kind of feel like the jam sessions in SttM does have a purpose... which is simply just provide yet another fun section to the album, but the beginning of the song was a little boring at times... but not so boring that I stopped listening.

sexualsoybean
October 26th 2009


911 Comments


hated alaska, loved colors, gonna listen to this now

Skyler
October 26th 2009


1084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good album, good review.

killrobotmusic
October 26th 2009


670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Every other BTBAM record > Silent Circus.

But I agree otherwise. Swim to the Moon is a poor ender that will maybe excite 12-year old guitar nerds, but that is prog-wankery territory that no one besides Dream Theater should ever go down (and it's not like anyone's following them down that road either). I also agree that Disease, Injury, Madness is one hell of a track.

The beginning of Fossil Mountain actually reminds me of The Oracles on the Delphi Express by The Dear Hunter.

Yazz_Flute
October 26th 2009


18819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Swim To the Moon is my favorite, probably my favorite BTBAM song ever even. I understand that the whole instrumental section does little more than any drawn out Dream Theater jam-session, but damn is it enjoyable. Swim to the Moon actually feels much shorter than 18 minutes to me...more around 10 minutes. The two middle tracks both feel longer in my opinion.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy