Paloma Faith Do You Want the Truth or Something Beautiful?
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're welcome. I love the song called 'Heart'.

OllieS
October 30th 2009


2049 Comments


The title of this makes me think of Blanche DuBois from 'A Streetcar Named Desire'.

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I'd agree with that Ollie. And to a certain extent, I'm sure it's intentional... There is definitely both a throwback & charismatic extrovert about Paloma. And remember what I sated in the reveiw; she also acts. I haven't seen 'The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus' yet though.

Elementary
October 30th 2009


26 Comments


So I gave this another try and I'm sorry but I still found this to be extremely boring.

OllieS
October 30th 2009


2049 Comments


Davey will forgive you...THIS time.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh well, all that I can ask is someone give it a few listens. No need for forgiveness here... THIS time.

InHumanForm
October 31st 2009


316 Comments


this shit blows.

pdbn
October 31st 2009


130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its pretty a good album glad you made me come across it with your review. Some of it is hard to get into with the theatricals. I think "We are the World" as I listen to "New York" although it is a much better song. I was disappointed that "Stone Cold Sober" was best song on the album as it is the first song and creates a somewhat downward spiral for the rest of the album. Overall it was worth the listen.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm with you pdbn; I've always thought artists/labels are foolish for putting the best song of an album as it's opener... For exactly the reason you just stated. That's why I often will listen to albums in a different order after I've heard it in its proper order.

AtavanHalen
October 31st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Would gladly suck this woman's dick after hearing that Stone Cold Sober song

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh look, Atavanhalen has another dig which is without a review... How cool!

AtavanHalen
October 31st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm just one man.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

... who is on one helluva reviewing roll.



And yeah, 'Stone Cold Sober' rules.

AtavanHalen
November 1st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, thanks man; appreciated. Glad you like what I'm doing :D



Got lots of stuff to be writing, but right now I've got two more uni assignments to finish.



But here's some stuff I will be reviewing, all hopefully done by the end of the year:



Bertie (as promised), Cassie (if you'd like), Poison the Well, Dave McCormack, Converge, Captain Kickarse and the Awesomes, Bridezilla, Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson, Ben Harper & Relentless7 and Shakira.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

10 reviews (& 2 assignments) in 9 weeks. Yeah, you can do it easily.



And yes, I wouldn't mind seeing a Cassie review. Those I have been reading are really mixed & I haven't listened to the album yet, so clear it up for me Mstr. Young.



AtavanHalen
November 1st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you're going to listen to anything from it, check out Do It Again. Ridiculously infectious, best thing on the whole album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ta for the reco. Sort of surprised she hasn't taken off considering the genre, look, etc...

AtavanHalen
November 1st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

She's gotten serious airtime on all four of her singles, so it's a start.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2009


22401 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I must have kept missing her songs OR not known it was her.

AtavanHalen
November 1st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like It Loud, Differently, Do It Again, Nothing You Can Do...know any of them?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy