Editors In This Light and On This Evening
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Whoops, double post.

So... Editors... Yeah, well they're touring down under in Dec/Jan. Just because this album sucks doesn't mean I won't go see them. It would be interesting to know how electronic their new set is.

vkeifan
October 10th 2009


9 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Indie isn't exactly my thing, but this sounds waaaaaaay better than Ferdinand's album. It makes me sad to see something as bad as that being released out in the world.

Fugue
October 10th 2009


7354 Comments


You're quite welcome to still review it Ross. The thing is, I am certain someone around here will like this album a lot. I'm just unsure who it will be & how much. The dark atmosphere of the LP will probably appeal to a few here & there. They will be the same person who also thinks 'Papillon' is the worst song on the album!


Papillon isn't that great tbh, could easily be the worst song.

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Harsh words vkeifan... And I cannot agree at all.

That's it Ross, I'm gonna kick you... likle a sleep twitch. Then I'm gonna make you run like the dude in the video. Wonder where he's going?

Fugue
October 10th 2009


7354 Comments


haha; seriously I can see this being on par with Tonight:Franz Ferdinand i.e. 2.5; nearly finished downloading it anyhow so I'll be able to get a decent opinion one way or the other soon.

Nagrarok
October 10th 2009


8292 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Nope Davey, I'm Dutch. Shouldn't be too hard to tell by the surname.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Haha... How ironic, since I just spent 90 minutes watching the Aussies defend for their lives against Wesley Sneijder & Co...

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Ross, I had forgotten you rated Franz's latest so low. I liked it a fair bit better obviously. And when you mean "downloading" it, you mean paying for it on iTunes of course. Just thought I'd clarify that for you.

Fugue
October 10th 2009


7354 Comments




Ross, I had forgotten you rated Franz's latest so low. I liked it a fair bit better obviously. And when you mean "downloading" it, you mean paying for it on iTunes of course. Just thought I'd clarify that for you.


Yeah I was in the minority on the Franz rating, but it just didn't work for me. If I wasn't caught up in listening to The XX stream I'd have given this a listen by now.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2009


7401 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Im definitely gonna see them on wednesday so i'll tell you what theyre like

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Do you recommend me even trying The Xx Ross? I heard one of their singles on a music video show & it didn't really do anything for me to be honest.

That would be appreciated Ali. Just the breakdown of tracks per album will be interesting enough.

Fugue
October 11th 2009


7354 Comments


Hmm if you heard a song already and didn't like it then maybe not. Mostly the songs do sound very similar to one another and although it's currently a 3.5-4 for me, if you've already heard a song that didn't impress you too much then maybe just steer clear for now.

Fugue
October 11th 2009


7354 Comments


Getting back on topic I'm currently jamming to this, each track seems to go on for about 5 times the actual song length; have the Editors discovered relativity?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for the honest opinion on The Xx Ross. They looked really young in the clip & I sensed potential, but it didn't sound like it was for me.

Haha... Well, there are only 9 tracks on the album Ross, so they had to spread it out somehow. But you may be right, Editors may in fact be genius scientists!

Fugue
October 11th 2009


7354 Comments


Fair enough Davey, on another note if you are yet to hear Embryonic its streaming now and I highly recommend it (no matter what Sobhi says).

Album drags in a not very good way, probably worse than Franz after all.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks for the reco Ross. I've heard the majority of songs casually, but definitely need to give it more of a detailed listen. And forgive Sobhi, he's caught the staff $hit-stirring disease. I still have on my special jacket that makes me immune to it.

Sounds like Editors are sending you to sleep.

Fugue
October 11th 2009


7354 Comments


No problem mate.

Gotta say its not quite "sending me to sleep", although that may be something to do with having shite-loads of sleep and waking up to three coffees. I'm currently finishing a review so after that I can give Editors a proper going over and get some thoughts written down. Depending on how long my homework takes (homework before reviews) the aforementioned review should be up tonight.

GiantBoyDetective
October 11th 2009


7 Comments


thats a shame. I kinda like Papillion though


Knott-
Emeritus
October 11th 2009


10198 Comments


The first 4 songs here reaaaaaally shine, I genuinely think that it'sa bit more chill and obv less anthemic than AEHAS but I certainly don't hate it. Some cuts are just plain dull though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 11th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Looking forward to the review Ross. With a build-up of coffees in ya, it should be an energetic one.

GiantBoyDetective, it is a shame... & I also like 'Papillon'. I like it a lot actually.

Adam, you're not the 1st person to say what you have. Many feel it holds up through the first 4 tracks & then the slower duo in the middle sees the album run off the rails. That's a fair call I guess. I just wish the first 2 tracks were both a minute shorter.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy