Defeater Travels
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GmemberKills
July 7th 2015


2434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Imo they might could have done a decent concept about the mother but it's too late now. I could care less.

dimsim3478
July 8th 2015


7245 Comments


^agreed, mother coulda been a compelling look into "the throes of addiction" or whatever

who cares about the lyrical concepts as long as the music is good?? [2]

also about the concept on this record, it definitely doesn't need to be tied to that big overarching concept at all but if it's a good story otherwise, i can dig it.

anyway, new song is pretty good; gettin a modern life is war vibe off of it. album could still end up sucking though, cuz "bastards" was pretty good too but look how letters home turned out.

ShadowRemains
July 8th 2015


24261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

first time listening to this thing in awhile

ShadowRemains
July 8th 2015


24261 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i bet it had chester bennington yelling TAAAKE EVERYYYTHHHHINNNGGGG

Ocean of Noise
August 13th 2015


7452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not sure how I feel about this album. they're evidently good musicians and the songwriting is solid, but the sound really isn't very original.

Digging: Cynthesis - DeEvolution

Artuma
August 13th 2015


26633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

their sound sure isn't anything original but this and lost ground are amazing albums in terms of songwriting

Digging: Suffocate For Fuck Sake - In My Blood

Ocean of Noise
August 13th 2015


7452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I guess so. It just feels weird to give a high rating to a band that doesn't have much new to offer sound-wise

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2015


9551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's not like originality is necessary for an album to be great tho

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Coven

JAV
August 13th 2015


2507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good music doesn't always have to be innovative, although it is nice to have a band keep pushing their sound.



Artuma
August 13th 2015


26633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I guess so. It just feels weird to give a high rating to a band that doesn't have much new to offer sound-wise"



5.0 classic

Deftones Diamond Eyes

Gameofmetal
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2015


9551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hell it's an arguable point that true originality isn't even possible at this point, with so much music out there, so what's the point in expecting it in everything you listen to

Hawks
August 13th 2015


46502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah agreed with Game.

Digging: In The Woods... - Pure

ZippaThaRippa
October 24th 2015


8023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"You will never live up to me"

Said Travels to every Defeater record that came after

Artuma
October 25th 2015


26633 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and then came lost ground and blew this out of the water

PurpleDino
September 7th 2016


3445 Comments


"Defeater are destined for bright things."

oh how wrong that summary turned out to be

listened to this for the first time in ages and it's still amazing, why did Defeater have to get so shit

JAV
September 8th 2016


2507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Curse of writing an amazing album, hard to follow up.

PurpleDino
September 10th 2016


3445 Comments


Lost Ground still rules hard, and Empty Days is dece, but now they actually suck so hard

Ocean of Noise
September 10th 2016


7452 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell it's an arguable point that true originality isn't even possible at this point, with so much music out there, so what's the point in expecting it in everything you listen to




I mean, not all music necessarily has to be original to be good, but I think originality will always exist. It's just a result of combining one's influences in innovative ways, and that will always be possible.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy