Converge Axe to Fall
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
joplinpicasso
October 18th 2009


427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well-written, but I disagree with a lot of points (and you didn't mention Koller's drumming??). Oddly, this review invokes actual songs more than the other gushing reviews. But no one has mentioned the lyrics! They're the best since, like, Jane Doe, maybe the best ever.

NortherlyNanook
October 18th 2009


1285 Comments


review is how i feel about the album though i guess to a more severe degree, as i'd probably give it a 3.5 or maybe a 4.

Prophet178
October 18th 2009


6397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But no one has mentioned the lyrics!


I don't think anyone actually bought it to read them haha.

TNY
October 18th 2009


571 Comments


Review has way too many grammatical errors and run-on sentences.

AlexTM510
October 18th 2009


1403 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you should break that 2nd paragraph in half.

I feel like you repeat yourself a few times, otherwise its a pretty good review. good to have an opposing side on this.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

ratedrsuperstar
October 18th 2009


186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

despite this getting a 2.5/5 its still under best new music and will probably make the top10 too.

i dont think this album has anything intolerable to give it less than 3.5/5

vkeifan
October 18th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Highly overrated band and album. Jane Doe (the song not the album) was decent but that's about it for their "impressive" track record.

vkeifan
October 18th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

my username should have gave you a clue.

Abaddon2005
October 18th 2009


684 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good review. i've listened to this a few times now and while it has a number of cool songs (Axe To Fall, Slave Driver) overall i feel it doesn't make a big leap from the previous album, like all the albums that came before did. maybe this'll grow on me though.

joshuatree
Emeritus
October 18th 2009


3742 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

review really needs edited

Damrod
Moderator
October 18th 2009


1093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I must confess I tend to agree with Jared. I was really stoked when I heard "Dark Horse" and "Axe To Fall" as they were released for free download. I actually thought they could succeed Jane Doe as pinacle of their musicianship, but was really, really let down by the overall album.

Maybe it needs more time to sink in, but so far I do not like it at all

vkeifan
October 18th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@ i am the robots
I rated Jane Doe 2.5 because of the vocals. I probably would've rated it 4 if the singer didn't open his mouth.

BrandNewBoognish
October 18th 2009


1021 Comments


That album really needed some pop diva vocals, the singer killed it

vkeifan
October 18th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just go listen to Buried Inside "Spoils of the future" and see why some people aren't impressed by albums like this one.

qwe4
October 18th 2009


203 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

you suck

Wizard
October 18th 2009


19519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

'No Heroes' took the opposite approach by speeding up the songs and in general reducing their sound to its bare minimum. 'Axe to Fall' really does nothing to embellish on the Converge sound.

If I ignored the fact that they've sped up their tempos and beefed up their overall sound, I would agree with you on this.

This was a very well written review. What I don't understand though is how you can write such a positive review for No Heroes and then say that this is mediocre. You backed yourself up well in the review but I can't help but think that this is what No Heroes should have sounded like in the first place.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Wizard
October 18th 2009


19519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Just go listen to Buried Inside "Spoils of the future" and see why some people aren't impressed by albums like this one.

Two completely different albums dude.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2009


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

people talking about the lyrics, i didn't think they were that good? i mean i like them but bannon has definitely gotten worse with each album. this is about on the same level as no heroes lyrically i guess, he talks about the same shit

Wizard
October 18th 2009


19519 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I think he mentions something about Chan breaking up with him...I don't know.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2009


17920 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

i mean there are definitely some really badass lyrics on here but as far as poetic quality or whatever they are some of his worst



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy