The xx xx
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Graveyard
June 4th 2012



5703 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Vh1 is gayness

Digging: Total Control - Typical System

barcafan21
August 7th 2012



1914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

basically, this would be a lot better if they let the drummer do his thing more like he does in intro. they make him stick to simple beats all the time, and it drives me crazy. yeah, it fits the sound and whatnot, but they need to showcase the drummer more. am i the only one with this sentiment?

camaraderie
August 7th 2012



988 Comments


"shows no signs of life intelligent or otherwise"

What?

jefflebowski
August 8th 2012



8048 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there is no drummer

Digging: Pantha Du Prince - This Bliss

tombits
August 16th 2012



3470 Comments


new single sucks an unbelievable amount of dick

jefflebowski
August 16th 2012



8048 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but it just sounds the same as this

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 21st 2012



6441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

cool

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 21st 2012



6441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I only heard the new single. Going from that, it'll probably be more of the same. Which means nothing groundbreaking, but nice to chill to.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
August 21st 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's pretty much exactly that. I got quite bored towards the end tbh.

fuckthatnoise
August 21st 2012



1479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

not sure how much i like it in comparison to this album, but it's definitely a more sonically interesting and better mixed album.

it's pretty much the jamie xx show. future garage influences all over the place.

Pentagon
August 21st 2012



1998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album was fresher in comparison to Coexist. Their lyrics focus on pretty much the same exact themes on both albums which sucks, and they got rid of their second guitarist which means much less intertwined guitars, but yeah the future garage influences are pretty cool

fuckthatnoise
August 21st 2012



1479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lyrically, yeah, it's about the same, but i'm getting different vibes from coexist in terms of it's mood. xx was an album that i played a lot at night, or while it was raining. coexist is something i could see myself playing while it's sunny out.

Pentagon
August 21st 2012



1998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True, Im glad it has some groovy tracks like "Tide"

Polymath
August 21st 2012



3836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I expected so much more from Coexist. It feels so empty to me.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
August 22nd 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lyrically it's atrocious.

Pentagon
August 22nd 2012



1998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

their new album is as well

fuckthatnoise
August 25th 2012



1479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

new record is just as good as this.

chambered49
August 25th 2012



1727 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

disagreeee

Graveyard
August 25th 2012



5703 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

both are different, but yea agreed chambered

fuckthatnoise
August 25th 2012



1479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the only real differences between the 2 records are that Coexist has a much brighter tone and utilizes jamie xx more than the first record. also, i likely won't be returning to Coexist as obsessively as i was the self-titled a couple years back but that has more to do with me than the music.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy