Editors In This Light and On This Evening
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
shade
October 11th 2009



1198 Comments


The editors are a sucky version of the national

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, a lot of people say that because of the obvious comparisons.

Then again, people also say they are a sucky version of Interpol & Joy Division also.

Fugue
October 11th 2009



7352 Comments


Album's a real disappointment.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Too true.

Oh well, let's hope they learn from it.

Knott-
Emeritus
October 12th 2009



10195 Comments


I think the title-track's great, almost agree with your complaint about the 2nd but I still love it. My fucking God there's some boring shit towards the latter half, though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"My fucking God there's some boring shit towards the latter half, though."

Yeah, that was one of my first thoughts too. So... I did my usual trick of listening to the latter half before the 1st half a couple of times (in other words, rearranging the tracklist order). Needless to say, it did NOT help.


Fugue
October 12th 2009



7352 Comments


Lol nice to know

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Were you think of reviewing this Ross... Or just giving it a few more listens before you rate it?

Fugue
October 12th 2009



7352 Comments


No rating exists yet, i've only written neutral boring stuff so far. Will listen a few more times then probably rate it 1.5. The aim is to get the review up by the weekend so fingers crossed.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ross' review:

"What Davey said, but just a little worse... He's too nice to rate this a 1.5"

Fugue
October 12th 2009



7352 Comments


Yeah pretty much ;-)

Of course my review will also require more dictionaries than this too.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha. Let me write it for you:

"Intense cacophonous landscapes are evident from the start, as Editors waste no time in setting their scene. In This Light and On This Evening opens proceedings with an ominous pulsating bass riff building slowly against a contrasting synth section. As this uneasy combination lingers past a welcome duration a perturbed tension builds. This apprehension serves only to heighten the shock as suddenly the dense foreboding atmosphere reaches breaking point; making way for the chaotic sonic assault.

Fugue
October 12th 2009



7352 Comments


I thought it was the third paragraph that had everyone scratching their heads...

"Papillon is perhaps the most fitting encapsulation of the bands overall sound as both poignantly minimalist and excruciating maximalist sections intersperse each other flawlessly. The ubiquitous tense atmosphere reaches almost intolerable levels only to be appeased with perfectly textured breakdowns, restraining the despair to a tolerable strength. The haunting atmospheres intrinsic darkness often engulf the other aspects of the music, and while the band are masters of creating anguish, it would mean nothing if the scene was all doom and gloom."

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It was. But read that paragraph I wrote down & see how it actually isn't all that far fromn the truth. Hell, even the song title I replaced was similar!

Fugue
October 12th 2009



7352 Comments


I know, I was just trying to contradict you for the sake of it.

Fugue
October 12th 2009



7352 Comments


Hmm is plagarising your own review acceptable?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 12th 2009



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"is plagarising your own review acceptable?"

Only if you're past 100 reviews! ;-)

Fugue
October 12th 2009



7352 Comments


Ahh bummer, shame that. I've actually a lot of time on my hands for the time being so any excuses I come up with will be pure laziness; feel free to exploi this. Pretty happy with where my writing is headed even if it means a few more people will skip reading my reviews... Still I updated my contributor application the other day and now I'm wondering if perhaps I was too hasty. That can only be a good sign right?

bloc
October 12th 2009



34774 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

what happened here? this album sounds so uninspired and most of all BORING! this shit is friggin napping music right here.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Fugue
October 12th 2009



7352 Comments


what happened here? this album sounds so uninspired and most of all BORING! this shit is friggin napping music right here.


Phase 1: Franz Ferdinand decide that the use of synths is a good way to progress their music so as not to release the same album a third time.

Phase 2: Despite being woefully average, said album sold very well.

Phase 3: After pretty poor sales (bar England) for their last album Editors decide to copy Franz.

Conclusion: Editors have and never will be as good as Franz and they prove this by releasing a piss poor album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy