The Hold Steady Boys and Girls in America
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigHans
December 23rd 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

WHEN THEY KISS THEY SPIT WHITE NOISE

CrisStyles
December 25th 2010



767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can't get into the lead singer's voice at all

BigHans
December 30th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this should have a 4.5 average, minimum.

CrisStyles
December 30th 2010



767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a few more listens and it'll probably a 4.5 for me, first night and stuck between stations rule extremely hard.

BigHans
December 30th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is my 5th favorite album of all time

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2010



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh. I've given this one a spin recently. I'm especially digging the first track.

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

BigHans
December 30th 2010



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck yeah Greg

omnipanzer
January 19th 2011



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"this is my 5th favorite album of all time"

of all time?
You a fan of The Boss Hans?

Digging: The Ettes - Shake the Dust

BigHans
January 19th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This should answer the question of whether I'm a fan of the Boss Omni

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/39401/Bruce-Springsteen-Born-To-Run/



omnipanzer
January 19th 2011



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yup,
Not quite a 4.5 for me but I don't think all of the lyrics come off quite as clever as they think they do and his voice can get annoying but overall a nice package (hence my 4).

BigHans
January 19th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

They are absolutely mind blowingly awesome live.

omnipanzer
January 19th 2011



21442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've heard that.

BigHans
January 19th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It didn't hurt that I saw them in Minneapolis, at 1st Ave (where Purple Rain was filmed), it being their hometown and all, so they really put on a show.

Drsmith4
January 19th 2011



1715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The last bit of "First Night," where the somber piano gives way to a mini explosion of energy, kills me every time. Cinematic, almost.

WatchItExplode
April 7th 2011



3219 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I might have been a bit unfair in my previous rating. After giving this another chance though, the fact remains that it does absolutely nothing for me.

For some reason modern albums that harken back to an 'Americana' type of sound really rub me the wrong way.

BigHans
April 7th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well at least you tried. these guys are kind of love or hate anyway.

WatchItExplode
April 7th 2011



3219 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Can't love everything, though you seem to Hans. You should do a least favorite albums list that would be interesting.

BigHans
April 7th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah Explode, I like a shit load of different types of music. Really the only kinds I dont like are black metal, , death metal, Animal Collective, grindcore, and crust punk. Pretty much everythign else I can jive with in some sort of way.

WatchItExplode
April 7th 2011



3219 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

LOL Animal Collective..........14k man, time well spent at work eh?

BigHans
April 7th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

totally. Also forgot to mention pretentious, overly wanky shit. AKA the Mars Volta



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy