Evermore Truth of the World: Welcome to the Show
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Waior
August 26th 2009


11461 Comments


I think you misunderstood me a bit but okay.

Willie
Moderator
August 26th 2009


16149 Comments


It's 7am, so that's very likely.

Digging: Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era

soundless
August 26th 2009


171 Comments


cool i was hoping youd review this

musicalprofile
August 26th 2009


30 Comments


does anyone else believe waior was busy wit a friend last night cos i dnt

Waior
August 26th 2009


11461 Comments


I am obviously a habitual liar.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"I still stand by this album as being better than a 2.5. Plugged In, Between The Lines, Diamonds In The River, Max Is Stable and Everybody's Doing It ensure that." Fair enough Tom. On early listens, I had this at a 3. But for a concept album, I don't think the replay factor is high enough. I guess, you lowering your rating from 4.5 to 3.5 does prove that to some extent.

"Yeah, that's one of the crappy things about being on staff, because you really have to limit yourself in order to not flood the four staff slots. We've discussed alt. accounts, but they're always shot down." I guess with many of the staff reviews being features, it's not so bad. But I can definitely see how its awkward. I actually have 6 pre-written reviews just sitting there now. I can make a case for posting one of them over the next few weeks, but I'd like to post at least 2 of the others as they do not have reviews in the database. Maybe come the slow Christmas period?

"StaffyBoy, you have no soul." Well Caleb, your avatar has changed. OMG, you made out with an eagle!

"does anyone else believe waior was busy wit a friend last night cos i dnt" Nah, I do. Of course, he never specifically stated it was a female.

AtavanHalen
August 26th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

heyyy boysss n grlzzzzzzzzzz

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No comment on the first paragraph (& first comment) DavID?

MassiveAttack
August 26th 2009


2688 Comments


Wait...what when did you make staff Davey, you sly mother !

Sigh...did I miss signups or apps for contribs/staff or did I just not cut it again lol.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

2 days ago Marko. It came from nowhere tbh & I did not expect it at all. 3 others were promoted to contributor. There was no specific application for this promotion, however if you did not apply last time around, you still can over at the forums.

MassiveAttack
August 26th 2009


2688 Comments


Yea I did..just updated my reviews with better material. Congrats Davey.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks Marko. I'm sure you are around the mark for promotion mate... Your writing is definitely up there in quality. If I could give you one piece of advice it is to try & concentrate more on newer releases. Since I've been back from vacation, most of my reviews have been of 2009 albums (even if they're not brand spanking new).

MassiveAttack
August 26th 2009


2688 Comments


Problem is most of the active bands I'm into haven't release any new material in quite some time.

Look at this list of ongoing artists that I listen too: (mu)-Zig, 10 Years, A Perfect Circle, A Silver Mt. Zion, Aesop Rock, Ahleuchatistas, Air, Alice In Chains (hello staff review, lol), Amorphous Androgynous, Aphex Twin, Archive (reviewed this since they released a 2009 album 2 months ago), Atmosphere, Autechre, Autolux (new album is almost done), Bad Religion, Beastie Boys, Beck, Ben Frost, Biosphere, Black Milk...list goes on and that's not even 1/5 of my library. Its just its difficult to see consistent releases from new artists since they are usually in a lapse of 1-3 years in time. Then again I'm also stubborn and enjoy filling out the database or artist discographies that have absent reviews or holes in them.

Here are some 2008-2009 reviews I've done in the past month:

Chris Clark - Totems Flare (2009)
Archive - Controlling Crowds (2009)
Wisp - Shimmering Hour (2009)

those are in the last 30 days I think, but I see your point. The majority of my reviews are of past albums some unknown to well-known artists that don't have albums that are reviewed.

Waior
August 26th 2009


11461 Comments


OMG, you made out with an eagle!


MEXICAN FLAG, BRO. But trust me, making out with an eagle really isn't worth it because your crow could find out.

MassiveAttack, in all honesty, your promotion is a bit overdue.



Roach
August 26th 2009


2148 Comments


Cool story bro.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Marko, I'm hearing you, but I guess what you stated does bring up another point and that's your objectivity % and branching out a little. Sure, I'd love to review my favorites & specialty genres consistently as well, but I definitely have found myself improving when taking on different kinds of music as well as writing both positive & negative reviews. Again, don't go overboard, just keep it in mind. Give reviewing a Pussycat Dolls album a go. Who knows, you may not like the album, but could find yourself enjoying writing the review... Or at least the album cover!

Ahhh, so that eagle is Mexican Caleb. And you are in Mexico. Coincidence? I think not. By the by, do you call them crows there, do you? I thought they were ravens on that side of the world.

MassiveAttack
August 26th 2009


2688 Comments


My objectivty rating isn't that low is it? Waior and I are a bit close =). I suppose I don't really openly review the genres I'm into like I do with ambient, electronic, trip-hop, dnb, breakcore, etc. But yes I do listen to tons of stuff, just lots of listening to do I guess.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"My objectivty rating isn't that low is it?" Relatively. 80% shouldn't be too difficult to achieve. An average album rating of 3.5 or above is fairly high. Of course, it is that way because you prefer to listen to stuff you like, so who can complain with that.

klap
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2009


10585 Comments


if you want to make contributor/staff, review albums no one else wants to (like miley cyrus). and you'll love it

Digging: Charli XCX - Sucker

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2009


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hahaha. Actually Rudy, I may have to begin leaning towards pop music a little more in the future, so we may find ourselves on a collission course towards Miley & the like. God forbid.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy