Defeater Travels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GmemberKills
July 7th 2015


2763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Imo they might could have done a decent concept about the mother but it's too late now. I could care less.

dimsim3478
July 8th 2015


7366 Comments


^agreed, mother coulda been a compelling look into "the throes of addiction" or whatever

who cares about the lyrical concepts as long as the music is good?? [2]

also about the concept on this record, it definitely doesn't need to be tied to that big overarching concept at all but if it's a good story otherwise, i can dig it.

anyway, new song is pretty good; gettin a modern life is war vibe off of it. album could still end up sucking though, cuz "bastards" was pretty good too but look how letters home turned out.

Digging: The Pillows - Nook in the Brain

ShadowRemains
July 8th 2015


24501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

first time listening to this thing in awhile

ShadowRemains
July 8th 2015


24501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i bet it had chester bennington yelling TAAAKE EVERYYYTHHHHINNNGGGG

Ocean of Noise
August 13th 2015


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not sure how I feel about this album. they're evidently good musicians and the songwriting is solid, but the sound really isn't very original.

Digging: Bjork - Vulnicura

Artuma
August 13th 2015


27541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

their sound sure isn't anything original but this and lost ground are amazing albums in terms of songwriting

Ocean of Noise
August 13th 2015


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess so. It just feels weird to give a high rating to a band that doesn't have much new to offer sound-wise

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2015


9823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's not like originality is necessary for an album to be great tho

Digging: Fen - Winter

JAV
August 13th 2015


2581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good music doesn't always have to be innovative, although it is nice to have a band keep pushing their sound.



Artuma
August 13th 2015


27541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I guess so. It just feels weird to give a high rating to a band that doesn't have much new to offer sound-wise"



5.0 classic

Deftones Diamond Eyes

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2015


9823 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hell it's an arguable point that true originality isn't even possible at this point, with so much music out there, so what's the point in expecting it in everything you listen to

Hawks
August 13th 2015


48064 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah agreed with Game.

Digging: Thou - Heathen

ZippaThaRippa
October 24th 2015


9265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"You will never live up to me"

Said Travels to every Defeater record that came after

Artuma
October 25th 2015


27541 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and then came lost ground and blew this out of the water

PurpleDino
September 7th 2016


3467 Comments


"Defeater are destined for bright things."

oh how wrong that summary turned out to be

listened to this for the first time in ages and it's still amazing, why did Defeater have to get so shit

Digging: Power Trip - Nightmare Logic

JAV
September 8th 2016


2581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Curse of writing an amazing album, hard to follow up.

PurpleDino
September 10th 2016


3467 Comments


Lost Ground still rules hard, and Empty Days is dece, but now they actually suck so hard

Ocean of Noise
September 10th 2016


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell it's an arguable point that true originality isn't even possible at this point, with so much music out there, so what's the point in expecting it in everything you listen to




I mean, not all music necessarily has to be original to be good, but I think originality will always exist. It's just a result of combining one's influences in innovative ways, and that will always be possible.

SnakeDelilah
January 9th 2017


18641 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i am nothing i am no one

Digging: Sorority Noise - You're Not As ____ As You Think

Ocean of Noise
January 9th 2017


8453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yea



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy