Paloma Faith Do You Want the Truth or Something Beautiful?
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jrowa001
October 27th 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah pop music. there are a few blogs that have a lot of female artists. one of them that had lots of pop and indie but it was deleted. i thank that blog for introducing me to Soap&Skin and Maria Timm

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn... I wish I had more time so I could go blog searching.

jrowa001
October 28th 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it only takes a few minutes a week for me, but since i have a bunch of blogs that dont disappoint i get a lot of good albums

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You are "in the know" Jeff.

jrowa001
October 28th 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yep, but i need to slow it down haha

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're telling me. Right now with all the albums coming out each week, I don't want to be in the know.

MassiveAttack
October 29th 2009



2688 Comments


The album art is "ridiculously good looking"

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Marko, I don't think anyone who has heard Paloma Faith sing, talk or anything, would have doubted a grandiose album cover.

OllieS
October 29th 2009



2029 Comments


I found this kinda boring


Same, based on the 2 tracks I saw them do live (LNwJools Holland, FNw Jonathan Ross). Won't check this out, sorry Davey.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No need to apologise Ollie. I'll forgive you THIS time.

By the way, it's not a "them". Paloma Faith is her name. Although, from memory, Faith is not her surname, but her middle name.

jrowa001
October 29th 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thinking of giving this a 3. mmmmmaaaaaayyybe a 3.5

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

At least you're giving it some time to sink in Jeff. I actually thought this would grow off me if anything, but it was the opposite. Both musically & lyrically, there were a few things that I only took in on subsequent listens.

Fugue
October 29th 2009



7352 Comments


I swear I posted on this review already, but apparently not. Good review dude, this sounds like it could be worth a play or two.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, I think you posted on my Phrase review Ross. Thanks on the review. I have to presume you've at least heard 'Stone Cold Sober' by now.

Just did my fantasy league transfer. Had to switch keepers as Schwarzer has been solely concentrating on his Australian form, if Fulham's results are anything to go by.

Fugue
October 29th 2009



7352 Comments


Haha yeah probably, silly me. So did you decide if this is better than Florence or not yet, because judging on Stone Cold Sober I'm gonna guess no.

I never make my transfers til the saturday morning, never know who could have a late injury.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I still haven't got my a$$ into gear & listened to Florence.

Satuday morning hey? Wouldn't want something that just happened to me; A blackout.

Fugue
October 29th 2009



7352 Comments


Haha, I guess I just like to live dangerously. And God-damn-it man, if I know anything about your taste Lungs could well be one of your albums of the year; heck its one of mine!

jrowa001
October 29th 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah every time i listen to this i like more parts of certain songs, but theres only a couple parts that i REALLY like so its a stuck between a 3 and 3.5. too bad New York is a boring as fuck song

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2009



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oooh, thanks for the hype Mr. Dangerously. It seems that there have been many great female fronted albums this year. I've just been listening to Metric & will do a couple of sound-offs for them tomorrow. I also really like an album by Australian singer Bertie Blackman. Atavanhalen has that top 5 of the year & will be reviewing that album shortly.

Actually, there's a rec for you Jeff; Bertie Blackman's 'Secrets & Lies'. As for 'New York' off this album, I don't think it's that boring, but I wouldn't have released it as the 2nd single. I guess they're banking on the lyrics & the climax doing the job for it. As you say, it's one of a few songs here that has great parts, rather than being a great whole.

jrowa001
October 29th 2009



8750 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i will check that out soon, thanks!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy