Paloma Faith Do You Want the Truth or Something Beautiful?
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're welcome. I love the song called 'Heart'.

OllieS
October 30th 2009


2037 Comments


The title of this makes me think of Blanche DuBois from 'A Streetcar Named Desire'.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I'd agree with that Ollie. And to a certain extent, I'm sure it's intentional... There is definitely both a throwback & charismatic extrovert about Paloma. And remember what I sated in the reveiw; she also acts. I haven't seen 'The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus' yet though.

Elementary
October 30th 2009


26 Comments


So I gave this another try and I'm sorry but I still found this to be extremely boring.

OllieS
October 30th 2009


2037 Comments


Davey will forgive you...THIS time.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 30th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh well, all that I can ask is someone give it a few listens. No need for forgiveness here... THIS time.

InHumanForm
October 31st 2009


316 Comments


this shit blows.

pdbn
October 31st 2009


130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its pretty a good album glad you made me come across it with your review. Some of it is hard to get into with the theatricals. I think "We are the World" as I listen to "New York" although it is a much better song. I was disappointed that "Stone Cold Sober" was best song on the album as it is the first song and creates a somewhat downward spiral for the rest of the album. Overall it was worth the listen.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm with you pdbn; I've always thought artists/labels are foolish for putting the best song of an album as it's opener... For exactly the reason you just stated. That's why I often will listen to albums in a different order after I've heard it in its proper order.

AtavanHalen
October 31st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Would gladly suck this woman's dick after hearing that Stone Cold Sober song

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh look, Atavanhalen has another dig which is without a review... How cool!

AtavanHalen
October 31st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm just one man.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

... who is on one helluva reviewing roll.

And yeah, 'Stone Cold Sober' rules.

AtavanHalen
November 1st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, thanks man; appreciated. Glad you like what I'm doing :D

Got lots of stuff to be writing, but right now I've got two more uni assignments to finish.

But here's some stuff I will be reviewing, all hopefully done by the end of the year:

Bertie (as promised), Cassie (if you'd like), Poison the Well, Dave McCormack, Converge, Captain Kickarse and the Awesomes, Bridezilla, Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson, Ben Harper & Relentless7 and Shakira.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

10 reviews (& 2 assignments) in 9 weeks. Yeah, you can do it easily.

And yes, I wouldn't mind seeing a Cassie review. Those I have been reading are really mixed & I haven't listened to the album yet, so clear it up for me Mstr. Young.


AtavanHalen
November 1st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you're going to listen to anything from it, check out Do It Again. Ridiculously infectious, best thing on the whole album.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ta for the reco. Sort of surprised she hasn't taken off considering the genre, look, etc...

AtavanHalen
November 1st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

She's gotten serious airtime on all four of her singles, so it's a start.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I must have kept missing her songs OR not known it was her.

AtavanHalen
November 1st 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like It Loud, Differently, Do It Again, Nothing You Can Do...know any of them?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy