Moneen The World I Want To Leave Behind
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Caleb is a Canadian living in Mexico, so I guess you should dislike him every 2nd day only. On the alternate days, eat tacos & burritos to your heart's content.

redsparrow
September 17th 2009


431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I don't know. I've read the whole review and although it's well written... I find myself thinking the complete opposite.

I've listened to this two or three times, but I honestly think it has a lot of potential to grow on me. It's a 4 right now. And could possibly grow to a 4.5 at anytime.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 18th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Interesting redsparrow. At present, you seem to be fairly much on your own with your opinion. Care to elaborate on what's so great about it... Or write a sound-off maybe.

redsparrow
September 18th 2009


431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

DaveyBoy I've written a sound-off of my initial thoughts. But I'd respectfully disagree about me being alone about my feelings on this record. This is an underrated gem going unnoticed. Maybe even you are about to realize that. If I were you, I'd give this more spins. I know I'm giving.

You may be right about me being alone here on sputnik, but people have all their eyes and ears to more mainstream records right now. I'm sure that as soon as the dust from Brand New, Thrice, Muse and The Porcupine Tree settles people will realize how amazing this record really is.

For more opinions like that, I out of curiosity looked out for another reviews:

http://www.reviewrinserepeat.com/2009/09/09/moneen-the-world-i-want-to-leave-behind-review/
4.5/5

http://www.soundthesirens.com/zine/?p=415
4/5

http://www.alterthepress.com/2009/08/album-review-moneen-world-i-want-to.html
5/5

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'll await your sound-off/review with anticipation redsparrow as what you have written thus far is more of a hype statement than anything else.

I obviously have no issue with your disagreement regarding this album and trust me, I'm not one to necessarily sway to the Sputnik consensus. In fact, I liked the little teaser that was the 'Hold That Sound' EP (as can be seen by 2 of my recommended tracks on this review).

As for giving this more spins, trust me, I gave it a very detailed listen many times. We were lucky enough to have the album available to us well before the release date.

As for those reviews, I'll give them a read in a few moments. Well, excluding the final one which I have already seen and well, it hardly counts. I'm actually quite shocked that AbsolutePunk didn't review this a long time ago since Moneen is one of their buzz bands to some extent & I'm certain they would have had access to it as early as we did.

YouAreMySilence
September 20th 2009


3727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The alter the press review doesn't make sense.
It explains it as a pretty great record and give it a perfect score..

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, that was what I was getting at Brandon. From memory, it was the 1st review of this album up on the net... & is another piece of evidence why reviews cannot be rushed.

NovaSilver
September 23rd 2009


130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0


a major disappointment, especially from one of the best pop-punk bands. I loved The Red Tree but this is a neutered version, just no edge to it apart from the closer and 'The Long Count'. Where'd all the complexity go? Even the ballads are worse, The Way is half decent but not a patch on 'A Million Reasons'.

Concise and accurate review but I'm not sure about the maturity theme. Perhaps a bit less 'scene' (whatever that means) but it's not a fuller sound.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All very fair comments NovaSilver. It's definitely different from 'The Red Tree'. I think we have to be careful automatically thinking that's a negative though... Expectations can be a b!tch sometimes and shouldn't always be the be all & end all. For example; I really like the song 'Hold That Sound', even if it sounds nothing like anything off of 'The Red Tree'.

As for my use of the word 'maturity' in the review, I can see where everyone is coming from in questioning that. BUT I never said maturing was always necessarily a positive when it comes to the music industry. Some bands can indeed work better when they are a little haphazard & all over the place. Moneen looks as if they may be one of them. But in maturing, maybe that is simply not them anymore.

Anyway, as I've stated with many other artists, I hold hope that Moneen can learn from what worked on this LP & what didn't work, to make for a better release next time around.

By the way, would you still pass it rating-wise, or is it a 2 for you?

NovaSilver
September 28th 2009


130 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well that's the thing, I'm not sure it is that different from 'The Red Tree'. The lyrics are still there, so is the voice and the idea of pop coming from quite a punk/indie background (and in fact Hold That Sound is the one I'd say keeps the most from The Red Tree and it is a good song). But the instrumental ideas that drove the songs are gone and I'm not sure what's replaced it.

Probably I'd still pass it and I agree my expectations are colouring it but these guys really were what I'd hold up as an excellent pop punk band and now they're just average.



DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Well that's the thing, I'm not sure it is that different from 'The Red Tree'. ... in fact Hold That Sound is the one I'd say keeps the most from The Red Tree and it is a good song."

Interesting way of looking at things. Can't say I agree tbh. If I had heard 'Hold That Sound' without knowing who the band were, I could have taken 100 guesses before saying Moneen.

"The lyrics are still there, so is the voice..." Again, very debateable. An argument could be made that they are both just as good... But they are different for mine.

Deathcar
September 29th 2009


1534 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Solid review as ever.

A distinctly average post-hardcore/punk album, from a band that can do better tbh.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Deathcar. (I was listening to the song that I presume is the reason for your user-name this morning).

Anyway, getting back to Moneen, I'm not even sure you can label this particular album a "post-hardcore/punk" one. I think that may be the problem most will have with it.

toyour
October 18th 2009


95 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great album, just as good as the red tree.

BrandNewBoognish
October 18th 2009


1021 Comments


Moneen, is this band irish or something

toyour
October 18th 2009


95 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nope, they're canadian. (:

BrandNewBoognish
October 18th 2009


1021 Comments


name sounds irish

bloc
October 18th 2009


35024 Comments


YES I CAN!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I obviously disagree with you toyour, but they are rather different LPs anyway, so to each their own.

Spec
February 6th 2014


27298 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Listening to this again they actually do just sound a lot more mature than on the red tree. Not neccisarily in a good way though ya dig?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy