Scar Symmetry Dark Matter Dimensions
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jake20589
October 22nd 2009


82 Comments


a few of the songs reminded me of Coheed. no complaints. definetly some cheesyness goin on. definetly not as good as their previous work. but, if you dont like melodic death metal, dont review for it. you sound like a douchebag.


Altmer
October 23rd 2009


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but i like melodic death metal

and this is a 3

not a 1

so ????

linchpin313
October 24th 2009


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so raise that 3 to a 5!! ha ha ha... sorry, bad joke.

Dystopic
October 25th 2009


183 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review. Shame that Lars and Roberth's vocals detract from such technical prowess from Per and Jonas. Christian's presence made for a more unified Scar Symmetry, and a more satisfied fanbase.

That being said, 'The Iconoclast' is a brilliant composition.

CerberusLives
October 27th 2009


52 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is actually really growing on me. 'Mechanical Soul Cybernetics' kicks every arse around.

Bloodriot44
November 2nd 2009


13 Comments


I was very sad when I heard that Christian was asked to leave. As a vocalist myself, this was shocking news. I admired his transitions and overall emotion. Scar Symmetry as a whole, revived the Melodic Death Metal genre with their first two releases, and I will be forever grateful to them for that. I'll give this one a try, as soon as it's released in Cape Town, South Africa.

buddhaabdi
November 3rd 2009


104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wtf, are you mental? this is a good album, not the best of any kind. But good, as in a good album of a modern melodeath band. I give this 5 just to get the ratings up, cause this (1-2 for this album?) is bullshit rating. 4/5

Altmer
November 4th 2009


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I gave it three out of five. Read please.

also the growls are sexy

witchxrapist
November 4th 2009


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

his growls have like no character to them, it just sounds like he's imitating akerfeldt

Scar Symmetry as a whole, revived the Melodic Death Metal genre with their first two releases,


you smoking crack?

their first album came out in 2005...

i can name like 20 other mdm albums that came out between 1999 and 2005 that are actually good

Altmer
November 4th 2009


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well imitating akerfeldt is good

as good growls are good growls

gRaciouspatty
November 4th 2009


2 Comments


You guys are nuts. The album is fucking ace. The choruses are so bright and big. The solos are impossible as always. And the new vocalists don't sound just like Christian. They're close but they're different enough that it gives the band a new sound.

witchxrapist
November 5th 2009


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Stale vocals are stale.

Bloodriot44
November 5th 2009


13 Comments


Great review.
I have yet to pick up this album (it hasn't arrived in South Africa yet). I have to admit, I'm still upset that Chris was asked to leave the band. His vocals were the key ingredient in Scar Symmetry, and I don't think they'll ever be able to top Pitch Black Progress. Still, I'd like to give this one a listen.

witchxrapist
November 6th 2009


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

They still didn't do shit for melodic death metal other than rip off Soilwork.

hybridstigmata
November 6th 2009


169 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've listened to this band since the first cd was released. I have always loved this band. But I picked this cd up yesterday, I've listened to it all the way through once and I'm pretty disappointed. Someone earlier said it best, it sounds like songs that didn't make the cut from holographic universe. But yeah, much like the new my dying bride cd, this is such a let down and disappointment.

Altmer
November 6th 2009


5652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Except this doesn't sound like Soilwork.

buddhaabdi
November 28th 2009


104 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

again, its crazy who low rated this album is, its by far 3.5-4. wtf is wrong with people these days, they did a good job without christian. its seems genetric at first, but has grown shitloads on me and its many times better then most melodeath releases this year. You did a great job guys, bring on the next album!

XfingTheSullen
December 6th 2009


2721 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

You (the author) are way too harsh on this album in my opinion. Music is to enjoy it, not to judge it for alleged repetitiveness or whatever. And Scar Symmetry will always be head and shoulders above most other bands.

And no, Scar Symmetry isn't ripping Soilwork off (to whoever said it). They are a better band in every comparable aspect, besides one of the composers said in an interview that he doesn't really know what Soilwork sounds like (upon being accused of sounding similar). Scar Symmetry still has the fresh, the new, the unformulaic, whereas Soilwork's songs sound like clones of one another.

Digging: Scar Symmetry - The Singularity (Phase 1 ? Neohumanity)

pride
December 6th 2009


227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Scar symmetry does not have a new, fresh, or unformulaic sound. This band is not terrible though, just average.

linchpin313
December 9th 2009


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this album wasnt an instant hit, its was a slow grower for me, one thing is for sure: they have the best song titles in metal! in all their albums!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy