Breaking Benjamin Dear Agony
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I call 'Dance With The Devil' the barometer of 'Phobia'. I don't mind it, but it's nothing too flashy... & definitely not a patch on 'Diary of Jane', which is still their best song full stop.

Relinquished, I can't really argue with anything you state, apart from the use of the word 'pathetic'.

"...this is a more realistic side of the band..." So you think they should have been making albums that failed all along? Yes, your review will have to explain.

Eclectic, from memory you are in Oz. These guys hardly get any airplay here. If he doesn't find out it has been released, you may get saved.

Poet
September 27th 2009


5935 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I've always enjoyed this band, so I'll listen to this. Not expecting anything to be better than Evil Angel though.

Eclectic
September 27th 2009


3302 Comments


Oh no, he knows, he was going crazy over the single the other day.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Come on Rudy, band is mainstream, you're mainstream, you're obliged to like it. LOL. Just kidding. Can't wait for your Mariah review btw.

"You really think this is heavier?" Sort of. It's difficult to explain. There are no out & out ballads on here (there should have been). Even 'Anthem of the Angels' & 'Give Me A Sign' are strongly guitar-based... Especially if you play them on a hi-fi out loud. In fact, that really hit home when I did. Plus, there are those attempts at death growls. LOL.

LisbonGirls
September 27th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Seriously? I wasn't all that impressed by "Diary of Jane" It might be because I heard it on the radio all the time. His growls have always been weak and pathetic.

Relinquished
September 27th 2009


25192 Comments


lol Dairy of Jane

Fxxkit13
September 27th 2009


1559 Comments


I loved Phobia, and thought it was their best to date. Ben's voice seemed to have progressed a lot since We Are Not Alone and the instrumentation and overall song-writing seemed a lot stronger, so I'm pretty excited to give this a listen to see what they've done this time.

klap
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2009


10495 Comments


haha mariah will have to wait for later this week, i have a couple i need to post before staff seizes them. and mika is in the pipeline as soon as it gets published in my school paper tomorrow...bahaha just for you

Digging: Caribou - Our Love

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sorry to hear Eclectic. I feel sorry for you if he just comes up to you out of nowhere & starts singing "I will not bow... I will not break..."

Yep, put me down as an 'Evil Angel' liker. Still not as good as 'Diary of Jane' though. All this hate for it is borderline blasphemous. I'm telling you, it's lead single syndrome... along with the overplaying factor LisbonGirls spoke about. We don't have that problem down under as no radio station knows who Breaking Benjamin are!

LisbonGirls
September 27th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

That was intentional...no it wasn't but shhh

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't disagree with you FxxkIt13, but don't go in expecting too much here or you're sure to be disappointed. There is no great progression on 'Dear Agony'.

Hey Rudy, that Mika guy... He sings for the band fun. yeah? (Comment dedicated to Strikey).

And stop trying to seize reviews from staff you scoundrel.

Eclectic
September 27th 2009


3302 Comments


I doubt he will, since he knows he's a shitty singer, lol, he'll just go crazy over the whole album. Like when he discovered Diary Of Jane the acoustic version and wouldn't shut up about it for a day straight.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

But Eclectic, the acoustic version(s) of 'Diary Of Jane' are soooo good. They do a great acoustic version of 'So Cold' also. It's why it completely confounds me as to why they would not include an acoustic song on this LP.

Fxxkit13
September 27th 2009


1559 Comments


@DavyBoy- Thats fine by me, i feel like BB probably has gone as far as they ever will musically, so as long as they keep crafting catchy songs like they always have, it will be good enough.

Fxxkit13
September 27th 2009


1559 Comments


the acoustic version of Diary of Jane was awesome as was So Cold.



great review btw, i forgot to mention that before, but it really does make me wanna check this out.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"so as long as they keep crafting catchy songs like they always have, it will be good enough." I agree. It's sort of why I half expected them to go in a little bit more of a pop-punk direction here. But there isn't a "woh woh" to be heard.

Thanks.

Eclectic
September 27th 2009


3302 Comments


^^ agreed, great review

The Diary Of Jane, both versions, were great, its just that his reaction to them tells me precisely what he's going to be like with this album.

Relinquished
September 27th 2009


25192 Comments


I guess my post was a little mean, but I was really let down by this. I guess I'll hope if this gets better for me. Good review Davey.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2009


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Eclectic.

Most people are here to be mean Relinquished. LOL. Will this grow on you? Not a great deal. I've listened to it many times in many different settings and turning it up loud in the car or on a home stereo may help a little. Some songs (especially the closer) get catchier with each listen, but I don't think it's going to jump a rating point or anything like that.

ratedrsuperstar
September 28th 2009


186 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Best BB song is So Cold without a doubt.

superawesome review.just nailed it.i'd have included lights out in the songs recommended.

BB isnt much of a "album" band but they always have all the songs on a certain level of tolerance.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy