Arkaea Years in the Darkness
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
CerberusLives
August 20th 2009


52 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

That's true Willie, I;d forgotten that fact, just goes to show that Burton is integral to the FF sound, which we might never see again since he and Dino have split into a different camp to Raymond and Christian.

Willie
Moderator
August 20th 2009


16016 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I don't know if Burton is integral to the FF sound or not, but they definitely would need a stronger vocalist than they ended up using. As for the members splitting - the group with Dino, Burton, Byron Stroud, and Gene Hoglan definitely has more potential than the Archetype/Transgression line-up.

Digging: Skrew - Universal Immolation

CerberusLives
August 20th 2009


52 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Agreed, I'm very keen to see what they come up with. I'm also slightly wishing that the 'new' FF go back to the whole man-versus-machine thing, but perhaps that time is over :P

Willie
Moderator
August 20th 2009


16016 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well, supposedly they're supposed to go back to the style found on Soul of a New Machine and Demanufacture, and supposedly they're also working with Rhys Fulber again... but I don't know if that means they'll return to the same lyrical style again too.

MisterBeefy
August 20th 2009


244 Comments


Pfft...band would be a thousand times better if Tim Burton were a member :D

CerberusLives
August 27th 2009


52 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nah, he'd insist on putting a skeleton on lead vocals.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2009


8366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

band is already good, album is good and they just need to fully live up to their talent that's all. Maybe just replace the vocalist, although he is pretty good on quite many songs

linchpin313
August 28th 2009


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just got this album few days ago, (finally) and its everything i wanted to hear from christian and raymond, my sole wish was that if burton sang on this people would feel different about it, i wont be bias and say the singing is great when its cleary not but the music is next to perfect... i wonder how they will come across live...

linchpin313
August 28th 2009


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@metalstyles15: big nu-metal here too! lol on the subject of divine heresy, the debut is far superior then the new one... even though the old singer was a dick, he was impressive for a hardcore singer.

Willie
Moderator
August 28th 2009


16016 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

just got this album few days ago, (finally) and its everything i wanted to hear from christian and raymond, my sole wish was that if burton sang on this people would feel different about it, i wont be bias and say the singing is great when its cleary not but the music is next to perfect...
I agree that the album would be better if Burton (or any competent vocalist) sang on it, but no matter what I don't think the music is near-perfect. It's a rehash of things that were better when they originally wrote them for previous albums.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2009


8366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the music is far from perfect, but the riffs are pretty decent tbh and drumming is really great (as expected). The singer's screams suck, but his clean vocals (if one can overlook the Chester comparisons) are decent imo.

linchpin313 - yeah I'm not THAT much into nu metal anymore, but it's a great listen every once in a while and there are a lot of bands I still hold dear in that genre.

linchpin313
August 28th 2009


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the only reason why i used the word "perfect" in the music bit is because i really love that stop-start mechanical thing that Fear factory had it going, or any other who sounds just like them and i knew that Arkaea would achieve it, lets face it, this band was never gonna set the world ablaze, they were never hyped and in case you didnt know the album sold just over 900 copies in the first week... thats not good by any standard lol oh and Dino is still the better guitar player than Christian.

Great review btw.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2009


8366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with you, I like the stomping stop-start guitar this has. And yeah it's good to see that at least somebody besides me finds this album good.

linchpin313
August 28th 2009


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hopefully they will take their time and think of new ideas for the next one... but this is badass for a debut.

Willie
Moderator
August 28th 2009


16016 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The problem is that it's hard to think of this as a debut when it's common knowledge that most of the songs on this album were originally written for the next Fear Factory album.

KILL
August 28th 2009


71839 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

glad dino got his fat ass back in FF

linchpin313
August 28th 2009


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

True. but i think they made changes to the songs when they found out that they were writing for Arkaea and therefore do things that they wouldnt do with FF... but point taken. so what you're saying is that the next Arkaea is the true debut for you?

Willie
Moderator
August 28th 2009


16016 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yes, because they won't be tied to a formula or pre-concieved ideas of what they have to sound like.

linchpin313
August 28th 2009


813 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

now that you put it that way, im forced to agree.

bloc
August 28th 2009


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh shit, dino is back in ff?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy