Divine Heresy Bringer of Plagues
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Willie
Moderator
August 4th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sure, that's all good, but with these 4 dudes, i thought there would be solos and odd time signatures and all that exciting stuff.

I didn't want to waste review time with specifics, but that's the kind of stuff I was referring to when I said these guys had a lot of potential.


Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

whackerinc
August 4th 2009


28 Comments


*yawns* The last good thing Cazares ever did was Fear Factory's Demanufacture. Also, Tim Yeung needs to go back to proper brutal death metal drumming. This is seriously stifling his mad skills.

LisbonGirls
August 7th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Willie you really need to raise the rating for this, so much better then a 3.

Willie
Moderator
August 7th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ha ha, can't do it. What it really needs is an alternate review by someone (like you, maybe) that believes this deserves something higher than a 3.

LisbonGirls
August 7th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It has one of those already. But if I must, I will. Only to convince you that this is better then the low ass score you have bestowed upon it.

Willie
Moderator
August 7th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey, I'll go against the popular opinion on a review if it's what I believe (look at that Amorphis review)... actually, look at the Still Remains review for 'The Serpant". That's an album metalcore fans and everyone else hated, and I reviewed it at a 3.5

LisbonGirls
August 7th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Meh, 'The Serpent' was a decent album, but it lacked the punch of their previous release. I probably would rate it in between a 2.5-3. Your a bastard, you know I have to go read your damn review now. Willie just a thought that occured to me but how do you become a staff reviewer?

Willie
Moderator
August 7th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Willie just a thought that occured to me but how do you become a staff reviewer?
You just have to write at a consistly good level, and contribute to the site. About twice a year Jom or Dave will post a news article asking for applications for Contributors and Staff. You have to be a contributor first... after that if you're still writing well and a majority of the staff doesn't hate you (or the mod's totally disregard their opinions) than you could be considered for staff.

LisbonGirls
August 7th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I see, hmmm I think I'll just stay as a plain reviewer, too much work and competition to become part of the staff. Also(Don't freak on me for mentioning this.....again) have you finished listening to HateTimesNine yet?

bloc
August 7th 2009


34919 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i don't even see how this is worthy of even a 3, let alone a 4. it's just too generic. i said this before, but with these 4 guys they could have done something really good together instead of this.

Willie
Moderator
August 7th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

There's not really any competition. If you like writing than just keep writing, and submit an app when they ask for it. If you get it than cool, if not than no harn/no foul.

I actually haven't listened to it since that day. I got four new promos from Metropolis Records that are all cool and I want to review them all... plus I already had two other albums I needed to review.

I agree with you about them being capable of more, but this is still good at least.

R6Rider
August 7th 2009


4680 Comments


that's the problem with a lot of bands now

it's not that hard to make a good sounding album if you have decent musicians

Digging: Diocletian - Gesundrian

AtavanHalen
August 9th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man, this is actually really good. Wasn't expecting to like this at all.

Motiv3
August 12th 2009


8938 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

for the first 4-5 songs its great but then it just sounds all the same and gets ridiculously boring, its not bad by any means though.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

so yeah just listened to this and I must say, that it is pretty boring. Album does have its moments, but overall this is boring and, like mentioned in the great review, repetitive. Also Tim Yeung's drumming is mad boring, he has good skills, but his patterns on this album are just plain annoying.

Also, how the hell is this better than the new Arkaea??? Arkaea had much more to offer than this when giving it repeated listens and it also had darn great drumming.

combustion07
August 16th 2009


5376 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I think both this and the new Arkaea are pretty average.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 16th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I liked Arkaea although I do agree that it wasn't anything all that special. The good tracks on that were better than on here and the filler on there was also better.

LisbonGirls
August 17th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lies

AtavanHalen
August 17th 2009


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, I'm definitely enjoying this a lot more than I probably should.

Willie
Moderator
August 17th 2009


16049 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow, I'm definitely enjoying this a lot more than I probably should.
It's not a bad album. I love this CD when I'm at the gym or on a long drive (basically when I'm not paying 100% attention to it). Who's in that picture?

Also, how the hell is this better than the new Arkaea??? Arkaea had much more to offer than this when giving it repeated listens and it also had darn great drumming.
How so? Their music might have been slightly more varied, but it was also weaker. Also, the vocals on this are much better than the Linkin Park choruses of Arkaea.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy