Divine Heresy Bringer of Plagues
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
R6Rider
July 29th 2009


4681 Comments


what I meant by that comment Trey is that I pretty much knew what the rating was going to be before I even clicked on the review

Digging: Diocletian - Gesundrian

Willie
Moderator
July 29th 2009


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh, I'm predictable ;) I guess I've written enough reviews that my tastes/opinions should be fairly predictable by now.

poopty
July 29th 2009


319 Comments


wat

R6Rider
July 29th 2009


4681 Comments


haha no I didnt mean it like that

Just saying that the band itself is fairly predictable thus making for an obvious rating

LisbonGirls
July 29th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm starting to see the light concerning Spineshank, but I'm sorry this my good sir is metalcore with a hint of death metal. :D

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Spineshank has nu metal ELEMENTS, but isn't really nu metal. It is really hard to classify them anyway, industrialised metal/aggro metal would be about correct.

Willie
Moderator
July 29th 2009


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I listened to the Subscribe band (and added them to Sputnik), and after a few listens I didn't really like it. It had some cool parts but they were ruined by bad nu-metal and aimless Mr. Bungle attempts (IMO).

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

dunno i liked it and check your last.fm. Also you listed them as nu metal which imo is a bit wrong. They do have some nu influences (the occasional rapping foremost) but the guitarlines and song structures are far from nu metal.

LisbonGirls
July 29th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm lost haha.....

Willie
Moderator
July 29th 2009


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not deleting it just yet. I'm going to give it a few more shots still. It's not just the rapping that gives it a nu-metal feel, it's also a lot of the riffs themselves. You can tell that Incubus' S.C.I.E.N.C.E. album was a big influence.

Edit: we're talking about a band called Subscribe now (which is probably not what we're supposed to be doing). Anyway, what makes this album metalcore but old Fear Factory not metalcore?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

never heard that Incubus album so no comment on that, but the riffs? seriously? I thought the riffs were very different from nu metal, none of that low drop-D easy power chords (although there were some power chords). The bass was nicely heard and was very funky and the riffs were more sof prog.metal like, ala a softer version of Sikth.

Willie
Moderator
July 29th 2009


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Check out that Incubus album for a good reference. Another reference would be the self-titled album by FAT. Also, the riffs and structures have a little in common with Mudvayne's first album.

Edit: Nu-metal doesn't have to be the simple Limp Bizit/Korn style crap. Some of it is actually really good and well-played. Look to 40 Below Summer or Flaw for really good nu-metal.

LisbonGirls
July 29th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The only reason those two bands are any good is because of their singers. The rest of the members are fairly average.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

True about Mudvayne, can't argue there, but I'm still stating that their sound is not nu metal, more of prog rock/alt metal. Like I said, they are mostly like a softer version of Sikth (have you heard Sikth?)

I like 40BS (never looked into Flaw) but their riffs are still much simpler and more standard than on SUbscribe's album imo

Willie
Moderator
July 29th 2009


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree that the singers make those two bands. I mention them to show that I'm not using the term "nu metal" as an insult. Their music is better than average though.

I haven't heard that band, but will look into them. I also agree that Subscribe's riffs are more complicated - you need to listen to Incubus' SCIENCE album for that comparison.

Wizard
July 29th 2009


19523 Comments


Bleed the Fifth was so painful that I don't think I can give them another chance. Excellent review, I just despise this band so much.

Digging: Godflesh - A World Lit Only By Fire

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yaah it not that I personally have got anything against nu metal, I am not turned off by that tag at all, it is just that a lot of people who might look at Subscribe and see the label nu metal may get turned off quite easily while Åšubscribe's music is actually prettty darn far from the so called "pure nu metal".

well ok, I'll get on that Incubus album then. Also, I have a first impression about Cyanotic, Shall I post it right here or will i post it on last fm?

Willie
Moderator
July 29th 2009


16051 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Post it on the last.fm comments. We probably went enough off topic here already.

@Wizard: if you really hated that album you probably would just strongly dislike this one.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
July 29th 2009


8371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

alright, I posted it there

LisbonGirls
July 30th 2009


832 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't stop listening to this, why? Why does this album sound so good to my ears?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy