Deep Purple Burn
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


23472 Comments


Get Fireball next, then Stormbringer.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


23472 Comments


Oh and you need to get their live album Made in Japan. One of the best live albums ever.

ViperAces
October 11th 2012


12524 Comments


Maiden made an gesture to this right? Maiden Japan?
Will get all three.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


23472 Comments


Yeah they did.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


16389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just remembered an old vinyl i used to have of Hughes doing something called Phenomena, i think it was really bad

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


23472 Comments


I've heard about that.

I've got Hughes' first solo album Play Me Out on vinyl.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


16389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

didnt he go on and do jazzy stuff ? not sure, but the phenomena stuff i had was like really bad commercial rock

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


8103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@JamieTwort: You're right, Come Taste the Band is underrated. During the last few days I have been listening to the whole Deep Purple discography in chronological order and CTTB is next.

Digging: Suicidal Tendencies - Lights...Camera...Revolution

ViperAces
October 11th 2012


12524 Comments


MIGHT JUST TAKE YOUR LIIIFFFEEE

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


23472 Comments


"didnt he go on and do jazzy stuff ?"

I don't think he did much in the way of jazz, most of his solo stuff is a mix of soul, funk, and hard rock. Play Me Out is a soul album, it's pretty good.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


8103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of Hughes' best efforts outside of Deep Purple is the album Medusa from his pre-Purple band Trapeze.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


16389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah ok jamie and mano, might check some of it out then, he sure has a wonderful voice

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
October 11th 2012


23472 Comments


"One of Hughes' best efforts outside of Deep Purple is the album Medusa from his pre-Purple band Trapeze."

Agreed. You Are the Music... is a great album by Trapeze too.


"he sure has a wonderful voice"

Indeed. I'm huge fan of Hughes' voice and I'd say quite a lot of the stuff he did outside of Purple is worth looking into.

DominionMM1
December 10th 2012


11461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

SINCE MY BABY LEFT MEEEEEEE

ViperAces
December 11th 2012


12524 Comments


The zeros in the tracklist annoy me like no other.

KILL
February 1st 2013


74086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ive been cooooooooold

facupm
February 1st 2013


9880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mistreated omg it rules hard

Titan
February 20th 2013


8946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the whole damn thing rules

ViperAces
February 21st 2013


12524 Comments


I KNOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

BigHans
February 21st 2013


27092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Coverdale Rules



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy